We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A friendly welcome”
Review of Cara House

Cara House
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cara House
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A friendly welcome”
Reviewed November 17, 2013

Stayed at the Cara House for one night on a girls night away. Was welcomed by Pam the owner who was lovely and friendly and very informative of the best places to go. Nothing was too much trouble. The rooms are lovely and spacious, the beds are more than comfortable, yes it's not the ritz but it has a lovely homey feeling with all you need. The location is perfect with everything at your doorstep. We all agreed that would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ahrensmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    11
    7
    1
    2
See reviews for
4
16
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
co durham
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013

This is a great place to spend a holiday, there was lots of space and very comfy beds and is in a
great, central location and good parking areas. The owners were friendly and gave us great tips for places to visit and eat. A good selection was offered for breakfast; from cereal to a full English/ vegetarian breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Papaya L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 1 night on a cycling trip. We had a twin room that was adequately sized, clean and comfortable. We were given good advice on restaurants and where to find them. After a good night's sleep the breakfast was excellent. Bikes were locked away overnight. This is a really good place to stay if you're doing the "coast & castles" cycle ride. I'd stay here again and recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bettendorf, Iowa
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Adequate room and a good location in Berwick-upon-Tweed. Pam is friendly and cooks a wonderful Scottish breakfast. The room was ensuite (Taviot) but the decor and appointments (including bath towels) were well used and could stand updating. WiFi struggled and only worked marginally if we kept our room door open.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NancyP56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enniskillen, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013

I think our opinion of this B&B suffers from comparison with the three we stayed at immediately before. The decor seemed a bit tired and things like a loose shower head in the room needed attending to. Not everyone wants a fry for breakfast, excellent though it was, and it would have been nice to have been asked first.
On the plus side it was cheaper than the previous B&B's, it was convenient for the town and the owners were very friendly and welcoming which is worth a lot.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Stayed just one brief night here as at a wedding nearby. Owners extremely friendly and helpful, with Dave even running me to the wedding venue instead of having to take a taxi! Room clean and bed very comfortable. Priced very well for the area - recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank littleflyingduck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2013

My wife and I really like Berwick and the surrounding area and we enjoyed two nights in this delightful B & B, which is only a couple of minutes walk away from the town centre. The owners, Pam and Dave, were so welcoming, we were sad to say goodbye. Oh that other owners could learn from this and be as accommodating.

The room was lovely and light and well appointed and there was a large bathroom with a bath and a separate shower. The breakfast was excellently cooked and we were made to feel at home.

The acid test question is: "Would you stay here again? and the resounding answer is: "YES!"

If you are going to Berwick and want a super place to stay, then Cara House is a must.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank topfellman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berwick upon Tweed hotels
0.4 mi away
Queens Head Hotel
Queens Head Hotel
#1 of 3 in Berwick upon Tweed
409 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Rob Roy Restaurant
The Rob Roy Restaurant
#10 of 46 in Berwick upon Tweed
93 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kings Arms Hotel
Kings Arms Hotel
#24 of 46 in Berwick upon Tweed
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Parade School Guest House
Parade School Guest House
#7 of 46 in Berwick upon Tweed
143 reviews
1.2 mi away
Caroline House
Caroline House
#2 of 4 in Spittal
68 reviews
0.0 mi away
Whyteside House
Whyteside House
#36 of 46 in Berwick upon Tweed
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cara House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cara House

Property: Cara House
Address: Cara House 44 Castlegate, Berwick upon Tweed TD15 1JT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Berwick upon Tweed
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in Berwick upon Tweed
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cara House 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms and Priceline so you can book your Cara House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing