We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Winter Break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Lindisfarne Inn
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Winter Break”
Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for a 3 night break along with our grand daughter last weekend also our labrador. We arrived early and we were allowed to have our rooms which were very good a disabled room with a wet room also connecting door to the other room.All staff were very helpful all our stay standard of the food found to be of a high standard.
The hotel is ideally situated for touring the northern area of Northumberland.We will be back also considering staying over Christmas.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Harry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thorb1976, Public Relations Manager at The Lindisfarne Inn, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
We're really glad to hear you had a good time with us. Children and dogs too! We always do our best to meet guests' needs, so if we can get you into your rooms early, we do! Looking forward to seeing you at Christmas, it's a special time for us at the Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

603 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    289
    144
    78
    45
    47
See reviews for
147
283
25
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Having stayed here now 4 times I can say there is always a warm welcome. Rooms are clean and warm and the breakfast is always good. The staff are very helpful and Scott goes out of his way to make sure your stay is enjoyable. The wifi can be a little hit and miss but you can go into the bar to pick this up if you should need to access this. I will be back.

Room Tip: If you want to pick up the wifi room 2 on the ground floor is a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lstansbridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thorb1976, Public Relations Manager at The Lindisfarne Inn, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Thank you for your review - we're always glad to see you back - and thanks for taking the time to leave a review on TA for us. We value your feedback and the 5 stars too. WiFi in an old building can be iffy, but like you say, in the public areas, it works fine. Hope to see you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cramlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Break was booked by my son and daughter as a birthday present.
Stayed for two nights, 8th and 9th March.
Rooms are quite small, but large enough to use as a base for touring.
Very comfortable bed, good heating, and the shower in the en suite bathroom was excellent.
Staff are very friendly and sociable.
Meals are first class with a good menu choice. Helpings are quite large.
The Inn is ideally situated for for touring the many local sites. i.e Holy island, Etal Castle , Ford Castle, Bamburgh Castle, Dunstanburgh Castle, Flodden Field, Berwick etc and many many more.
I would recommend this to anyone.

Room Tip: We had a room near the back of accommodation block and found it very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank George T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thorb1976, Public Relations Manager at The Lindisfarne Inn, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Thank you for a very fair review. Much appreciate and we hope to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2013

My friend and I stayed for 2 nights a couple of weekends ago. We received a wonderful warm welcome and shown to a lovely comfortable room, even the dog was welcomed! We ate both nights in the restaurant and the food and service both absolutely fab! Breakfast also great and taken in a nice relaxed environment. I would recommend this hotel highly for exploring this area, and because of the excellent service we received, it was First Class!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thorb1976, Public Relations Manager at The Lindisfarne Inn, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Your review is great reading and has made us smile! Thank you - and we're toasting the five stars too! Many thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

This Inn is superb value for a winter 3 night stay. Costing only £119 each for a double room, breakfast, and a 2 course evening meal. Situated on the side of the A1 it is ideally suited to visit Holy Island, and is mid way between Alnwick and Edinborough. The rooms are fairly small but very clean and modern, and I didnt hear any traffic noise from the A1 at all. The food for both breakfast and evening meals are absolutely excellent, and the portions are very generous, all served promptly and with a smile from the very helpful staff. My only dissapointment was that in our room, we were unable to use the free wi fi, but it was available everywhere else within the Inn. There is no doubt that we will be visiting again next year.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thorb1976, Public Relations Manager at The Lindisfarne Inn, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Thank you very much for your review - and for the five stars too! We will make it clear on the website that the free Wi-Fi is only accessible in parts of the inn, but it can be accessed from the public areas. Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We stopped here for a bite to eat at lunchtime as it was convenient, for 2 drinks, 2 sandwiches and a portion of chips we paid £21. Considering later that night at a different establishment we had 4 drinks, a starter and 2 main courses for only a few pounds more, we thought the Lindisfarne quite expensive! We had no complaints about the food though, and the service was excellent. We had to ask for cutlery and serviettes, but it wasn't really an issue.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emilykf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thorb1976, Public Relations Manager at The Lindisfarne Inn, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Glad we're OK, but we want you to think we were excellent! Our prices are in line with other establishments - in fact we're cheaper than many. All our food is cooked to order and home made where possible. Our sandwiches are very ample, not just your usual triangles. Our winter break deal is excellent value. Hope you come back to enjoy it again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
173 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2013

This is the third time we have taken a half term trip to Northumberland. This inn sits on the A1 essentially at the top of the causeway road leading to Holy Island. It is primarily an Inn with a restaurant and bar area, and most folks seem to eat with few using it like a Pub and just drinking. A 3 night DBB stay cost 119£ each and nothing for children other than their food.
The food was delicious . A mixture of the usual pub fayre such as burgers and Steak Pie, but also things like Salmon and Haddock with sweet chilli sauce. Service was excellent. Beer choices are good with local beers.
Rooms are amazingly warm despite sub zero temperatures. In short for a winter break cannot be bettered.
food is also very fairly priced if one was popping in for a meal

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beesbeesbees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thorb1976, Public Relations Manager at The Lindisfarne Inn, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
We're loving your review - and we think it says it all about what we are, and what we do! Cheers! And thank you for the five stars too. Come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Berwick upon Tweed
8.8 mi away
Purdy Lodge
Purdy Lodge
#1 of 1 in Belford
370 reviews
10.1 mi away
Marshall Meadows Country House Hotel
Marshall Meadows Country House H...
#2 of 3 in Berwick upon Tweed
454 reviews
20.9 mi away
The Hog's Head Inn
The Hog's Head Inn
#4 of 5 in Alnwick
507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.4 mi away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
8.4 mi away
Travelodge Berwick upon Tweed
Travelodge Berwick upon Tweed
#3 of 3 in Berwick upon Tweed
290 reviews
13.8 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
1,202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lindisfarne Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lindisfarne Inn

Property: The Lindisfarne Inn
Address: Beal | Berwickshire, Berwick upon Tweed TD15 2PD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Berwick upon Tweed
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Berwick upon Tweed
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lindisfarne Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcoming, great value three-star inn with accommodation in Northumberland. 22 en-suite rooms, free WiFi, complimentary Northumberland breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Lindisfarne Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lindisfarne Hotel Berwick Upon Tweed

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing