We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Fresh Food!”
Review of The Salmon Inn

The Salmon Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $28
Cuisines: British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Welcome to the Salmon Inn, located in Berwick-Upon-Tweed. We are a warm and friendly pub, welcoming to everyone. Refurbished and Re-opened, we serve fantastic fresh food with a focus on fresh fish, a great range of world beers and ales and a wine list. We have a separate children's menu for younger guests, and a beer garden for the whole family to enjoy in summer. We're now taking bookings for garden parties in our marquee - we can cater for buffets, barbeques, cream teas, champagne receptions - let us know what you'd like and we'll take care of the rest for you! Dogs are welcome in the garden and marquee, guide dogs only inside for the comfort of our diners Please come along and say hello, we look forward to seeing you soon!
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We visit The Salmon Inn once a year when visiting friends (last visit 21 09 13). The food is lovely and great value. Staff friendly. Better to book on a Saturday night as busy! I had the fish and chips, thought it was very tasty. The steak pie look fabulous too!! Keep room for desert . . . ;)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheila_Gray, Owner at The Salmon Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2013

Thanks for your review Ann and hope to see you again next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (417)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

326 - 330 of 417 reviews

Reviewed September 17, 2013

We passed this pub many times on journeys in and out of Berwick and took the plunge a couple of weeks ago, now it is a regular whenever in the area. A very comfortable and welcoming pub with good beer and food. It is just a couple of minutes off the main A1 with ample parking. Nothing to fault at all.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Kim516
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheila_Gray, Owner at The Salmon Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2013

Thank you so much for your review and hope you continue to pop in!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

A friend recommended lunching here, but I have lived in the area for over 20 years and never fancied the place.
How glad I am I followed her advice! A real treat. Good food, excellent value, delightfuly helpful staff, and well patronized by discerning diners. A real "find."
I hope to visit again soon. (Loads of parking!) Go when hungry, portions are generous.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Joan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheila_Gray, Owner at The Salmon Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2013

Hello Joan,

Glad your friend persuaded you to give us a try and hope to see you again! Some of our dishes are available as half portions or you can always ask for fewer chips etc. if not quite so hungry.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

We were on a 300 mile trip south and decided to stop for an evening meal, but knew nowhere in the locality. So, we looked up trip advisor on the mobile (as you do!) and found the Salmon Inn. We phoned for a reservation to be told it was compeletly full - curses! As the search for an alternative continued, we had a call back from the restaurant a few minutes later, which showed a deal of intiiative on their part, to say they had found us a table if we were still interested. We were.

The staff were friendly, the food was great, and everyone there seemed to be having a good time, which in itself is a good sign.

I have no hesitation in recommending the Salmon Inn, we ceratinly would never drive past it without sampling their menu, that's for sure!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank mawa24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheila_Gray, Owner at The Salmon Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Glad we were able to help Malcolm. It was my husband who phoned you back - he does show initiative on occasions!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

From the minute we walked in we were greeted and made very welcome, even though there were lots of people already in. Lovely food too and good portions, great value for such good quality food and excellent service.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Bevndazza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheila_Gray, Owner at The Salmon Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Thanks for your review - really glad you enjoyed it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Salmon Inn also viewed

Berwick upon Tweed, Northumberland
Berwick upon Tweed, Northumberland
 
Berwick upon Tweed, Northumberland
Berwick upon Tweed, Northumberland
 

Been to The Salmon Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing