We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Salmon Inn” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Salmon Inn

The Salmon Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $25
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Welcome to the Salmon Inn, located in Berwick-Upon-Tweed. We are a warm and friendly pub, welcoming to everyone. Refurbished and Re-opened, we serve fantastic fresh food with a focus on fresh fish, a great range of world beers and ales and a wine list. We have a separate children's menu for younger guests, and a beer garden for the whole family to enjoy in summer. We're now taking bookings for garden parties in our marquee - we can cater for buffets, barbeques, cream teas, champagne receptions - let us know what you'd like and we'll take care of the rest for you! Dogs are welcome in the garden and marquee, guide dogs only inside for the comfort of our diners Please come along and say hello, we look forward to seeing you soon!
Dammam, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Salmon Inn”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

Having visited this inn many times over the last 20 years and seeing it change hands on numerous occassions I have to say this is the best food I have ever had here. Under new management I was delighted with the service, new menu and all food being home cooked, mouthwatering good too. The staff over the years have always been so friendly and that still stands. Congrats to the new management, keep up the good work and I will be back :)

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CraftyAnimal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheila_Gray, Owner at The Salmon Inn, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Hello,

Thank you so much for your lovely review. It's great to get such positive feedback from someone who has seen the pub change over the years. We can provide support and guidance but ultimately it's the staff that make the business and we think we have a great team so glad you agree!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    224
    104
    22
    18
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
ASHINGTON
Level Contributor
60 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Nice food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

We visited the Salmon yesterday (15th June) having been recommended. Nice pub, pleasant staff, menu choice very limited & dull, special board ok, the food was a little pricey but good quality. Overall nice experience.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ADY25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheila_Gray, Owner at The Salmon Inn, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Hi

Thanks for your view and glad you enjoyed your meal. As you can appreciate we are a very small pub with a small kitchen and all food is cooked from scratch, so we only have a limited menu plus the Specials Board. We therefore have to go with what people ask for on a regular basis .... as the saying goes "you can't please all of the folks all of the time".... but we try :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“More than just pub grub!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

Called in one sunny Sunday afternoon for dinner and it was by far the best pub grub I've tasted! Even managed a dessert which was equally tasty. Excellent value for money, you can taste the quality of the home cooked food and such a lovely atmosphere. Great staff, lovely setting & an all round lovely pub. Will definetly stop by again soon!!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JRwilliamson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheila_Gray, Owner at The Salmon Inn, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Thank you and glad you enjoyed it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alnwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1,549 reviews
900 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 550 helpful votes
“Very helpful staff and good vegetarian food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

We were very impressed with the helpfulness of the staff. We ordered vegetarian lasagne but were immediately told that the chef could prepare other vegetarian dishes if we wanted a wider choice. Hence we had one lasagne and one 'special' rice dish that was delicious.. Both meals were piping hot and very nicely presented. This pub has a very pleasant atmosphere with interesting artwork and fesh flowers on the tables Outside seating is available for warm days. Advice to those going to try this place - if you want something special or that isn't on the menu, just ask and they will do their best.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank profjoypc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheila_Gray, Owner at The Salmon Inn, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Thanks for your review and glad you enjoyed your meals. All our food is prepared on the premises so we can generally accommodate special requests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“only eat here if you're prepared NOT to complain if dissatisfied”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

We visited the Salmon on Sat 25th May, looking forward to it as previous experiences there had resulted in lovely food. However we had the misfortune to be served hard, inedible pork belly that we couldnt cut far less chew.When we complained the waiter reacted badly, obviously could not take criticism, said noone had complained before and implied that it was our problem. He was rude, arrogant and disrespectful. We declined another meal and left after paying for the starter . At no time was an apology offered. I emailed the owners on 29th may, rather than report on a public forum. However despite the owners prompt replies to compliments on trip advisor during this time, one week later I have received no reply. I can only assume that the owners too are unable to deal with complaints.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank audrey50_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheila_Gray, Owner at The Salmon Inn, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Hello Audrey - thank you for attempting to contact us privately before airing your views on Trip Advisor. I have responded to your email privately and explained why I was unable to do so before. We never ignore a criticism as we certainly don't want to lose valued custom.

I'm sorry you didn't enjoy your meal and felt that the staff member dealt with your complaint unprofessionally. We will definitely look ino the matter more fully.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Salmon Inn also viewed

Berwick upon Tweed, Northumberland
Berwick upon Tweed, Northumberland
 
Berwick upon Tweed, Northumberland
Berwick upon Tweed, Northumberland
 

Been to The Salmon Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing