We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Central, quiet, very clean and comfy”
other travelers have booked this property
oil mill lane living room
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
oil mill lane living room
kitchen main bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
33 reviews
oil mill lane living room
kitchen
main bedroom
bathroom
Oil Mill lane self catering apart
Berwick upon tweed
sun deck end of may
An Indian style BBQ
Berwick Pier
Berwick's Old Bridge built 1634
The Avenue originally built for Army Officers 1720.
View of Berwick's pan tiled roofs from Fishers Fort
View fro Berwick's pier to Spittal Beach
View from Coxons Tower to Saluting Battery
View from Coxons Tower to Fishers Fort
The Russian Gun at Fishers Fort
View from Brass Bastion to Windmill Bastion
Berwick's High Street, Marygate and The Guild Hall
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Berwick upon Tweed, Northumberland, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 33 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Tilman201...
Hesse, Germany
1 review
“Central, quiet, very clean and comfy”
Reviewed April 18, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Highly recommended!
Great location. Quiet Place. Very friendly owner! City center within a few minutes walking distance. Many attractions in and around Berwick.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Traveling group: Family with Teenagers
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 19, 2016
Many thanks for you lovely review. You were excellent guests
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
claireG36...
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely peaceful apartment in centre of town”
Reviewed March 31, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Fantastic apartment, very clean and well equipped, very central but also very quiet. John the owner could not have been more obliging. He left a welcome pack of milk fruit and cake which we appreciated.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 17, 2016
Dear Claire,
many thanks for your kind review you are such a nice couple and in your short stay managed to visit quite a number of the local attractions using local transport. I would be very happy for you to visit again, Kind regards,
John.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarryRobe...
Leatherhead, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Excellent apartment in a historic town”
Reviewed August 25, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We stayed here from 16th-23rd August 2014. Its a two bedroom apartment with a double bed in the main bedroom and a bunk bed (with the lower bunk almost a double size) in the second bedroom. So it can sleep 5.
The lounge is a very good size and equipped with a large screen modern TV, blue-ray DVD player, etc. Kitchen and bathroom both a good size and very clean - as was the whole apartment.
We found it very comfortable and extremely well supplied with all the accessories one might require.
Parking is via a resident's parking permit supplied by the owner (John)- and is outside the property. John also very kindly supplied us with a Northumberland County Council Parking Disk which saved us a lot of money during the week as we didn't have to pay in any NCC car parks.
John was very welcoming and offered helpful advice about local sights to visit and the apartment contains a wealth of brochures, tide times, bus and train timetables etc - just about everything a tourist might need if using Berwick as a centre for exploring Northumberland and the Borders area.
There is an attractive garden with seats, BBQ, and a clothes drying facility (whirly gig).

John was an excellent host and we have no reservations about recommending others to stay at his Berwick apartment.

Berwick itself has the city walls and castle which are well worth a hike around. There is much evidence of the contested nature of the town - for history buffs, There is a pier - which merits exploration. Plus a Lowry Trail - the artist used to holiday here regularly - check out the Lowry Gallery. Within driving range are trips to the Farne Islands (grey seals...and puffins if you go along at the right time of year) from Seahouses; Bamburgh Castle; Alnwick Castle and gardens (used in some of the Harry Potter films); Barter Books in the old railway station at Alnwick (one of the biggest second hand bkshops in Britain); Craster (old smoke houses and a kipper shop); Dunstanburgh Castle. We also took a train ride into Edinburgh and went along to a couple of shows at the Fringe - a brilliant day out. St Abbs Head - just over the border - is worth exploring and is a short drive from Berwick.
So...don't be put off by the name (Oil Lane Apartments !) - its a great apartment and a smashing base for exploring Northumberland and the Borders. Many thanks to John for helping make our holiday so enjoyable.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Kitchen facilities
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 25, 2014
Hi Mike and Zita, many thanks for a splendid review. I didn't see much of you both as you really packed a lot of traveling into your holiday,
Best wishes John
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perpetual...
Canada
Level 6 Contributor
295 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
“The Best Equipped Self-Catering Cottage I have encountered. Perfect!”
Reviewed July 30, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
2
people found this review helpful

I have been using self-catering accommodation for my holidays in England for the past 25 years, and I can say without a work of exaggeration that this is the best equipped cottage I have come across. The owner John has given great thought to what is needed to make for a thoroughly comfortable and relaxing weekend, without making the place feel at all cluttered. But beyond that attention to detail, it is John himself who makes the place just that bit more special. He is always there when you need him, but in a manner that is not at all intrusive. He goes above and beyond: he picked us up from the train station Saturday evening and even offered to drive us there on our return...despite the train leaving at 6:30 a.m.! He gave us a lift to go shopping for groceries, and then gave us an impromptu tour of the town on the way back. It is the small things that can often make a place memorable...from the wine, fresh roses and chocolate sponge cake awaiting our arrival to the offer to use his clothes dryer when the one in our cottage was not working (and which John promptly had fixed). If there is anyone who should be running this kind of business it is John. He keeps the apartment spotlessly clean and everything in good order. The apartment is conveniently located near the ramparts and to some very lovely restaurants, and a parking pass is provided with the apartment rental. We had a truly lovely time and highly recommend this lovely, perfectly appointed cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The many little extras provided in the apartment by John.
Liked least: Having to leave.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 25, 2014
Many thanks for your great review, I really enjoyed your company and its great to hear the apartment had everything you needed, kind regards, John
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margaret...
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Superb accommodation, very well-equiped, comfortable and relaxing.”
Reviewed June 19, 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Glad we found this one! An excellent apartment, extremely well equiped, spotlessly clean and very comfortable. A warm friendly welcome from John who met us at the station. The flowers, fruit, coffee and cake were nice added touches on our arrival. It was just like being at home with books, magazines, games and DVDs, and the kitchen had everything you could need. We enjoyed breakfast each day in the lovely peaceful sun-trap garden, full of flowers and birds it's an ideal spot for relaxing at any time of day. The apartment is in a quiet road near to the walls, not far from the beach, yet just a few minutes from the town centre. It all made for a brilliant holiday, great for both relaxing and sight-seeing. Planning our return!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: comfort and cleanliness
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 26, 2014
Dear Margaret and Les,
it was a pleasure to have you both stay at the apartment for your holiday, the pumpkins have both started to fruit, toms are growing taller and cucumber has several fruits the largest almost ready to pick, hanging baskets and pots ready to burst with flowers, as soon as they do I will send photo's, best wishes and thanks you,
John
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacquelyn...
Beverley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Brilliant a home from home that was very welcoming and warm.”
Reviewed May 25, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

When we arrived we were met by John the owner who took us around the apartment and made us feel very welcome.The small thoughtful touches of fresh fruit and flowers were really nice. The apartment was spotlessly clean and equipped with everything you could possibly need including a picnic basket and a rug.The private garden is colourful and very peaceful to sit in or have a meal.We would highly recommend this apartment to our friends and family.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 7, 2014
Dear Ray and Jackie, many thanks for your lovely review, its really nice to know that you have enjoyed your stay at the apartment and I would love to see you both again, you are a lovely couple. Thank you for leaving the apartment so clean and tidy too. The garden's doing great with the recent rain we have had, hanging baskets are bursting with blooms, tomatoes, cucumber, courgettes, pumpkins are all doing well and the bamboo has shot up to make the Sun deck that little bit more private, very best wishes, John.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosa H
Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Luxurious and at the same time cosy!”
Reviewed August 13, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

We stayed in Oil Mill Lane with our family (from the Netherlands) during the summer. My parents have always been a fan of England, the nature and the culture. We enjoyed the walks and pubs in Berwick, but also the sight seeings in the era such as holy island. Our stay in Oil Mill Lane was luxurious, because of for example the complete kitchen ware and DVD collection. Also the garden was very nice to have a seat and dine in. At the same time the apartment felt as 'home' because of the cosy interior. Our host/ the owner was very kind and willing to show us around whenever necessary. For example, he lend us bikes and gave us an ride to the station. I would recommend this apartment to any family or couple!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the facilities, garden and the area
Liked least: the payment went a little difficult
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 7, 2014
Thank you for your super review, you were my first family from Holland and were just what I had expected, polite,
clean, tidy and adventurous. The bicycle's have been sitting in the garage for years it was so good to see you put them to a good use and enjoyed listening to your off road adventure's,
Best wishes, John
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing