We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of 11 Quay Walls

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Berwick upon Tweed
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
11 Quay Walls
Certificate of Excellence
Notts
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Perfect stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

We stayed at the Quays on a stop off for one night on our way up to Scotland. Derek was very welcoming and gave us some good advice on where to eat and the local area. Room was very clean and comfortable and had great view. Breakfast was fantastic. ENjoyed our stay very much and would definately recommend. :)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ladyholmes68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    219
    26
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
24
134
17
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2012

We stayed on a Saturday night in July having previously stayed 3 years ago. All rooms have undergone renovations and all are now en-suite with excellent top quality fittings and furnishings. The rooms are spacious, airy, tastefully and luxuriously decorated and superbly colour co-ordinated, with each one following a theme. Wi-Fi is easily accessed in the bedrooms, there is a tv/dvd player, hospitality tray and wonderful views from the bedrooms overlooking the River Tweed - a nice touch being the binoculars available in the room to watch the river activities, plus a DVD of the local area. The super king size bed in our room was superbly comfortable, and the best night’s sleep was had in a long while.

Breakfast is beautifully served on a large communal table which worked very well. There was plenty of choice, all cooked to a very high standard and set us up for the day ahead. Derek and Dianne are wonderful hosts, extremely welcoming, and are very knowledgeable about the town and surrounding area.

This guest house, where attention to detail is the order of the day, has to be the best we have stayed in and we hope to return very soon.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 66magpie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2012

We stayed at the quays the weekend gone. Can`t fault the hospitality tastefully and immaculately prepared room, gorgeous breakfast. Will defiantely be back!

Only comment for the traveller wanting a bit of quiet time perhaps seperate tables for breadfast!

Thanks to Derek and Dianne we were able to make the most of our visit.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank juder1_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtown St Boswells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2012

We stayed at 11 Quay walls last saturday night and we had a lovely time. The room was so stylish and the breakfast was fantastic. Nothing was too much trouble and derek gave us some good ideas for eating and drinking out. we will be back!!!

Room Tip: Book in advance as this B & B is so good that its bound to be booked up quickly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lisa d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south England
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012

What a good find. Comfortable accommodation with good views. All bedrooms face the river. The hosts Diane and Derek were very welcoming. The room was tastefully furnished with modern ideas. Hosts were willing to offer suggestions to: Where can we eat? What time do the buses go?
Breakfast was very good, lots of choice, freshly cooked. Only comment is that I would have liked some sort of fruit.

Room Tip: All 3 rooms were similar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank golfer2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights in April and can honestly say it's the best B&B I have stayed in! The room we had faced the harbour and had recently been refurbished along with the bathroom which was an excellent standard. It was also very spacious and the bed was huge and very comfortable.

the hosts were exceptional in their attention to detail and the breakfast was delicious. We plan to go back next year to visit relatives and will definitely re-book.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chariot21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lake district, england
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

Ist time of visiting this particular establishment and have already booked to return. Diane & Derek are lovely hosts firstly and their home is a credit to them. We were in the Africa theme ensuite bedroom on the front of the house which overlooks the estuary. Everything that you would need was provided in the room and infact there was little extras that only come with much more expensive 'hotels'. You wrote down what you would like for the following mornings breakfast and it was wonderful! There was six people staying and we sat together. All had varied choices and all was thoroughly enjoyed. I was shown a different themed room before we left and I phoned and booked that room on returning home. We visit Berwick a few times a year to following our Speedway team and this place is the best that we have found. Looking forward to returning.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank starrynights
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berwick upon Tweed hotels
0.0 mi away
Queens Head Hotel
Queens Head Hotel
#1 of 3 in Berwick upon Tweed
4.5 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
2.7 mi away
Marshall Meadows Country House Hotel
Marshall Meadows Country House H...
#2 of 3 in Berwick upon Tweed
4.5 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Walls Bed and Breakfast
The Walls Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 51 in Berwick upon Tweed
5.0 of 5 bubbles 522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
No 11B Boutique
No 11B Boutique
#5 of 51 in Berwick upon Tweed
4.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kings Arms Hotel
Kings Arms Hotel
#23 of 51 in Berwick upon Tweed
4.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
0.0 mi away
YHA Berwick
YHA Berwick
#3 of 11 in Berwick upon Tweed
4.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 11 Quay Walls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 11 Quay Walls

Property: 11 Quay Walls
Address: Quay Walls 11 Quay Walls, Berwick upon Tweed TD15 1HB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Berwick upon Tweed
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Berwick upon Tweed
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 18th Century Georgian Grade 11 building overlooking the River Tweed.All rooms overlook the river and have stunning views of the famous bridges as well as observing all the activities associated with the river:swans, salmon fishermen, rowers and bird life. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing