We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quality food from a comprehensive menu” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Magna Tandoori

The Magna Tandoori
Price range: $11 - $24
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti, Bangladeshi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Romantic, Special occasions, Kids, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: A family run business managed by the Khan brothers. Established since 1982 serving only finest Indian food for over 30 years.Over the years we have received many awards.The the most recent award was the Cobra Good Curry Guide - voted best in the north. Open 7 days a week. Lunchtime from 12-2 and Evening 5-11.30pm. We are fully licensed with a vast array of beers, lagers and fine wines.
Worthing, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Quality food from a comprehensive menu”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

We visited the Magna on a cold & snowy Monday night in January which probably explained the absence of any other customers! We were warmly welcomed & enjoyed some of the best Indian food we have tasted. We were given complimentary coffee by the very attentive owner & we enjoyed an informative discussion with him on the town of Berwick.

The food was excellent & what was lacking in atmosphere was more than mitigated by the standard & choice of dishes. I would recommend this restaurant without hesitation & having visited many other Indian restaurants the Magna is right up there as one of the best.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Claire G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

865 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    541
    169
    69
    35
    51
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Eyemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

Been there twice in the last few weeks.

I have to say that the service is excellent and very friendly. Second time we went we had a baby and 5 year old in a party of 10 and the staff were very accomondating.

Don't expect indian food with a modern twist. It is very much a case of, it does what it says on the tin and I don't mean that in a negative way. There were no complaints about the food from anyone in our party.

Definately worth a visit and would recommend the vegetable pakura. For me, they are the best ever.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JDNK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berwick upon Tweed, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Delicious home cooked authentic Indian food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013 via mobile

If its classic food and second to none hospitality you are after than look no further than this beautiful restaurant. My family and I had a jalfezi, kurma, tandoori, and a dhansak which were delicious. This building has been beautifully restored and loved by the owners and we are so proud to have such a great restaurant as this in our town with super attentive and loyal staff! Thank you again!!!

Helpful?
1 Thank Zoe Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duns, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Absolutely amazing, great food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

Eaten in this restaurant on many occasions and I have to say I cannot fault it all! The food is lovely and staff are so friendly and nothing is ever a problem! Wide variety of traditional Indian cuisine at an excellent standard! If we can't sit in we have a takeaway and it is just as good! my boyfriend and I don't eat very spicy food but when you see the more intense flavoured dishes coming out they look lovely!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Nikki W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best place to eat in Berwick.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

My family and I have used The Magna Tandoori for over 20 years and still have never found a better restaurant! DONT GO ANYWHERE ELSE!!!!!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank KPhillips89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Magna Tandoori also viewed

Berwick upon Tweed, Northumberland
Berwick upon Tweed, Northumberland
 
Berwick upon Tweed, Northumberland
Berwick upon Tweed, Northumberland
 

Been to The Magna Tandoori? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing