We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“great location and very comfortable accommodation”
other travelers have booked this property
oil mill lane living room
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
oil mill lane living room
kitchen main bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
30 reviews
oil mill lane living room
kitchen
main bedroom
bathroom
Oil Mill lane self catering apart
Berwick upon tweed
sun deck end of may
An Indian style BBQ
Berwick Pier
Berwick's Old Bridge built 1634
The Avenue originally built for Army Officers 1720.
View of Berwick's pan tiled roofs from Fishers Fort
View fro Berwick's pier to Spittal Beach
View from Coxons Tower to Saluting Battery
View from Coxons Tower to Fishers Fort
The Russian Gun at Fishers Fort
View from Brass Bastion to Windmill Bastion
Berwick's High Street, Marygate and The Guild Hall
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Berwick upon Tweed, Northumberland, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 30 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
margaret...
York, United Kingdom
1 review
“great location and very comfortable accommodation”
Reviewed May 24, 2013 for a stay in May 2013

We wanted a self catering apartment, close to the town and it's facilites, without having to use the car all the time. Oil mill apartment was ideal. The walks on the wall and by the river, were very close. The sandy beach was about 10 minutes walk away. The town centre was just around the corner.
I had read the reviews and I was expecting a comfortable, well equipped apartment. I was pleased to find that it was as good as the description.
The owner, John Haswell, is a very pleasant man, very helpful and full of local knowledge and advice, but not "pushy". He lives in the flat above,
I think the apartment is more suited for adults. If I return to the area again, I would definately stay here.
Another bonus was the internet access included in the rental

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the location
Liked least: the steep hill into town
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 13, 2013
Many thanks for your nice review I'm realy pleased you enjoyed your stay,
Kind regards,
John
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
983lindse...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Comfortable and welcoming with a beautiful garden”
Reviewed September 11, 2012 for a stay in August 2012

The apartment was finished to a high standard, clean and comfortable - and central!
The bathroom had both bath and shower (which was excellent) and was nice and roomy.
The 3 piece suite was comfortable with board games provided.
On arrival the owner made us very welcome - and helped with our luggage when we left, conveying it to the Railway Station for us. He was always friendly and helpful.
There was also a lovely gardens - we loved watching the many birds visiting it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Breakfast bar and self-opening bin in kitchen!
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 3, 2013
Many thanks for your lovely review, I would be very happy to meet you again and weather permitting have that BBQ, Kind regards,
John
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rene53
Bern, Switzerland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Ideal base for the north east of England / Berwick”
Reviewed August 12, 2012 for a stay in July 2012

Excellent position within the old Elizabethan town wall ramparts, which are about 2 minutes walk away and lovely to walk around. The town centre is also only a few minutes walk away, which is ideal for shopping before or after trips in the area. Despite being so central the flat is in a very quiet position, the loudest noise being made by the seagulls. I can highly recommend the flat. We are a family of two adults and two teenage children and really enjoyed our trip to Berwick and staying in the Oil Mill Lane apartment. It is very clean, comfortable and fitted out with everything a family needs. The washing machine / tumbler was in frequent use, though the weather wasn't warm enough to use the lovely picnic hamper provided. John Haswell is very helpful (even provided us with riding helmets) and the wecoming flowers and fruit were really appreciated. The kids enjoyed watching DVDs in the evening. Unfortunately, the weather was too cool to sit in the pretty garden.
A word of warning : John will give you a parking permit if you are travelling to Berwick by car. Don't forget to place it on your car's dashboard whenever you park outside the apartment. Otherwise, you will get a £70 fine. We forgot once and promptly got a fine. However, after a trip to the local council (near the Baracks), filling in a form and John and I writing some emails to Morpeth, we didn't have to pay the fine. Parking fines in Berwick are a good source of income for Morpeth, so make sure you diligently remember to use the parking permit and avoid all the hassle involved after getting a parking fine.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Very clean and comfortable
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 11, 2012
Dear Rene', Barbara, Charles and Lena, many thanks for your lovely review. It was so nice to meet you all and know that you enjoyed your holiday,

Kind regards, John.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mick A
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Fantastic apartment and location”
Reviewed August 11, 2012 for a stay in August 2012

Our stay at the Oil Mill Lane Apartements was fantastic. John, the owner, made us feel very welcome and cooked us an amazing BBQ (in his amazing garden). John gave us great advice on which places to visit when we arrived in Berwick, such as Alnwick, Banburgh and Seahouses. Berwick itself is such a beautiful place. Berwick offers great amneties and local high street shops (great for teenagers, such as mine!) Berwick walls are also a must see. Walking around the walls offers great views of the river, railway and the scenic rural views which surrounds Berwick. The apartment we stayed in was spotless, we could not fault it one bit! Even the kitchen contained every single untensil you could think of!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 10, 2012
Hellloooo Mick, Wendy and Amy,
thank you very much, thats a great review and I must say you were really good company too.
Mick I have also bought 4 stainless steel lanterns which are waiting for the sparky to install in the garden so no more waving of arms to keep the lights from going off.
Cheers and thank you, will keep in touch, John.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cattle268
Swanage, United Kingdom
1 review
“Home from home”
Reviewed January 11, 2012 for a stay in December 2011

I stayed in oil mill lane for 5 nights over the Xmas period, with my husband and two teenage girls. My sister lives in Berwick with her family and that was the reason for the visit. John (the owner) communicated with us during our train journey to make sure that he was there on arrival. The apartment was like home from home and decorated for Xmas. John had made sure that everyday groceries were there on arrival, I particularly like the fresh cream cake he had left in the fridge. A few days into our stay there was a knock on the door and John presented us with some more DVD's as he was concerned that our teenage daughter might get bored.

The apartment had everything that we needed for a comfortable and friendly stay. We have already discussed going back very soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Friendliness of the owner and the condition and standard of the property
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Family with Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 10, 2012
Hi Jacquie,
many thanks for your lovely review and for leaving the apartment so clean and tidy, I would be very happy to meet you all again, in warmer weather perhaps when we can get the BBQ going we be great,

Kind regards,

John
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 28, 2011 for a stay in July 2011

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: comfortable,relaxing interior,and the outdoor closed patio
Liked least: Not applicable
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Nov 3, 2011
Many thanks for you lovely review, its really nice to know you have enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you again,
Kind regards,
John.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Elaine N
Cheshire
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Absolute perfection”
Reviewed October 7, 2010 for a stay in June 2010

We have stayed at this apartment several times. John is a perfect host and his attention to detail is second to none. Of all the apartments we have had we rate this the best. There is the comfort of home. It is warm in the colder weather and there is a delightful patio for the warmer days. An added bonus is parking, particularly good as the property is so close to the town centre and harbour. It is exceptionally well equipped and would satisfy the needs of any visitor. We will certainly be returning regularly in future years.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Tourists Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 7, 2010
Hi Elaine and Philip,
many thanks for your great comments, the BBQ on your next visit will be a spicy Moroccan chicken dish and weather permitting will be up on the sundeck.
Kind regards,
John
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing