We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FABULOUS”
Review of Castle Vale House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Castle Vale House
Certificate of Excellence
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“FABULOUS”
Reviewed May 21, 2014

Just spent a overnight at this hotel. It is a family run hotel and they are all so welcoming.Margaret greeted us and showed us up to our room. It just kind of hugged you as you went in.The views from the room were just magnificent, must be the best views in Berwick.You would have thought you were out somewhere in the countryside as the birds chirped in the trees. Our bed was so comfy we had a hard struggle to leave it in the morning. We were most surprised as to how quiet the room was as you are right next to the railway line.We never heard a train all night(no kidding).Breakfast in the morning was delicious with local produce and home made bread and preserves.The company of the other guests and Justin(owner) was so good that we sat for well over a hour and a half chatting, nearly missed our train home.We look forward to coming back again in the future and HIGHLY recommend this hotel. Thank you.

Room Tip: Room 1 Superior Room looks over the River Tweed, the Road Bridges and the Railway viaduct, also very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    34
    9
    2
    0
See reviews for
5
112
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
malta
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2014

I came across this marvellous house whilst check for accomodation in Berwick. After seeing pictures, we found that these were really true. Nice big room, cosy bed to beautiful armchairs and also a wonderful view of the river and the three bridges. Also, a wonderful show at night when they light up the train bridge.
One thing we found was that altghough there is free internet, WIFI connection in our room was in existant, though we were offered to use the sitting room. But after a day out, one would prefer to stay relaxed in the room and enjoy the wonderful view.
Breakfast was a great experience as one can sit around with the other guests and one can chat about one's experiences. Also, breakfast itself was really good, served in hot plates and also teapots had covers to keep them warm whilst hearing classical music.
One thing i don't understand, why only two teabags in a big pot (being one who likes strong tea. Not only at this place but everywhere in UK!!)

Lastly i would like to thank Margaret for being a great hostess and also for offering us some of her musical experience at breakfast time.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank daxisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweden
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2014

We got a very warm welcome by the lovely hostess and a had great stay even though it rained all day. Lovely view from our window, looking out on river tweed and the railway bridge that was nicely lit up at night.
Nice breakfast in the morning in the cosy dining room to top it off.

//Oscar

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oscar C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2014 via mobile

One of the best bed & breakfasts we have ever stayed in.
So friendly and the owners would do anything for you.
Breakfast was excellent and home made bread and jams were delicious
If your staying in berwick this is the place to stay and is convenient for the station and the main st

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank biscuitbreath1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2014

We travelled up by train ariving on the Monday 7th April and had booked here for 4 nights on recommendation as it is right next to the station...50 yds. We arrived in the afternoon and were met and shown straight to our room, that was clean and decorative. We had Room 1 that has wonderful views from the 2 windows. One over the river and its bridges the other over the old Victiorian viaduct that provides a light show in the arches at night. The place is Victorian and is decoratred in that style with the walls covered in pictures, lavish colourful heavy curtains and soft bed. Also 2 chairs to admire the view, to browse a book from the book case in the room or sit and have a cuppa with supplied binoculars to view the river/ birdlife or if you were inclined spot the trains!!!. It also had a wonderful shower with optional stool and hair washing pipe or jets and/or full ovrhead shower with plenty of hot water. However it could have done with a heated towel rail or heater as it felt cold first thing in the morning. A jug of milk was readily provided on request for our many cups of tea.
The breakfasts were excellent with home made preserves and yoghurt with every attempt made to meet your individual needs. The staff were attentive but not intrusive but interested to sit and chat too. It was also very handy for us touring loaclly by bus as the bus stop is in the station at the top of the drive and is 5 minutes walk into mtown. Adjacent is a park... being refurbished during our stay that I'm surewill enhance the ambience of theis Guest House. I would heartily recommend it especially to those travelling by train.

Room Tip: see notes on Room 1
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fatbloke60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2014

We knew we were somewhere special when we arrived early aand asked if we could leave our bags, when we were told of course you can, are you staying with us? such welcomes are few and far between these days. Our room overlooked the all three bridges over the Tweed and was very
comfortable and we enjoyed our relaxed breakfast in this wonderful family home.
Margaret the lady who runs the Castle Vale told me that her aim is to create a welcoming happy
atmosphere and we think that she has achieved that.

Room Tip: I recomend the Superior Double room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Madeleine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2014

We enjoyed our stay, Margaret made us very welcome. Very close to the train station so very good for anyone arriving by train or if you want to visit places like Edinburgh without the car.

Breakfasts were great and the room very comfortable with a beautiful view.

The only little niggle I have is that the room was serviced as we were staying 2 nights. Hence bed not made and towels still wet. I found this very unusual especially as in the very helpful notes it did say to make the room available at certain times for the room to be serviced. Not sure if this is usual. Maybe I'm being picky but it didn't happen anywhere else. Would have give full marks otherwise.

Room Tip: Room 2 was very good. Superior room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank beaz11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
berwickbonus, Owner at Castle Vale House, responded to this review, April 13, 2014
Thank you for your kind remarks about your stay here. We look forward to you visiting again. We also welcomed your other comments which lead us to review our staff training.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berwick upon Tweed hotels
2.2 mi away
Marshall Meadows Country House Hotel
Marshall Meadows Country House H...
#2 of 3 in Berwick upon Tweed
461 reviews
0.5 mi away
Queens Head Hotel
Queens Head Hotel
#1 of 3 in Berwick upon Tweed
409 reviews
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Berwick upon Tweed
Travelodge Berwick upon Tweed
#3 of 3 in Berwick upon Tweed
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Walls Bed and Breakfast
The Walls Bed and Breakfast
#2 of 46 in Berwick upon Tweed
565 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Rob Roy Restaurant
The Rob Roy Restaurant
#9 of 46 in Berwick upon Tweed
93 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kings Arms Hotel
Kings Arms Hotel
#24 of 46 in Berwick upon Tweed
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Vale House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Vale House

Property: Castle Vale House
Address: Castle Vale House Railway Street | House is down driveway to left of station entrance., Berwick upon Tweed TD15 1NF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Berwick upon Tweed
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in Berwick upon Tweed
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This delightful and secluded Victorian country house has comfortable and spacious ensuite accommodation and its own beautiful garden with spectacular views of the River Tweed. Only 100 yards from the main line railway station and with ample off-street parking, it is the perfect place to start your holiday and discover the town and surroundings by foot, cycle, car or public transport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your Castle Vale House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing