We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“girls who lunch” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Foxtons Restaurant & Wine Bar

Foxtons Restaurant & Wine Bar
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $19 - $50
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Wine Bar, Soups, Contemporary, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: We took over Foxtons on 1st December 2012! The turnaround is now complete. We invested in completely new toilets, redecorated the interior spaces, opened a new Foxtons yard garden to the rear, a real suntrap! We replaced the awful charity shop seating, invested in new kitchen stuff (which you cannot see!) introduced Bose sound driven by iTunes and improved the food and smartened the service up. Our general manager is well known locally and together we have employed two new chefs and kitchen staff. We introduced a comprehensive wine list and Proseccos and Champagnes. Wines from Majestic amongst others and we have 35+ to choose from Our new winter menus offer something for all from belly pork to 21 day aged steaks from local farms. Or, try our shellfish and fish from local suppliers. Soup and salads, huge gourmet burgers. Lunch and dinner service 7 days a week coupled with a variety of beers and lagers like Belhaven Best, Peroni, Guinness and a weekly guest cask ale Like Timothy Taylor's Landlord. So we hope you can come and see us soon and enjoy! Foxtons welcomes children and we have a childrens' menu too. We strongly recommend that you book for Thursday, Friday & Saturday dinner and Sunday lunches as we are often fully booked. We are open for food 7 days a week. Sunday lunch served noon to 6.30pm every Sunday
Motherwell
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“girls who lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

we spent a couple of nights in Berwick called into Foxton for lunch.Service very good.food and wine lovely.Will call again

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith S, Owner at Foxtons Restaurant & Wine Bar, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Many thanks for your review "ladies who lunch"! We are pleased you enjoyed your visit and hope to see you soon when you are back in Berwick. Watch out for a new menu coming soon and our new courtyard seating and hopefully it will be warm enough to lunch outside!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

475 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    250
    139
    53
    15
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“TAKE NO NOTICE OF THE NEGATIVE REVIEW REGARDING CHIlDREN!!!! Lovely chilled out place food staff and atmosphere outstanding!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013 via mobile

Last Saturday night we went here as a family, 5 of us (one being a 3 year old) for my grandmothers birthday. We are very familiar with the town but had not tried the food here. We booked the table and explained their would be a child their was no problem with this at all. When we arrived 7.00 all the staff were very pleasant and attentive to everything we asked. The atmosphere was lovely an the mood was set by background music. We revived the menu along with some mixed olives and feta cheese to nibble. looking at the menu it very well laying out and to my surprise was very reasonable in price. We all ordered a starter and a main and the food was 5* you get more then enough for your money the portions sizes are grate. I had the sweet chilli prawn & chorizo starter it was amazing. All of our main courses were very enjoyable and to say the least their was no waste. After the meal we sat and had a bottle of wine and was made to feel very comfortable and didn't feel rushed to leave considering we had finished our food. Also the baby was walking around and playing and no one seemed to mind. The managers even came to make a comment that she was fine playing and they didn't mind her staying. They were very lovely and reassuring us that we were fine to stay and they hoped we had enjoyed our night. Ever such nice people!!! I don't live in berwick but will be sure to return here for a meal and even just for drinks pre- night out. It's a very lovely chilled out wine bar!!! I have seen there is mostly good reviews on here about this place, which is fabulous but their is a very negative review about having children in this establishment and I really cannot see this being a tire comment of events as our 3 year old was in their from 7 onwards and the owners and staff were nothing but nice..

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bibbiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith S, Owner at Foxtons Restaurant & Wine Bar, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Many thanks indeed for your kind review - I was personally dining with my wife that night and we both thought your daughter was perfectly behaved and enjoyed her night. It was a pleasure to see you group able to relax and enjoy your evening. We really do like children and that is why we offer special Sunday lunches free to under ten year olds. All of our team were thoroughly upset by the previous aggressive review and comments that we don't like children. That is plain wrong. But all agreed that some people do not have well behaved children and cannot control them. That upsets other customers too.

So, we truly look forward to your next visit and hope you enjoy it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bluemilky1968
Level Contributor
45 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Nice lunch but not great”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

I had lunch with a group of friends and although it was quite nice it was not the best and tasted quite greasy. The staff on the bar were pleasant enough but could have been better

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bluemilky1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith S, Owner at Foxtons Restaurant & Wine Bar, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Many thanks indeed for your review on 12th April. I am however, slightly confused, was the lunch "nice" or "not great"? I struggle to reconcile two descriptions so opposing in their context. Frankly, it is disappointing to see such a low score when the feedback we get when serving hundreds of meals every week is that our staff are helpful, friendly and willing. You called them "pleasant enough" but "not great". Not great at what? Again this seems confusing to me. Our chef prepared (not bought in prepared) food is also very well received with many dozens of compliments. As can be seen in other reviews. Your comment about the greasiness of the food is interesting, because again, we have not ever had that comment. I am sorry you found it necessary to mark us at 2 out of 5.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cramlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very Good Sunday Lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

We visited Foxtons for Sunday lunch which was very well presented, locally sourced and tasted good. Staff were helpful when I clarified what I could eat that was gluten free. The staff were friendly and service was good. We will definitely return.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank joanni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith S, Owner at Foxtons Restaurant & Wine Bar, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Many thanks indeed for your kind review Joanni. I am pleased that the staff were able to assist you and that you found the food tasty. You may not know but Sunday lunches are now available with a £12 special for two courses, so if you return back up to Berwick do please call in again and we look forward to serving you. May I just thank you for taking time to write the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
34 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Really nice and reasonable value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

Food was good and off decent value , staff were very polite , really can't fault the place , very central location

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank MandyJ297
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith S, Owner at Foxtons Restaurant & Wine Bar, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Many thanks indeed for your kind review Mandy. It is a pity that we have had such cold Easter weather for your visit but I hope you found Foxtons warm, comfortable and friendly. We look forward to welcoming you back again in future. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Foxtons Restaurant & Wine Bar also viewed

Berwick upon Tweed, Northumberland
Berwick upon Tweed, Northumberland
 
Berwick upon Tweed, Northumberland
Berwick upon Tweed, Northumberland
 
Berwick upon Tweed, Northumberland
Berwick upon Tweed, Northumberland
 

Been to Foxtons Restaurant & Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing