We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The place to stay by Holy Island!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Fenham Farm Bed and Breakfast
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“The place to stay by Holy Island!”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Fenham Farm B&B is the BEST B&B we have ever stayed at. EVER. The rooms are done with the utmost care, spacious, clean and lovely. The breakfast was spot on. My husband had the salmon and eggs with chives both mornings. Every day you return to your room we had treats left for us. One day was a maltester bars and the other day was coconut fudge. Thank you for an amazing stay and we can wait to return at the end of May 2014 to see the puffins!!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 11Melanie1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    223
    7
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
37
151
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Central Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013

We stayed in a family room at Fenham Farm this past July and it was one of the nicest stays we had during an adventurous 2 week trip to England and Scotland. The renovated barns and stables were very well done and comfortable, modern yet preserving just enough of the character of their past. The bedding, pillows, bathroom were all top rate. And a bonus view of Holy Island. Hosts Walter and Gill were friendly and welcoming, and breakfast was a very nice selection, but have the salmon and eggs on a muffin! It was clear that thought was put into everything from the details of the renovation, to the decorations to the breakfast offerings. If you are headed north out of Yorkshire on your way to Scotland and are looking for a place near the coast, this is it.

Room Tip: The family room Redshank was very comfortable and spacious for 2 adults (we had a king!) and 2 teens
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IdRatherSpendEuros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We have just arrived back after 4 days at Fenham B&B. From start to finish this proved to be an exceptional B&B. Our room was Lapwing which was fully kitted out for those who have disabilities which was super because my husband has had a stroke. The décor was simple but sophisticated. There was plenty of space and in the room there was tea and coffee making facilities with FRESH milk provided daily. Freshly made cakes were waiting for us when we returned from our day out different flavours each day and very tasty.
Breakfasts were a delight with many many choices of cereal and fruit, followed by cooked breakfast of your choice with all fresh produce locally sourced - even homemade jam. Walter and Gill were wonderful hosts and nothing was too much trouble. We will definitely visit again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barngirl44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We couldn't recommend this bed and breakfast highly enough. It is a little remote, but this is to be expected considering the area and the views and walking routes more than make up for this. Walter and Jill were charming and Walter even gave us a lift to the local pub for food so we didn't have to get a taxi.

The room itself was immaculate, quiet and spacious and the home-made cake from Jill on arrival was a welcome bonus. Breakfast was fantastic, with local and organic produce.

We'll most certainly be visiting again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, UK
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

We stayed here while walking the St Cuthbert's Way - it's about half a mile from the route but the extra distance is worth it. If you have a car it's only a few minutes from the busy A1. Our room ("Lapwing") was quiet and well decorated with easy access to a huge shower-room. The bed was very comfortable, the breakfast very tasty & filling, and the hosts very friendly and attentive. If you enjoy star-gazing this area would be difficlut to beat as there is very little light pollution. The cost of the room was very reasonable. The naming of the rooms (all varieties of birds) is deliberate as there is a wide variety of opportunities for bird-watching

Room Tip: All rooms are on the ground floor with easy level access
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ABZ52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fir Tree, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

My wife stumbled across this B&B on the internet, fantastic place and people Jill & Walter are the nicest people i have met for a long time in the B&B trade. the rooms were immaculate and well presented with an eye for detail you do not see every day. the breakfast was freshly cooked and delicious. we are hoping to return before the year is out. amazing place.

Room Tip: All rooms were very well presented and prepared.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank slowe6570
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Stayed here twice. The first visit was excellent, the second visit good.
Situated in a nice area, the rooms are of a very high standard. Very clean and nicely furnished.
The breakfasts are delicious with a good choice.
The owners are very friendly.
Unfortunately on the second visit we arrived and the owners were not expecting us (we had booked and paid about four week earlier) fortunately they had a room available.
We also had an incident whereby our car got damaged by falling slates off their barn roof.
However these two things could be classed as bad luck. The room and breakfast were still very good.
It is also very reasonably priced for the standards of room and food.
Have recommended to other people (just check the barn roof before parking next to it!)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Berwick upon Tweed
12.1 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
1,249 reviews
7.2 mi away
Purdy Lodge
Purdy Lodge
#1 of 1 in Belford
383 reviews
11.8 mi away
Marshall Meadows Country House Hotel
Marshall Meadows Country House H...
#2 of 3 in Berwick upon Tweed
472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.5 mi away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
1.8 mi away
Eat & Sleep Lindisfarne
2.1 mi away
The Lindisfarne Inn
The Lindisfarne Inn
#14 of 46 in Berwick upon Tweed
632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fenham Farm Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fenham Farm Bed and Breakfast

Property: Fenham Farm Bed and Breakfast
Address: Fenham Farmhouse | Beal, Berwick upon Tweed TD15 2PL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Berwick upon Tweed
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in Berwick upon Tweed
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fenham Farm Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quality Bed & Breakfast accommodation on a beautiful coastal spot overlooking Holy Island in an area of outstanding natural beauty and of special scientific interest. The premises are old stone buildings which formed part of the original farmsteading. Converting the smiddy, cow byre and cartshed has created 5 spacious en-suite rooms that are independent of the farmhouse and have individual front doors so your space is your own. You will enjoy modern comfort all round and be kept warm and cosy by underfloor heating. Our location is idyllic with an ever changing landscape as the sea comes and goes with the tide. The farm is an ideal base for walking, cycling, and exploring the local area – particularly Lindisfarne and Bamburgh with their magnificent beaches, castles and rich history, and The Farne Islands – a haven for wildlife. Breakfasts are served in the farmhouse with plenty of fresh options and cooked breakfasts made to order using local produce. Enjoy homemade jams, local honey and Northumbrian bacon and sausages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Fenham Farm Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing