We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We went there twice in one day we were so impressed!”

Queens Head Hotel Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Reviewed February 13, 2013

The atmosphere was great, fantastic tasty food well presented. We loved the complimentary assortment of breads which was homemade. That was a really nice touch. The service was wonderful. We had a great evening and would recommend this place to anyone! Amazing value for money.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank rpatt92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
letsgoawayonholiday, Owner at Queens Head Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2013

Many thanks for your complimentary review. You both must be glutens for punishment!! Twice in one day! We make some of the breads & alternate between sun-dried tomato & parmesan, sour dough & rye & spelt but think the tapade we make or the sweetened balsamic compliment the selection of breads. We appreciate you think the cliche 'value for money' was worth the money you spent in our establishment & sincerely hope you both return in the not too distant future. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (865)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

713 - 717 of 866 reviews

Reviewed February 12, 2013

Went to the Queen's Head a week ago. What an amazing meal. It has been consistently great every time we have been. This time we had an unexpected visitor who was not able to stay to eat with us but the management arranged for them to have a takeaway of one of the meals. There was no fuss whatsoever. Can't wait to go back again - the crab starter was divine!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank BrendaL862
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
letsgoawayonholiday, Owner at Queens Head Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2013

Many thanks for your kind words Brenda. Pleased you returned to enjoy our food especially the Berwick crab you mentioned .Using local seasonal produce is of a paramount importance to us which I am sure the customers appreciate. I sincerely hope your friend enjoyed her take away dinner? Its not a common request we get but we would be happy to offer this service in moderation if asked. We hope to see you both in the not too distant future & again appreciate you kind words.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013

We have come to the Queens Head for a number of years off and on, for a short stay or just as part of a day trip to Berwick by bus. We were blown into the restaurant on 6 February 2013, a fine but blustery day, for a very nice lunch. There were as always a good choice of nice dishes on the menu. A mackerel kedgeree was wonderful, with a nice Pinot Grigio, followed by a beautiful banana split. We thought that it was good value for quality. Full marks to Gary for nice experience and a friendly welcome.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Pam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
letsgoawayonholiday, Owner at Queens Head Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2013

Many thanks for your kind words Pam & Fin. Guessing by your review you came on a lunch time & had the two course meal @ £12.95. Nice to know you think the meal was 'value for money'. With the economic climate the way it is, offers are available in most places now but the quality suffers because of this. We do our utmost to ensure the quality is not compromised with some of the evening a la carte menu incorporated in the lunch time special. We he to see you both in the future all being well. Many thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

Came here on a snowy Tuesday night . The food was superb and presentation second to none . The host Gary very very helpfull and very attentive . Will definitely come back to stay and would recommend to everybody to come here.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank paulozzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
letsgoawayonholiday, Owner at Queens Head Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2013

Many thanks for your kind words Paul & you braving the weather to come out & eat @ the hotel. Hope to see you in the future if you decide to stay with us next time. Thanking you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Menu which would not be amiss in the city, trouble is the price is city style too. Expected better food for price paid, ended up disappointed, service was acceptable, but will look elsewhere next time

1  Thank copsha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
letsgoawayonholiday, Owner at Queens Head Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2013

Thank you for your constructive review & apologise your visit with us was a disappointing one. The menu which is existing at the moment is clearly displayed outside with selection of dishes & prices giving the potential customers the choice to come in & dine with us or look elsewhere for their dinner. I appreciate everyone has their own perception of value for money. We use seasonal local produce which unfortunately to buy in comes at a higher price & there are no dishes on our existing menu which exceeds £18.45 for a local 10oz Glendale sirloin steak which is served with sides. The cliche 'you only get what you pay for ' does bare truth to a point. We are also offering at present a loyalty card to locals etc who continue to support us which they will receive discount from dining experiences with us & we are also giving a 10% discount on any meal with us up until end of March, again highlighting 'value for money perception' My apologies again for your disappointing experience with us but I feel that I have to try & explain to any potential customers that we do not charge certain top end city prices & the public who look on trip advisor can clearly see our prices displayed on our web-site. I sincerely hope to see you both in the future as reading other reviews from yourselves you seem to visit this area occasionally.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Queens Head Hotel Restaurant also viewed

Berwick upon Tweed, Northumberland
Berwick upon Tweed, Northumberland
 
Berwick upon Tweed, Northumberland
Berwick upon Tweed, Northumberland
 

Been to Queens Head Hotel Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing