We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a hidden gem”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Rob Roy Pub and Bar
Cuisines: British, Pub
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Ballymena, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“a hidden gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

decided to take my son out for a meal on his last night at home and thought we would try the Rob Roy which was signposted. It has been recently refurbished and the meal choice was superb, we all enjoyed a drink in the bar before being shown to our table, my seat faced a lovely courtyard. The food was beautifully presented and plentyful, there was a nice mix of couples and families and there was a steady stream of diners, though you weren't 'rushed'. We will definitely go back and although it isnt located centrally its within walking distance of Berwick centre.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank elaine l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    17
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leicestershire
Level Contributor
48 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Hot & Homemede....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2012

A varied menue to suit all tastes. All our food was presented well, it was fresh & homemade - well done Linda

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ruth A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Falls, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Charming”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2012

Lovely service, good food, walking distance from B& B...the Old Vicarage. Nice atmosphere with a quaint garden area at the back. Would return.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Nicole S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“This is a must if in the area”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012

We booked a table here on spec and must say we have since been back with friends 3 times. All times we have been very impressed, the food was lovely and the plates had even been heated. One of our friends commented that the roll was warmed which is very rare in todays standard. The service and atmosphere in both the bar and resturant is very friendly and pleasant. I would recommend the Rob Roy if you are in the area, or at Berwick for the week-end. This place is a MUST and suitable for for all ages
There is also lovely views looking out to the sea in the bar area

Sue G
Newcastle

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Susan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Rob Roy inn Berwick”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

We stayed on a bed and breakfast basis, room was very nicely furnished and very clean. A good breakfast menu nicely cooked, we ate in the restaurant in the evening and the food was excellent. Would definately stay again.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dianeuk39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rob Roy Pub and Bar also viewed

Berwick upon Tweed, Northumberland
Berwick upon Tweed, Northumberland
 
Berwick upon Tweed, Northumberland
Milfield, Northumberland
 
Berwick upon Tweed, Northumberland
Berwick upon Tweed, Northumberland
 

Been to Rob Roy Pub and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing