We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant caravan with a sea view” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Berwick Holiday Park - Haven

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Berwick upon Tweed
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Berwick Holiday Park - Haven
Certificate of Excellence
newcastle
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Brilliant caravan with a sea view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

I have just returned from a weekend stay at berwick caravan park.. on arrival reception staff were very friendly. Once we found caravan i was over the moon when we had a sea view out of the lounge window. The club house is a one for all ages. The entertainment was of high standard. The fish shop inside of amusments is one to visit its lovely.. there is also a pub type concept. To which we ordered food. Was a little disappointed with service. One member of staff was slighly abrupt. But hey ho. Apart from that a fab stay would definetly recommend and return again.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cheryl12390
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

926 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    446
    279
    112
    34
    55
See reviews for
621
128
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

On arrival check-in was quick and friendly, the team member requested that if we were unhappy with anything then not to hesitate in letting them know, which was reassuring.

We selected the prestige 2012 grade of caravan. The decor was fresh and modern with a seaside chalet feel. The kitchen was well equipped, cooker fridge and freezer were all spotlessly clean. The caravan had full central heating with radiators in all rooms. The shower was a good size too with plenty of hot water. Overall the caravan was clean and well presented.

The site had a well stocked SPAR supermarket, although just a short walk away in Berwick is a Co-operative Food supermarket with better prices and deals available (and happier staff!).

The indoor pool is quite small and can feel crowded and noisey at busy times, but again was clean and in good order.

The Mash and Barrel offers a wide range of food, but not particular good value for money.

The site is well located to explore Berwick and other attractions such as Holy Island by car. Berwick train station is also just a short walk away with connections to the East Coast and Edinburgh.

All the Haven staff we came into contact with were helpful and pleasant.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EuroTraveller72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

my husband and i stopped for weekend 2nd to 5th november, went through sun holidays, which have done plenty of times, paid for a upgraid, only to be put in a very basic caravan 10ft wide, no heating in bedroom or bathroom, mouldy double duvet didnt use that, blind on bathroom window mouldy, i really think haven could do better, i dont expect top luxury but as it was a really cold weekend would have thought they could have offered some form of heating or a better caravan. apart from that the park is in a lovely position overlooking the sea and had no complaints about the park itself, although would like to see different entertainment rather than singers all the time, comedy or a magic show would be good. we prefer park resorts or parkdean caravans, they are usually much better!

Room Tip: pay for a heated caravan
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anne m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

Beautiful sea view caravan, everything else the usual over priced Haven rubbish.

Poor / unintentionally funny evening entertainment - especially the take that tribute, although totally 80s comes close

Room Tip: Get the best van you can afford, ask for a sea view
See more room tips
Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank ItsmeLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cullercoats, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

Visited 22-26 October. Opted for the Prestige Caravan with central heating... The standard of cleanliness was ok. Few cobwebs hanging from light fittings and the beds which were supposed to be ready made up were done roughly and had to be remade properly before use. I am pleased we opted for the van with heating, this was needed!! The caravan was lovely and warm. Having stayed at Haven before we knew to pack things like washing up liquid, tea towels, dishcloth, toilet rolls etc...... expensive in the onsite shop if you forget them. The activities for the kids weren't bad.... the aqua gliders and fencing got the thumbs up from the children but oh dear the water walkerz.....you got only 5 minutes and that was all... so don't expect your child to be overwhelmed at those. The other activities lasted about half hour and you had to book those in advance. The Mash & Barrel is the Restaurant/Cafe/Bar onsite...... Having been to Haggerston I found their Mash & Barrel fine.... Not Brewick Haven though........ Over our 5 days stay out of about 8 staff only one managed to smile and be pleasant. One girl on the Tuesday afternooon shift actually bordered on cheeky because I asked what wines they had???? The food, we tried the main meals which weren't bad but not hot. The baguette sandwich was not cut, just dumped on the plate, we got no knives, sauces or napkins. Finally the breakfast.... when it arrived the food was cold, I couldn't even class it as warm. The bacon was undercooked and the kids just point blank refused to eat it. However......... overall we liked the park (it was very clean, no rubbish lying around) and the caravan was lovely so will definitley go back but will probably eat out in Berwick!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Coll296
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Kilbride, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
221 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for a long weekend- as part of the £9.50 holiday with The Sun. We paid for an upgraded caravan and then paid the park directly for a further upgrade. I have to say I was disappointed in the caravan- there is mildew on curtains, problems with hot water, and dead flies squashed into bathroom blind.

I did speak to reception and the water was sorted promptly.

The park itself is right by the seaside and the usual indoor pool is available. Having stayed at different Haven parks before I cannot see why this park has a 5 star rating- there are no more amenities here than 3 or 4 star parks.

The kids have enjoyed themselves though and that's the objective for places like this!!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pamder03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northumberland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

came with my girlfriend, 2 dogs and another couple, as we were stopping at berwick the night before, we came early, they took some information from me, my girlfriend and her friend werent allowed in as i took the dogs for a walk, they sat in reception and told a funstar, they said show the letter as we all wanted a drink, so we had one, i was bored and they contacted me by phone to say that the caravan was ready, so got the key and headed to the caravan, not in a bad place, the entertainment was good, but i do feel that berwick holiday park could do with a paint in the showbar, spar is expensive, berwick has got plenty of supermarkets such as asda, co-op, tesco, morrisons, farmfoods and aldi, berwick also has got a market on wednesday and saturday, me and my girlfriend did visited town alot and liked home bargains, the beach at berwick holiday park is superb for the 2 cocker spaniels for a run, berwick holiday park had a new garden part which looked nice, the staff liked my dogs, we came to berwick for 3 nights on 12.10.12 and didnt want to leave, we are consider coming back next year and will order more blankets if its cold like this year, even our portable heater wasnt good enough, berwick holiday park does nice meals, but i ate at the caravan as i cooked my own healthy meals,but i will eat there one day

Room Tip: check the weather and make sure that going in october that you take the right gear specially if its...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marcusNorthumberland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Berwick upon Tweed
2.0 mi away
Marshall Meadows Country House Hotel
Marshall Meadows Country House H...
#2 of 3 in Berwick upon Tweed
4.5 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
0.8 mi away
Queens Head Hotel
Queens Head Hotel
#1 of 3 in Berwick upon Tweed
4.5 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
6.9 mi away
Haggerston Castle Holiday Park - Haven
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Kings Arms Hotel
Kings Arms Hotel
#22 of 51 in Berwick upon Tweed
4.0 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
0.6 mi away
No 11B Boutique
No 11B Boutique
#5 of 51 in Berwick upon Tweed
4.5 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
0.8 mi away
YHA Berwick
YHA Berwick
#3 of 11 in Berwick upon Tweed
4.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Berwick Holiday Park - Haven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berwick Holiday Park - Haven

Property: Berwick Holiday Park - Haven
Address: Magdalene Fields, Berwick upon Tweed TD15 1NE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Berwick upon Tweed
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Berwick upon Tweed
Hotel Class:4 star — Berwick Holiday Park - Haven 4*
Number of rooms: 750
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Berwick Holiday Park is situated in Berwick upon Tweed in north Northumberland. We have holiday homes which are owned and holiday homes available to let. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Haven Berwick Holiday Park Hotel Berwick Upon Tweed

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing