We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“stay away!!!”
Review of Mansergh House

Mansergh House
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mansergh House
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“stay away!!!”
Reviewed June 23, 2011

the landlady is intrusive & judgemental... upon arrival she was shocked that we were in separate cars!!! it got worse... apparently my boyfriend should not iron his own clothes i should do it for him!!! then toilet paper is to be rationed!!! when i asked for another roll she rewarded me with a part used one - it was gross!!! the landlady also snooped through my things when we left the room for the day... horrid woman... i couldn't wait to leave...

parking is only free if there is a space... there wasn't i had to negotiate with a painter decorating a neighbouring house!!! then only for one car... oh yeah i forgot you're not supposed to arrive in two... cardinal sin!

breakfast was grim - you had to choose what you wanted & a time the night before (only served until 9am even on sunday) so zero spontaneity - woe betide if you were late... cardboard sausages & my boyfriend left something the first day so it wasn't included the second!!! we joked that should we have been there a week his plate would be bare!!!

check out at 9.30am this is too early for a weekend...

outside of her control were the seagulls... they scream continuously all night it is impossible to sleep...

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank silkscarves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    4
    0
    1
    2
See reviews for
4
17
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2010

We travelled up with the forecast of snow. The main roads were all OK ,but on arrival it started to snow quite heavily. Travelling as two couples we were shown to our rooms which were lovely; large and above all warm!! Yvonne made us welcome and directed us to a lovely eatery The Cobbled Yard just a short walk away.
We awoke to find 5/6 inches of snow had fallen over night blanketing Berwick. We changed our plans for the day over a hearty breakfast and decided to walk around the walls and do some shopping rather the gad off to Lindisfarne and Hadrians wall as planned.What a charming place! by Lunch most of the pavements had been gritted etc.We relaxed and have decided to return in the spring.Hopefully we will stay with Yvonne again as we now know how close it is to all amenities and attractions yet so quiet and peaceful. Thanks for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nesser88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2010

We stayed one night on a walking holiday and this was the best. It would be nice to believe that all 4 star accomodation was this good. We stayed in crap to mediocre 4 star establishments over a period of a week. This is real 4 star. Clean well equiped rooms, pleasant landlady and excellent breakfast.
Berwick upon tweed seemed lacking in decent restaurants, probably needs researching beforehand.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chaboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castleford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
Reviewed August 7, 2010

we have stayed at mansergh house three times now the last time on the 4-8-10 was for our honeymoon yvonne the landlady is amazing very welcoming the choice of breakfast is nice and yvonne will do you anything you like from a full breakfast to something small we hope to go back again in november we love staying here the rooms are very clean and big

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susanburrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2010

Extended our stay from one to two nights and the only fault was the noise the seagulls made.
This is an excellent place to stay and Yvonne looks after you extremely well. Very good value for money and room was brilliant. Best place on our week's tour of east of Scotland and Lake District. Have already recommended it to another guest house owner.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank springburnboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Calder, Scotland
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2009

My husband and I booked a couple of nights in Berwick, just to "get away from it all". Yvonne the landlady made us feel very welcome and was very attentive through out our stay. The B&B was very clean and well our room was more than adequate. The parking was a bit of a problem as Manserg House is in the centre of Berwick, however when a residents parking space became available we moved our car and it stayed there till we left for home. Yvonne is very organised and breakfast choices were to be made the previous evening. Thumbs up to the scrambled egg on toast - portions were more than enough to keep us going through out the day. We will be back.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lyndamac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berwick upon Tweed hotels
0.2 mi away
Queens Head Hotel
Queens Head Hotel
#1 of 3 in Berwick upon Tweed
409 reviews
0.8 mi away
Travelodge Berwick upon Tweed
Travelodge Berwick upon Tweed
#3 of 3 in Berwick upon Tweed
295 reviews
0.0 mi away
Parade School Guest House
Parade School Guest House
#7 of 46 in Berwick upon Tweed
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Caroline House
Caroline House
#2 of 4 in Spittal
68 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Captain's Quarters
The Captain's Quarters
#45 of 46 in Berwick upon Tweed
222 reviews
0.1 mi away
Wallace Green Hall
Wallace Green Hall
#13 of 46 in Berwick upon Tweed
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mansergh House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mansergh House

Property: Mansergh House
Address: 86 Church Street, Berwick upon Tweed TD15 1DU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Berwick upon Tweed
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in Berwick upon Tweed
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mansergh House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Mansergh House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing