We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oakleaf Seniors Golf Tour”
Review of The Castle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Castle Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Darlington, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Oakleaf Seniors Golf Tour”
Reviewed May 9, 2013

12 of us stayed here on our Berwick Golf Tour, for 3 days, we found this hotel Excellent, the rooms were spotless, and the breakfast was more than filling, the staff were extremely courteous and helpful, would recommend this hotel to any visiting party, G.Robson , Captain, Oakleaf Golf Club.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank gkrobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    37
    21
    10
    8
See reviews for
33
47
25
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed April 22, 2013

I only stayed for one night at the castle as I had some business to attend the following day in Berwick Upon Tweed. I found the hotel to be clean and tidy, there was a great choice for breakfast from cereal to a full English aswell as unlimited tea/coffe or fruit juice. The staff were very professional aswell as friendly and helpful, if I travel to Berwick Upon Tweed again I woud without question book in to this hotel!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gillian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire
1 review
Reviewed April 13, 2013

we needed a few days away to relax so we were invited by family to stay with them in scotland decided to stop in berwick for some refreshment and loved the town so decided to stay the night and having looked for somewhere to stay picked the castle helpful and friendly staff bedroom very clean and comfy food excellent would highly recommend we will be going again soon

Room Tip: our room was lovely and i would imagine all the rooms are the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joan s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 12, 2013

I was on my way back from Edinburgh after a week working away and I broke down on the a1 the rac man couldn't fix my car so I was towed to the kwik fit garage in Berwick and they recommended I stayed at the castle whilst they waited for the parts to fix my car the next day. The staff were very helpful in every way the room was clean and nice and I had a great meal and a few drinks in the bar and then a good nights sleep. I would recommend the castle anyday. Thanks

Room Tip: Room 10 was nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 499GaryW499
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed April 11, 2013

i was workin in the area. and stayed in this hotel. staff were very friendly and welcoming. meals and food service was great. nice open fires in the bar. the room i stayed in was very clean and well decorated. i would defiently recommend and i will be back myself next time im working in berwick. thanks to the staff and manager for a lovely stay.

Room Tip: my room was room B and that room was very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 726Phillipl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Had a lovely stay at the castle hotel with my husband. Berwick-Upon-Tweed is a beautiful, historical town with several sightseeing opportunities. The hotel is conveniently situated right next to the train station and within minutes of the town centre. The staff at the hotel were extremely friendly and helpful and our room was very clean and comfortable.
Thank you for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 799JulieW799
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Stayed here with my Husband and son over the Easter holidays as we wanted a week away, the staff were very friendly and helpful. The room we stayed in was spotless and very nice, the food was excellent and freshly cooked. we will definitely be staying here again. the staff were fantastic with my 10 year old son. And the train station and shops are virtually on the doorstep. Thanks to all at the Castle Hotel we will see you again soon.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 937jessicam937
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berwick upon Tweed hotels
0.5 mi away
Travelodge Berwick upon Tweed
Travelodge Berwick upon Tweed
#3 of 3 in Berwick upon Tweed
294 reviews
0.5 mi away
Queens Head Hotel
Queens Head Hotel
#1 of 3 in Berwick upon Tweed
409 reviews
2.2 mi away
Marshall Meadows Country House Hotel
Marshall Meadows Country House H...
#2 of 3 in Berwick upon Tweed
462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Kings Arms Hotel
Kings Arms Hotel
#24 of 46 in Berwick upon Tweed
247 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Rob Roy Restaurant
The Rob Roy Restaurant
#10 of 46 in Berwick upon Tweed
93 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Walls Bed and Breakfast
The Walls Bed and Breakfast
#2 of 46 in Berwick upon Tweed
567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Castle Hotel

Property: The Castle Hotel
Address: 103 Castlegate, Berwick upon Tweed TD15 1LF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Berwick upon Tweed
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in Berwick upon Tweed
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendly, independent hotel/inn with reputation for spotless, comfortable accommodation with quality food and drink offering at reasonable prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing