We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fresh food, best Indian in Berwick”
Review of Villa Spice 2 - CLOSED

Villa Spice 2
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Business meetings, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Belford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
148 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“Fresh food, best Indian in Berwick”
Reviewed September 13, 2012

A group of 4, my first visit, one person was a regular, the other 2 I think had been before. First impressions were good: smart room, clean and tidy and friendly welcoming staff. Not many other diners but it was early evening on a Wednesday evening so bound to be a bit quiet. We just had poppadums to start and a main course each. The poppadums came with mixed pickles: the chopped onions were very good, the mango chutney average, I guess the other one was mustard-based but pretty tasteless. The main courses though were really good, with a freshness to the spices that you don't always get in Indian-type restaurants, they were all highly spiced but not overpowering and well-balanced with plenty of flavours other than chilli. We also liked the accompaniments: naan breads and pillau rice.

I'll definitely be going again.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    23
    4
    9
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kirkwall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A fresh take on Indian Food”
Reviewed September 1, 2012

Our second visit to Villa Spice, by a short head the best Indian restaurant in the area.
Service is good but not outstanding. A bit more training would not be amiss, but the staff were at all times courteous and enthusiastic.
The food is lovely with a freshness so often missing in places with slightly gloopy sauces and too much colouring. It may just be the effect of a little extra coriander but it works.
I usually steer cleer of lamb dishes 'cos they are often chewy and tasteless. Lamb here is tasty and tender (so far at least.
Car parking is a bit of a problem so be prepared to walk 100 yards or so. The exercise will do you good.
Decor is fine, hav'nt tried the toilets yet so no comment.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Millyardhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berwick upon Tweed, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“suddenly lacking”
Reviewed August 29, 2012

we are very much regulars at the villa spice and nearly every month we either get a takeaway or dine in the restaurant , recently we have found that the food is not up to its usual high standard the onion bargis are dry and hard the nahns stodgy and the chicken in my curry very dry even drenched in the sauce and tonight was the final straw until this place bucks up its ideas we are not returning D;

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kym55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Notts
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good service”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Lovely food but one of the dishes was a lot hottier than usual expected (the jalfrezi). Service was very good, and the quality also good. Restaurant was clean and lovely atmosphere although it was very quiet on the evening we went

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank ladyholmes68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eyemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
343 reviews
173 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“back at our favourite eatery in Berwick”
Reviewed August 1, 2012

we were here with a party for a 60th birthday, as alawys the food was divine, servive was excellent and friendly, bill was where we expected it to be. As always the service was a liitle slow, but as a regular we know what to expect, the food is cooked with care and to order, this gem is tucked away, as a vistor you will need to seek it out, but they guys will not dissapoint

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank robv12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Villa Spice 2 also viewed

Tweedmouth, Berwick upon Tweed
Spittal, Berwick upon Tweed
 
Berwick upon Tweed, Northumberland
Berwick upon Tweed, Northumberland
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing