We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As usual superb food with superb service.”
Review of The Magna Tandoori

The Magna Tandoori
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $24
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: A family run business managed by the Khan brothers. Established since 1982 serving only finest Indian food for over 30 years.Over the years we have received many awards.The the most recent award was the Cobra Good Curry Guide - voted best in the north. Open 7 days a week. Lunchtime from 12-2 and Evening 5-11.30pm. We are fully licensed with a vast array of beers, lagers and fine wines.
Berwick upon Tweed, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“As usual superb food with superb service.”
Reviewed January 10, 2012

2012 and there is no change to the standards here,i had the tandoori mixed grill and my wife had buttered chicken made to order,both excellent,keep up the good work.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank winger34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaykay1968, Owner at The Magna Tandoori, responded to this review, January 26, 2012
Thankyou for your review. Glad you enjoyed our food and we look forward to more reviews in 2012.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

892 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    551
    175
    76
    38
    52
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Berwick upon Tweed, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Fabulous service and food”
Reviewed January 9, 2012

love the pasanda and the tika.... the service is really great and very friendly.... wouldn't go anywhere else. Totally excellent.

Helpful?
2 Thank Jaggybean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaykay1968, Owner at The Magna Tandoori, responded to this review, January 26, 2012
Thankyou very much for your kind review. delighted that you enjoyed our food. We will continue to provide good food and excellent service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berwick upon Tweed, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“excellent all round”
Reviewed January 8, 2012

Very friendly welcome. The owner is so attentive an welcoming on arrival, and the staff cannot do enough for you. Very authentic indian cuisine, great portions and excellent value for money. We are regular customers and never come away disappointed as the food is always consistently good

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank lee j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaykay1968, Owner at The Magna Tandoori, responded to this review, January 26, 2012
Thankyou very much for your review and your kind words. Its good to no that you enjoy our food and that our staff are friendly. It is our aim to provide the best in food, service and quality.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spennymoor, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Lovely food - great service!”
Reviewed January 4, 2012

Called in with husband and 2 sonds for a final evening meal in Berwick and was not disappointed. My youngest had an English meal and the rest of us had lovely chicken pakora followed by a Chicken passanda and chicken dopiaza. The meal was lovely and the service was spot on. Staff was very attentive but not over the top. Recommended.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank AuntieShirley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaykay1968, Owner at The Magna Tandoori, responded to this review, February 6, 2012
Thankyou very much for your review . we very much enjoyed serving you and your family. we are very pleased that you have enjoyed our food and found our sevice was good. we will continue to provide good food and good service. thankyou.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“excellent curry”
Reviewed January 3, 2012

The service was excellent as was the quality of the food , good value for money a great choice when in Berwick if you fancy a decent Indian

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Ron S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaykay1968, Owner at The Magna Tandoori, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
Dear Valued Customer
Thank you very much for visiting our restaurant. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your meal with us here at the Magna Tandoori and we very much appreciate the time taken to write this review. Once again, Thank you very much for visiting our restaurant, we hope to see you again soon.
Kind Regards
J. Khan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Magna Tandoori also viewed

Berwick upon Tweed, Northumberland
Berwick upon Tweed, Northumberland
 
Berwick upon Tweed, Northumberland
Berwick upon Tweed, Northumberland
 
Berwick upon Tweed, Northumberland
Berwick upon Tweed, Northumberland
 

Been to The Magna Tandoori? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing