We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful waterside apartment”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of 6 Pier Maltings

Open-plan living on the second floor
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Open-plan living on the second floor
Master bedroom door and balcony Ground-floor bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
58 reviews
Open-plan living on the second floor
Master bedroom door and balcony
Ground-floor bedroom
Kitchen and dining area
The Pier Maltings river front
Mezzanine
First-floor family bathroom
Master bedroom
Ground-floor bedroom and ensuite
View from the ground-floor bedroom
Living area
Mezzanine window
The arch leading to Pier Maltings
Pier Maltings
View from the second floor
Berwick Pier from Pier Maltings
View down the coast from Pier Maltings
Spittal Point and the view down the coast
Berwick and its old bridge
Berwick's Royal Tweed Bridge
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Townhouse -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Berwick upon Tweed, Northumberland, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 58 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Steve L
Hertfordshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful waterside apartment”
Reviewed March 20, 2018 for a stay in March 2018

The location is perfect, in a quiet part of town but only a few feet from the water's edge when the tide's in and good wildlife spotting when it's out. A short walk from town centre eateries. There are wonderful views from the top floor living room over the estuary and the sea - Holy Island is just visible in the distance.
Apartment facilities are excellent, and we can vouch for the heating having stayed on one of the coldest weekends of the year! When there's horizontal snow outside this apartment is a great place to curl up with a book and keep warm.
Nice walks directly from the apartment - up the river, around the town walls, out to the pier, round to Spittal Beach etc. Seals spotted by the pier!
We will be back when the weather is more likely to be clement!

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 22, 2018
Thanks very much Steve, and very glad you managed to enjoy your stay in spite of the freezing weather! I hope we'll do better next time - and that you'll maybe have a chance to spot the dolphins which join us a bit later in the year.
Katharine
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2018 for a stay in February 2018

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Feb 26, 2018
Thanks very much for your review, David, and glad you enjoyed our lovely corner of Northumberland! there's also some spectacular walking along the coast north of Berwick (St Abbs, Eyemouth etc) We look forward to welcoming you again.
Katharine
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
jandjs7
Ayrshire, Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Perfect in every way!”
Reviewed January 29, 2018 for a stay in January 2018

We had a long weekend at 6 Pier Maltings for our annual trip without the men and couldn't have booked a more perfect place!! It is wonderfully designed and furnished with every home comfort. The living/dining/kitchen open space was so nice to come back to after our walking and driving further afield. All the bedrooms were a good size with ample storage space and comfy beds. The views over the estuary from all the windows were enhanced by being able to sit in the deep window ledges on comfy cushions. Bliss! The kitchen was supplied with everything we needed and we decided to cater for ourselves every night. The area was very quiet and it was only a short walk slightly uphill to Berwick which had some nice shops. We parked just a little way up the road using the permit left for us in the accommodation. You have to book, it's too nice not to.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 30, 2018
Thanks for your lovely comments Janet, and so pleased you enjoyed your stay. Maybe you'll have to let the men have a peek one of these days!!
Hope to see you again,
Katharine
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
_jamboaud...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic house and location”
Reviewed January 4, 2018 for a stay in January 2018

What a fabulous house, everything was excellent, the location was also fantastic, great walks and also 3 min walk into town, really can't recommend this place enough, anyone going here will love it x x

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 6, 2018
Thanks very much Audrey, and delighted it all worked out for your New Year break - happy 2018!
Katharine
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paula22he...
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect in every way”
Reviewed November 26, 2017 for a stay in November 2017

Five stars in every way. The house is a three and a half storey warehouse conversion located on the estuary of the River Tweed. On road parking is available right outside the house. On the ground floor there is a comfortable ensuite room with a double bed. Upstairs there is a large master bedroom with a super king sized bed and a further bedroom with twin beds. All of the bedrooms overlook the estuary. There is also a large family bathroom with a whirlpool bath. On the third floor there is a large kitchen/dining / lounge. With a mezzanine with chairs table
All the fittings furniture bedding kitchen equipment is of a very high standard. You would think this was a loved family home rather than a holiday rental.
If you love walking you will be spolit for choice. There are plenty of eateries nearby but our favourite was the Queen’s Head. Superb home cooked food using local produce.
We will certainly be sharing this lovely retreat with family and friends. A true home from home.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 27, 2017
Hi Paula
Thanks for a lovely review. No. 6 is much loved by us and many of our guests; it's a beautiful house and a great location. I hope we can welcome you again in the future.
Katharine
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maggie F
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely accommodation in an interesting town”
Reviewed November 15, 2017 for a stay in November 2017

We returned from our first visit to 6 Pier Maltings yesterday (long weekend stay) and loved it so much that we have already booked our next visit - this time for the whole week. It really is as lovely as it looks in the photos. We liked being so close to the town centre, with all the interesting shops/pubs, etc and yet the accommodation was lovely and quiet, with fabulous views and nice walks from the doorstep. We loved being able to hear the waves lapping against the pier at night and my early morning walks to the nearby beach (just the other side of the main pier) was great for bird watching - with lots of oystercatchers, ringed plover, sanderlings, redshank and godwits all scurrying around at the tideline - delightful. All in all 5/5 accommodation and location.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 17, 2017
Thanks Maggie - I'm so glad you enjoyed Pier Maltings, including the wonderful bird life! it changes constantly - in the summer months we can have up to 80 swans in the estuary, as well as terns and kittiwakes. Hopefully you'll see more in March, we look forward to welcoming you back.
Best wishes
Katharine
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gillianba...
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
“Superb apartment in an excellent location.”
Reviewed November 9, 2017 for a stay in November 2017

This apartment is amazing far outshone our expectations. Extremely comfortable, absolutely wonderful views, the window seats are a perfect touch. Even though it is open plan it is so very very cosy. On arrival we were welcomed by Ian and there was a lovely bottle of wine waiting for us on the dining table.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 10, 2017
Thanks for a lovely review, Gillian, and delighted that you enjoyed No. 6!
Katharine
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing