We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“chef cannot make tartare sauce”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Lindisfarne Inn
lanarkshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“chef cannot make tartare sauce”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

we are frequent visitors to lindesfarne. visited on 14th october food was fine but my daughter had scampie and tartare sauce looked like a dollop of porrage on the plate tasted awful too.have also noticed there seems to be very frequent staff changes

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mary m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PRO76, Front Office Manager at The Lindisfarne Inn, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Sorry to read your review. We will feed back to our chef about your comments, who has worked for our Inns for a long period of time. Our friendly team have been in place for a number of years now. We have a happy ship here. Hope to see you back again soon - if you let us know when you order that you prefer your tartare sauce runnier, just let us know and we will happily make it that way for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

585 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    281
    140
    75
    43
    46
See reviews for
136
280
23
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

both my wife and i decided to have Sunday lunch here on getting the meals there was hardly any veg in fact you could have put them on a table spoon and to say we spent £11 on the trio meal roast i was still hungry so we decided to give the crumble a try that also can out stone cold i returned these to the bar. Was told that they would bring out new ones when the said pudding arrived they was the same ones being that both myself and wife had eaten a small amount before returning them to the bar the waiter first could find the people they belong to and then put them down in front of us. That was ok as i was eating with my wife but if had been with someone else we wasn't no know whos plate we had before and they didn't know would never eat here again. To top it off it Cost £40 for 2 drinks 2 Sunday lunches and to puddings very over priced

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shaun b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PRO76, Front Office Manager at The Lindisfarne Inn, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
We were a little surprised by your review as we usually get comments that our portions are overly generous. Certainly when I have recommended friends and speaking to people who have enjoyed our carvery - especially the Trio of meats – a very ample portion for £11.75, that is the feedback we get! But i will feed this back. We are not a chain pub. Our food is home made and cooked to order, hence it may be pricier than the likes of a certain chain beginning with W. Our drinks and food are on a par - if not cheaper - than similar establishments locally., at £9.75 for a traditional beef, pork or chicken carvery and £5.95 fro children’s portions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013 via mobile

Found this place by chance on our way back to hagerston castle where we were staying for the week.we saw it and thought it looked quite nice. We were not to be dissapointed great food great service and very understanding of having a young child.the anti pasti board was amazing and so was the veg tartlet not one but two.we all enjoyed it that much we even went back for lunch.as we are staying again next year we will deff pay this restaurant another visit.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank TopTravleller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PRO76, Public Relations Manager at The Lindisfarne Inn, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Great to hear you've discovered us - we hope to welcome you back again very soon. We're very close to the Holiday Park which is handy for people staying there looking to head out for a nice meal out. Thanks for the five stars too. ;D
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford
Level Contributor
66 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

We tend to frequently follow the recommendations on Tripadvisor so had a meal here whilst staying nearby last week. The location is good being at the junction of the A1 and the road to Holy Island, the staff were polite and friendly. Two of our party chose the gammon, one of them to be fair was fine, the other was not, it was firstly returned to be further cooked, then returned as tough and inedible. A replacement meal however was forthcoming, so I maybe shouldn't be too harsh as the staff dealt with what maybe a one off properly. The other food was OK, we did also notice however, that the waitress on serving other meals near us tried to deliver meals to the incorrect tables on four or five occasions!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CREMM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PRO76, Public Relations Manager at The Lindisfarne Inn, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Sorry for the delay in replying - I have been checking with our team about your comments so I can make the correct response.

We do find it difficult that when two people had the gammon, that one of the two was tough and inedible, when they are sourced from the same supplier and cooked identically. Because we weren't told that one of your party was unhappy with the gammon we did not know there was a problem. Nor did your party member mention there was a problem with the replacement meal so we would have had to assume this meal was ok too.

We do have some new team members, but they know their jobs and are hard working and pleasant. We really do find it pretty difficult to believe that they delivered meals to incorrect tables on four or five occasions, as you observe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Milton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

After trying unsuccessfully every hotel on Holy Island for accommodation I booked here. it turned out to be a good place to stay. My room was well decorated and very clean and I have never slept in such a large bed. The staff were friendly and helpful and the atmosphere in the pub was warm and cosy. My only complaint would be the artificial smell of air freshener in the bed room and the blaring tv in the dining room.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ann a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PRO76, Public Relations Manager at The Lindisfarne Inn, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Thank you very much for the review and the five stars. We're delighted you've found us - and we hope you'll come back to stay again soon. We don't usually have the television on in the dining room, unless a guest requests to watch it, or for business meetings, but I will certainly feed back your comments - and also about the air freshener.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

This Inn was superb, The 20 rooms were in a converted stable block superbly designed with on-suit bathrooms. Clean "WHITE" fluffy towels every day(5 star) Plenty of parking with disabled position. Staff very very good.
The restaurant was large and comfortable, outdoor tables when weather permits.
Breakfasts Excellent, Evening Dinner Excellent and reasonable price.
It is situated at Beal only 2 miles from Holy Island. Good centre for touring around and boat trip to Farne Islands. Will be going again later this year.

PS. I don't think I should be giving this secret away.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 6 on ground floor, but i'm sure all rooms will be as excellent as ours.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Keith1937
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PRO76, Public Relations Manager at The Lindisfarne Inn, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
What a lovely review - thank you so much. Not only for the five stars but for sharing such a good secret! x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

Just returned from 2 night stay. Rooms very clean. Staff very friendly. Now we've stopped here quite s few times now and I have to say that breakfast is letting them down. It used be excellent, now sorry it is just passable. I hope that management sort this out ASAP. The staff are great and very friendly but the food is letting down the whole package. One last thing replace the CRT 14" tv's for god sake !! Put in 32" LCD wall mounted.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank s70rmp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PRO76, Public Relations Manager at The Lindisfarne Inn, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
We're delighted to welcome back many repeat visitors. Breakfast is usually great - we get lots of praise for it.... We will feed your comments back and I am sure next time you stay you'll enjoy a cracking breakfast fit for a king to set you up for the day. Comments duly reported re the TVs!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Berwick upon Tweed
16.4 mi away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
8.8 mi away
Purdy Lodge
Purdy Lodge
#1 of 1 in Belford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
10.1 mi away
Marshall Meadows Country House Hotel
Marshall Meadows Country House H...
#2 of 3 in Berwick upon Tweed
4.5 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Queens Head Hotel
Queens Head Hotel
#1 of 3 in Berwick upon Tweed
4.5 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
13.8 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,164 reviews
0.6 mi away
Eat & Sleep Lindisfarne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lindisfarne Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lindisfarne Inn

Property: The Lindisfarne Inn
Address: Beal | Berwickshire, Berwick upon Tweed TD15 2PD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Berwick upon Tweed
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Berwick upon Tweed
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lindisfarne Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcoming, great value three-star inn with accommodation in Northumberland. 22 en-suite rooms, free WiFi, complimentary Northumberland breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Lindisfarne Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lindisfarne Hotel Berwick Upon Tweed

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing