We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth a visit”

Queens Head Hotel Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Unfortunately our experience of this restaurant was not positive-

Food - over cooked and a little burnt
Service -slow and unattentive
Atmosphere - cold and univiting.

Certainly will not be visiting again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Pip000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
letsgoawayonholiday, Owner at Queens Head Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2013

Thank you for your honest review Pip & may I first of all apologise for your unhappy experience with us. I have sent a direct message to you asking if you could elaborate, as I would like to find out exactly where we failed to meet your expectations. I certainly take complaints seriously hence the follow up of all reviews on our site. I can understand failing on one aspect but complaining on service, atmosphere & food I find difficult to understand & comprehend. As mentioned if you kindly reply to my message & giving more information on your experience I will give this my utmost attention & try to ensure that this does not happen again to any other potential customers. My apologies again & hope to receive your message soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (864)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

707 - 711 of 864 reviews

Reviewed February 20, 2013

We have visited Berwick 3 times recently due to my parents ill health and each time we have eaten in the Queens Head, menu choice is a little restricted BUT... what they do on the menu is really good quality, staff are attentive and helpful, service was a little slow on the night we were in but the restuarant was full and they had a function on so we could see why and the staff said they were sorry but it wasnt unbearable I thought they coped really well considering the amount of food they were getting out, and the quality didnt suffer well done Chef.
Well worth a visit if your in Berwick, we will be back again !!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Owenski37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
letsgoawayonholiday, Owner at Queens Head Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2013

Many thanks for your constructive review Owenski. We realise you have reviewed us before,being complimentary & we are happy we didn't disappoint this time. In this economic climate its difficult to predict when you are going to busy. The evening you ate with us I think the oldest Salmon club had there annual event in the other room. We were full & turning tables away which again can be infuriating when other nights are quiet. We sincerely hope when back visiting family again you pop in to dine with us where we hope to continue to live up to your expectations & provide a pleasant & happy experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

Found this restaurant via Tripadvisor. Looking for somewhere on the way home and really didn't expect to find such a lovely restaurant. Very accommodating of two kids. Really tasty food at great value and a warm welcome. We will be back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank EMM32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
letsgoawayonholiday, Owner at Queens Head Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2013

Thanks Emm32 for your great review. Trip advisor is a powerful tool with so many of the general public looking on posted reviews from other peoples experiences. Were happy we broke up your journey home to enjoy our culinary cuisine. Its important that we are family friendly & offer a good selection of children's meals to keep everyone happy. Fingers crossed & hope to see you all in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

We've eaten here three times now because the service is excellent and the quality of the meals is superb. Stopped off in Berwick en route to Scotland three times now and have never been disappointed with the meal. The service on a Sunday evening, when the place was surprisingly busy, was professional, friendly and attentive. The food was good. Nothing more to say except that we will return without hesitation in the future.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank wanderobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
letsgoawayonholiday, Owner at Queens Head Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2013

Many thanks for you kind words Wanderobo. We appreciate you spending the time writing your thoughts as you have posted a considerable amount of reviews on trip advisor. Its nice to know we are a stop off point to break the journey & continue to offer a service to you all. We hope to see you all in the not too distant future where you can relax & enjoy more meals before heading to your final destination. Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013

The atmosphere was great, fantastic tasty food well presented. We loved the complimentary assortment of breads which was homemade. That was a really nice touch. The service was wonderful. We had a great evening and would recommend this place to anyone! Amazing value for money.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank rpatt92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
letsgoawayonholiday, Owner at Queens Head Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2013

Many thanks for your complimentary review. You both must be glutens for punishment!! Twice in one day! We make some of the breads & alternate between sun-dried tomato & parmesan, sour dough & rye & spelt but think the tapade we make or the sweetened balsamic compliment the selection of breads. We appreciate you think the cliche 'value for money' was worth the money you spent in our establishment & sincerely hope you both return in the not too distant future. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Queens Head Hotel Restaurant also viewed

Berwick upon Tweed, Northumberland
Berwick upon Tweed, Northumberland
 
Berwick upon Tweed, Northumberland
Berwick upon Tweed, Northumberland
 

Been to Queens Head Hotel Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing