We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Auld yin’s day oot”
Review of The Plough On The Hill. - CLOSED

The Plough On The Hill.
Description: Northumberland’s newest and most exciting Gastropub & Gin Bar, offering unique decor and surroundings, eclectic personality with stunning views over the Cheviot Hills and the North Northumberland coastline all the way to Holy Island and Bamburgh Castle to name a few.
Restaurant details
Description: Northumberland’s newest and most exciting Gastropub & Gin Bar, offering unique decor and surroundings, eclectic personality with stunning views over the Cheviot Hills and the North Northumberland coastline all the way to Holy Island and Bamburgh Castle to name a few.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

A quiet place to go in the country a good pub meal served hot ,plenty of ,good portions a good atmosphere jolly people,

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank George F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (459)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 459 reviews

Reviewed July 5, 2019 via mobile

We had two excellent Sunday lunches last summer. We are on holiday again in Berwick and were disappointed to see that it has now closed . Your business rates are ridiculously high. There are expert firms of Chartered Surveyors who appeal rates on a no fee no win basis. I assume you have tried this course of action

Date of visit: July 2019
1  Thank BCJ47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2019 via mobile

Visited this place at the start of May and it appears to have closed down. Very disappointing as the reviews looked good and it was close to the place we were staying.

Date of visit: May 2019
1  Thank SteveC1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sarahc11388, Owner at The Plough On The Hill., responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2019

Yes I’m afraid we had to close as the business rates were increased by 60k and the business couldn’t afford that , 12 other businesses have also closed due to business rates being so high , thank you for the 1 star and your understanding, it was our dream and we built it for our family, it’s been a very difficult time for us

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2019

From the arrival through the curtain with our dog it was an experience. The African theme with zebra pelts on the walls would probably have most vegans screaming for the hills, however there was a lovely warm welcome and a great menu on the table. The food was superb however the chef did seem to have his own take on the recipes as my mushroom with blue cheese and walnut salad had neither blue cheese or walnuts (plenty of almonds and hazelnuts) however tasted fabulous. Our only moan was that we ordered a glass of large house red and was charged £9 for the privilege...

Date of visit: March 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Loubyinleeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2019 via mobile

Having read so many good reviews about this place, we decided it would be just the sort of place we like - quirky with great food and it didn’t disappoint. We were greeted warmly as we walked in and were seated at a table close to the log burner. Everybody was very helpful and offered great advice as to what I could have that would help me avoid cow’s milk- not something that always happens. There was a great choice and we made our selection. There was a little hiccup with our meal but the staff were dealing with a boy being sick over the table and some of the party wanting their meals immediately so they could leave. We received an apology and the food was so beautiful it really wasn’t a problem. If you like quirky decor and gorgeous, unusual food then this is definitely a place to visit.

Date of visit: April 2019
1  Thank 382lize
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Plough On The Hill. also viewed

Berwick upon Tweed, Northumberland
Berwick upon Tweed, Northumberland
 
Berwick upon Tweed, Northumberland
Berwick upon Tweed, Northumberland
 
Berwick upon Tweed, Northumberland
Berwick upon Tweed, Northumberland
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing