We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (205)
Filter reviews
205 results
Traveler rating
189
16
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
189
16
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews spiral staircase domed ceiling historic house bike ride brilliant hosts lovely guesthouse centre of town rooms are lovely fantastic breakfast local knowledge night's sleep twin room quiet street every morning biscuits central location warm welcome
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 205 reviews
Reviewed August 12, 2018

We were impressed with The Anchorage - it's a lovely, old historic building, beautifully renovated. Great location right in the centre of Berwick upon Tweed so walking distance to everything in the town, including the river, pier, old walls, coast, shops and restaurants. We had a very comfortable, quiet room and a most delicious breakfast the next morning.

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KGS313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2018 via mobile

Stayed at the Anchorage for 2 nights and were made to feel welcome by Sandra and Ian the room was lovely and the food was superb can't praise it highly enough would recommend it to anyone will definitely return

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Chris F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2018 via mobile

Sandra & Ian are excellent hosts in a grade 2 listed building in the centre of town. Ideal if you are staying or passing through.

Beautiful building lovingly restored .

Breakfast choice extensive and freshly cooked.

If we come back this is where we are staying. Great value for money.

Thank you.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank ianbU9653MS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2018 via mobile

My friend and I stayed for one night at this lovely B&B for a weekend break. Its nice and central but still on a quiet bit of street and was easily walkable from the station.

We received a warm welcome from Ian and showed to light and airy twin room. The room was clean, the beds so comfy and there were all the usual facilities you'd except to find in the room - tea and coffee, biscuits, TV, info about things to do in the area. Ian even recommended the best pubs to go to for good ales!

After a good night's sleep we popped down for breakfast where we were greeted warmly by Sandra and enjoyed an amazing fry up! The food was superb and there was plenty of toast, tea and cereal options too.

We really enjoyed our stay. It's so reasonably priced and infinitely better than the Travelodge and another hotel in Berwick I have stayed in previously. I'd definitely stay again!

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank AliH941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2018

I was staying here on business in the middle of January. Ian and Sandra were very welcoming and the breakfast was delicious. The room was very cosy even though it was snowing outside. The guest house itself is a beautiful old Georgian house in a very central location. What more could you ask for? Thanks!

Date of stay: January 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travellingmuso2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews