We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wee gem”
Review of Cara House

Cara House
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cara House
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A wee gem”
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Margaret and I were introduced to this wee gem by a lady we'd met earlier this year whilst on a cruise in the Mediterranean Sea.
She said if we were ever in the Berwick area and needed a comfortable base then Pamela and David's " Cara House " couldn't be bettered. How accurate this lady proved to be.
We took her at her word and duly arrived there on Friday 5 October.
The rooms are all named after Border rivers, we were shown to the "Till" suite which consists of a very comfortable double bed, en-suite bathroom with bath and shower, tea and coffee making facilities, t.v. and radio. Immaculately clean.

Pam and David are very friendly and the "full English" breakfasts cooked by Pam are superb, enough to keep the hunger pangs away until well into the afternoon.

I've just read a previous review which makes mention of a shower tray needing regrouting, get a life!!

This is an ideal place to stop over when travelling about.
Take my advice and give it a go, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank william g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    11
    7
    1
    2
See reviews for
4
16
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cornwall, England
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 28, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights, accomodation adequate but some work needed on fabric of building. Pamela & David really friendly and helpful (couldn't be nicer) but minor amendments to accomodation would assist - e.g. there was no shelf or towel rail in ensuite, grouting around shower tray needs renewal, shower head & bottom of shower doors could be cleaner, one door doesn't run properly. Sash window didn't open properly (apparently being replaced soon), carpet in entrance hall & stairs seem dated and although clean there's smell (cooking?) in the stairs - which gives poor 1st impression which the place doesn't really deserve. Difficult to find electric socket in room not hidden by furniture - strange colour towels (colour run in wash?) - teatowel on hospitality tray was a different touch. These minor details didn't detract from our stay, but a little attention to these details would enhance overall expeience.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Anglia
Level Contributor
95 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2012

I had a large bedroom, dead quiet, comfortable bed and slept like a log! Breakfast kept me going all day. My room wasn't ensuite but the bathroom was next door and I never had to wait to use it. the shower cubicle is positively space-age and a pleasure to use once I'd mastered the controls.
Thank you Pam and David!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeterC48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2012

We stayed overnight at Cara house while visiting Berwick-upon-Tweed, the room [5] was good sized with a ensuite bathroom, tea/coffee making, free wifi, large tv, Breakfast was lovely, served in the dining room, Pam and David were very friendly with lots of information about the area. We would stay again if visiting the area.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kittykat123_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2011

Pam & David are very welcoming, and breakfast is lovely. Room was small but cosy, and the bathroom was clean with a good shower. Free wifi works well, and was very helpful for work stuff. Very close to town centre and station. Highly recommended,

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank squinthorizon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berwick upon Tweed hotels
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Berwick upon Tweed
Travelodge Berwick upon Tweed
#3 of 3 in Berwick upon Tweed
290 reviews
0.1 mi away
No 11B Boutique
No 11B Boutique
#5 of 45 in Berwick upon Tweed
197 reviews
0.3 mi away
No photo provided
Kings Head Inn
#41 of 45 in Berwick upon Tweed
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Rob Roy Restaurant
The Rob Roy Restaurant
#9 of 45 in Berwick upon Tweed
91 reviews
0.2 mi away
Parade School Guest House
Parade School Guest House
#8 of 45 in Berwick upon Tweed
138 reviews
0.1 mi away
Castle Vale House
Castle Vale House
#13 of 45 in Berwick upon Tweed
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cara House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cara House

Property: Cara House
Address: Cara House 44 Castlegate, Berwick upon Tweed TD15 1JT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Berwick upon Tweed
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Berwick upon Tweed
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cara House 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Cara House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing