We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stay”
Review of Whyteside House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Whyteside House
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good stay”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Have just stayed at the Whyteside House overnight, very clean and comfortable, Host very friendly, have to admit to being a little disappointed with the room, booked as superior photos made room look really big , but was in fact small, but nice all the same, lovely bathroom with toiletries, and lashings of hot water, would stay again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chrissieberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    20
    9
    6
    2
See reviews for
5
42
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Great staff they where very helpful and tried to make a fuss but sadly that is where it ends as it was like going into a haunted house from the 50's, the rooms are very dated and poorly decorated, the pictures on the net looked great so I booked it and soon changed my mind when I arrived

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Amanda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012 via mobile

This is a bit like staying with your granny-a bit dated but like your granny's, a warm welcome and very comfortable. Albert is a friendly, genial host who welcomes you into his home. When we got past the dark, old fashioned hall and stairs, our room and en-suite shower room were spacious, bright, airy and spotless. The bedding is, again, a bit like your granny's, (been years since I've slept on a flannelette sheet!) but the bed was very comfortable. A tea tray, of course, with, again a granny-touch, a tea towel so that you can wash up your cup!
Parking for us was no problem. Albert gave us a residents parking ticket which allowed us to park anywhere in the town for free. The road outside is trafficked but not heavily. We live in London so are used to traffic noise, but the well-fitting window shutters cut out a lot of noise.
Breakfast was excellent, freshly cooked and plentiful. All the guests sit round one table-nice & friendly. We met some lovely people. Albert gave us excellent suggestions for dinner.
Free wifi too, but you have to ask for a hair dryer!

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank smith1421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012

Albert our host was extremely helpful, personable and a great host. Breakfast was excellent and porridge made to perfection!! Only thing missing was soap or gel for the shower. I would recommend Whyteside House for it's location and convenience to amenities and restaurants as well as guest assistance. Cheers from Karen, Ottawa, Canada.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kmciintyre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Workington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2011

The Host Albert; is FANTASTIC nothing youask him, is to much trouble, the place is spotless, the bed very comfortable and the breakfasts are delicious, would HIGHLY recommend any one to stay here

Room Tip: We always like to book room no1, as its the largest
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2011

Even though the A1 bypassed Berwick-on-Tweed many years ago, it is amazing how much traffic still travels down the main road in the middle of the night and even more amazing that a B&B directly on that road has no double-glazing so if you're a light sleeper (like me) don't expect to get much sleep.

Bizarrely the dining room is tiny and too small to accommodate all the guests so you either need to book a slot or take breakfast as a different house up the street. All very odd.

Room Tip: Avoid any rooms facing onto the main road unless you can sleep through traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 186411Phil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2011

We booked into this B&B (in advance) for three nights on the second leg of our tour of the borders.
First impressions were that the reception area is dark and unwelcoming and parking is somewhat 'hit and miss' with permits not being available at the time of our arrival.
However, the room turned out to be very well appointed with modern fixtures and fittings, not overly large, but adequate. This was marred by the level of noise from the road and on occasions, young people passing on the way from the pubs.
The dining room is small (only holding six people around one table) and the owner changed our breakfast time on two occasions, the breakfast menu was limited with no fruit or yogurts available, and the cooked breakfast would be quite small (if you have a good appetite).
All in all, this could be a good venue if the owner would just look at what the competition is offering, instead of whining about lack of trade. Conclusion, not worth £35pppn.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Newquaysurfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berwick upon Tweed hotels
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Berwick upon Tweed
Travelodge Berwick upon Tweed
#3 of 3 in Berwick upon Tweed
290 reviews
0.1 mi away
Castle Vale House
Castle Vale House
#13 of 45 in Berwick upon Tweed
133 reviews
0.1 mi away
No 11B Boutique
No 11B Boutique
#6 of 45 in Berwick upon Tweed
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Parade School Guest House
Parade School Guest House
#8 of 45 in Berwick upon Tweed
136 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Rob Roy Restaurant
The Rob Roy Restaurant
#9 of 45 in Berwick upon Tweed
91 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Cobbled Yard Hotel
The Cobbled Yard Hotel
#30 of 45 in Berwick upon Tweed
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whyteside House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whyteside House

Property: Whyteside House
Address: 46 Castlegate, Berwick upon Tweed TD15 1JT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Berwick upon Tweed
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Berwick upon Tweed
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Whyteside House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Whyteside House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing