We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely b&b with attention to detail”
Review of Redrig Cottage

Redrig Cottage
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Redrig Cottage
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely b&b with attention to detail”
Reviewed August 28, 2012

A lovely b&b in the middle of beautiful countryside. A car is necessary for getting in and out of Berwick and for restaurants and pubs, but there are walks within a few metres of the property. The rooms were clean, airy and individually decorated. Homemade cake and great breakfasts in a relaxed atmosphere. We were visiting for a family party and this was a very lucky find.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
10
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gillingham Kent UK
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Firstly, you need a car!!! Having said that, we could not fault this wonderful B&B. The welcome was good, the rooms were lovely,lovely linen and towels, and a very comfortable bed, and the breakfasts-well!! The smoked salmon and scrambled eggs( from the next door farm) were delicious. Home made jams and marmalades of all different flavours, all the extra touches that make a visit that bit special. John also makes beautiful cakes- which add to the welcome.
The cottage is surrounded by fields, but with a car is an ideal place to stay to visit the surrounding area.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleckheaton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Spent two nights at Redrig Cottage with my wife. Room was excellent and equipped with everything you need. It was clean and comfortable. John the host was brilliant. He met us on arrival and gave us the choice of two rooms. He explained the breakfast ordering process. We enjoyed an extensive breakfast on both days. We used the B and B as a base to explore the area visiting Holy Island and Berwick on Tweed itself. Both very historic places. We then moved on to Scotland having found the place to be an ideal half way stop. Must just mention the cakes we had Lemon Drizzle and Jaffa Orange Sponge both delicious. Would definitely go again

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 18, 2012

John the owner gave us a very warm welcome and for them to have such short notice of our booking, there were no faults whatsoever. They also baked us a lemon drizzle cake and biscuits, delicious! Has the feel of coming home. We are just about to leave the cottage now, i couldn't say anything bad about this beautiful place, so comfortable here, honestly don't want to go yet, enjoy!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erinjoan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleethorpes, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2012

When we arrived the owner, John, didn't hesitate to come and meet us. He took our heavy case and helped us settle in nicely. He had made a Jaffa orange sponge cake which we could help ourselves to and was delicious. The cottage was well out of the way of noisy traffic and rowdy drunks so getting to sleep was no problem. As horse lovers we were pleased to see a horse and its foal roaming the paddock outside. We will be back!

Room Tip: No need to tip...all rooms are peaceful and en suite, they are all as good as each other!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pr0keys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airdrie, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
265 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2012

sorry for late review,stayed here in december 2011 with my friend from taiwan. lovely room nice shower superb breakfast.would go back with no problem

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank john u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2011

The owner of this two room B & B greeted us at the car on arrival and carried the bag for us. We arrived mid-afternoon and he had laid out two types of homemade cake for us. There was homemade tablet in the room which was spotless and so comfortable - lovely sofa, huge tv, comfy bed and the views were stunning. There were all kinds of teas, coffees, hot chocolate etc provided and they had menus from restaurants in the surrounding area for you to browse. We were sorry we could only stay for on night, it would be a great place to explore the borders from or for hill walkers etc. The cooked breakfast was huge and cooked for you, not left warming. There was also cereal, yoghurt etc and a selection of homemade jams for your toast. All in all a fantastic place, I can't recommend it enough. Fab,

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tyrol_tonia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berwick upon Tweed hotels
5.5 mi away
Caroline House
Caroline House
#2 of 4 in Spittal
68 reviews
3.2 mi away
Marshall Meadows Country House Hotel
Marshall Meadows Country House H...
#2 of 3 in Berwick upon Tweed
462 reviews
4.8 mi away
The Rob Roy Restaurant
The Rob Roy Restaurant
#10 of 46 in Berwick upon Tweed
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Kings Arms Hotel
Kings Arms Hotel
#24 of 46 in Berwick upon Tweed
247 reviews
4.5 mi away
No 11B Boutique
No 11B Boutique
#6 of 46 in Berwick upon Tweed
200 reviews
4.8 mi away
YHA Berwick
YHA Berwick
#3 of 9 in Berwick upon Tweed
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Redrig Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Redrig Cottage

Property: Redrig Cottage
Address: Redrig Cottage Moorpark Foulden Redrig Cottage | Foulden, Berwick upon Tweed TD15 1UH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Berwick upon Tweed
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Berwick upon Tweed
Hotel Class:3 star — Redrig Cottage 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Redrig Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing