We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a find!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Lindisfarne Inn
Newcastle
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“What a find!”
Reviewed January 22, 2013

Having recently returned from an overnight 'girls only walking' stay at this gem of an Inn, I feel it only fair to share this discovery with everyone who enjoys comfort, cleanliness, kindness, fabulous food and ambience, outstanding value for money, good ale and staff who are all eager to please and ensure you have a relaxing break. My friends and I have all re-booked with our partners after feeling a little guilty to have enjoyed such a lovely break without them! We will also be returning on a regular basis as it would be rude not to! Anyone in need of resuscitation after Christmas need only to book up at the Lindisfarne Inn to feel 'back to normal' in no time!
Fab-u-lous! :)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pattie359
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thorb1976, Public Relations Manager at The Lindisfarne Inn, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Your review has put a smile on our faces - thank you for the lovely feedback. Please come and stay again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

610 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    291
    145
    81
    46
    47
See reviews for
150
286
25
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 16, 2013

We had a lovely stay in a lovely clean room with polite welcoming staff.

Unfortunately we were not informed that on the Winter break deal there is a £15 limit on the food. Even though we checked the package price on 2 occasions before our stay and on arrival and it doesn't say anything on the website or on anything advertising the deal.

We were also told on the first night that we didn't have to pay for our daughters meals and when the bill came at the end of our stay all 3 meals were on there.

It just goes to show that the winter break deal is too good to be true.

I have left it a few weeks to write this review so I could calm down as I couldn't fault the hotel, it was comfortable and clean. I just hate being lied to and ripped off!!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Princessissy10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thorb1976, Public Relations Manager at The Lindisfarne Inn, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Thanks for the positive comments, but we really would like to stress that our winter break offer is not designed to rip any one off and our staff most certainly do not lie to anyone about this package.

We explain very clearly and verbally that included in the dinner, bed and breakfast rate guest have a £15 allocation towards their evening meal. An average starter or pud is £4 while an average main course is £11. Our staff are all trained in the package and it is explained to all guests on arrival that they have this allocation and that if they opt for three courses or select meals that take them over the £15 allocation than they pay for that extra charge.

Children aged 12 and under STAY for FREE and receive a free breakfast, however they do not dine for free. This too is explained on check in and we would never tell a guest that their child's evening meal would be free. The average child's meal is £4.95.

The above is all explained clearly on check in to make sure guests are fully aware of this offer. It is a matter of personal choice whether or not they choose to go above the allocation, which covers the majority of the menu if opting for two courses.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
115 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

We ended up going to this place because everything was closed on Holy Island for an early evening meal. As the menu mainly consisted of traditional pub grub we decided to go for the safe options and ordered steak and ale pie and bangers and mash. Both arrived within a short while but were, unfortunately, barely edible. Both meals came with the same tasteless and completely unseasoned veg side. The Brussels sprouts were grey but hardly boiled, the green beans tasted like they were straight from the freezer/MW. The steak and ale pie was slightly better than the bangers and mash but the gravy was cold and there was not enough mash for my liking. There was also a thick lump in the gravy - it had obviously been standing and had thickened too much. My sausages were cooked but have certainly not seen a frying pan. They were totally pale and half cold. The same gravy - too thick and tasteless. My portion of mash was also tiny - could hardly see it under the sausages.

We briefly considered sending the food back but realized that we would not have time to wait for things to change. Also, the two meals were so bad that we had little hope that anything coming from this kitchen would please us.

Maybe we have been unlucky - people on another table seemed happy with their meals although there probably is little you can get wrong with burgers and sticky toffee pudding.

We will certainly not be back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank a-zonemaastricht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thorb1976, Public Relations Manager at The Lindisfarne Inn, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Oh dear.... that's a shame to hear. Our steak and ale pie is made in large trays which we cut into generous portion sizes. It is my favourite dish on the menu and is delicious. When we read your review we did think it odd because surely if it had been as tasteless as you state other customers would have complained about it too. We genuinely have receieved nothing but positive comments... Our veg is fresh not frozen and is never microwaved.

The sausages in the sausages and mash are oven cooked. We do not fry any of the sausages at breakfast, lunch or evening meals. As to whether there was enough mash that has to be a personal preference as again, no one ever complains and we serve BIG portions. Perhaps not big enough for some.....

We can categorically state that there is no way that the meals will have been served cold. All meat products are temperature checked before leaving the kitchen.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

We have stopped at this hotel 3 or 4 times as is in an excellent location for holy island and considerably cheaper than stopping on the island which we have also done.
The winter break price of £44.50 per person bed and breakfast is excellent value. It includes food up to £15 per person which got us soup and a main meal but with no money to spare.
The food was ok but if I had paid £30 for the meals I would have considered them overpriced and I wouldn't have been very happy.
The breakfast was good
All the staff are very nice and very helpful.
We will continue to visit the hotel in the future and totally recommend it

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank b12ywe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thorb1976, Public Relations Manager at The Lindisfarne Inn, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Thank you for the review and five stars - our winter break prices are fantastic value and they last until March 31st too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

This is our third stay. It is a fantastic place to stay for a short break. The staff are really good , so friendly and attentive. Its a great base for visiting Holy Island. We only live 70 miles away but we love the Island and like to visit at different times of the year .We often have stayed on the Island but we would strongly recommend people to try this accomodation . Thank you again for making our short stay so relaxing. Deborah & Bryan

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tomkinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thorb1976, Public Relations Manager at The Lindisfarne Inn, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
What a lovely review from lovely people. Many thanks - we hope to see you again soon. We're the home from home choice for lots of repeat guests. Come and try us out if you haven;t already!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

This was our first visit to the Lindisfarne Inn we booked a Winter Break between Christmas & New Year. We chose the Inn having read some reviews on Trip Advisor and also we like Northumberland as a desintation for a short break.

The rooms are in the old stables behind the Inn and are warm and cosy. Our room was on the first floor and although the Inn is situated on the A1 there is very little noise from passing traffic. With the Winer Break option dinner is included for a value of up to £15.00 per person which is generous as this covers most 2 course options (i.e starter & main or main & a pudding). The food was very good wholesome fayre. We would stay here again or call for a meal if in the area.

Whilst we were there we visited Berwick on Tweed, Bamburgh for a nice walk on the beach and also Lindisfarne (Holy Island). A word of warning to anyone visiting Holy Island check the tide times we visited on the Saturday when the causeway was open till 13.15 we left 12.30ish and due to wnd & changes of tide the causway flooded early stranding some people for up to 5 hours. So best to leave early not to be caught out.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chalwhick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thorb1976, Public Relations Manager at The Lindisfarne Inn, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Our winter breaks are brilliant and excellent value - glad you've found us. We hope you come and stay again soon.

Tide tables to one of the UK's mosyt unique island's are located in the bar area - or just ask a member of staff. We don;t want anyone getting stranded on the island - beautiful as it is!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2012

This is a belated review for the Lindisfarne Inn as we were at the Inn on December the 8th. It all started a few months before as we called in purely by chance for a bite to eat after a game of golf in Berwick. At the time there was four of us ( 2 couples ) and as I said we called in on chance for a bite to eat, while we were waiting for the food to arrive we noticed a flyer on the table that was advertising an evening with Brendan Healey- a comedian - a 3 course meal all for £35, and if you wanted to stay for the night it was an extra £25 for bed and breakfast per person. Good value we thought, and something different, my wife and I had seen Brendan at Hexham Queens hall when he did an half an hour slot in between the Junco partners ( a group ), so we knew he was very funny.

We decided to book 2 rooms and come for the show on the strength of the meals we had on that first trip, I cannot remember what I had but I do know that it was pretty good. Actually all four of us were delighted with the standard of the food as I suppose with it being on the main A1 you might think that it would just be typical motorway food - not very nice and expensive! Nothing could be further from the truth, from the very pleasant staff to the choice of food you will not be disappointed, even like us if your just calling in on speck.

Come the night of the show, where do I begin, a very warm welcome from the staff, a warm, very roomy room and a fabulous meal followed by a fantastic night of comedy. Brendan was telling jokes for about an hour, took a 20 minute break and came back and did over an hour of jokes, some you may have heard before but I dare you not to come away with your sides hurting from laughing so much. Then when you eventually get to your lovely warm room, you can curl up in your Queen size bed and relax and sleep well. The facilities in your room are excellent, no complaints, plenty of room to swing a cat - if you like that sort of thing - and the shower was superb.

Breakfast now and we are wondering is this going to be the one down side, I mean how do you follow such a wonderful meal from the night before? Well unfortunately I have nothing bad to say about the breakfast, it was served up at our table piping hot and plenty of it. For people who have read our reviews you will know we are always fair and I can honestly say if your are ever in the area please, please call into the Lindisfarne as it is something special, I cannot praise the place or the staff highly enough and would think that it would never get a bad review. Use the Inn to explore the wonderful countryside and beaches around Northumberland and you are only a 15 minute drive away from Berwick. What are you waiting for?? Do it now!!

Room Tip: All the rooms are similar I think.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LindznMue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thorb1976, Public Relations Manager at The Lindisfarne Inn, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
We loved your review - thank you so much! Hope you come and see us again soon. We're hoping Brendan will be making a return and we've more entertainment packages in the pipeline, so keep an eye out for them. We were delighted to feature in Golf Monthly recently too, as we're a real gem of a place for golfers too, with so many great courses on the doorstep. And we pride ourselves on definitely NOT serving motorway food! Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Berwick upon Tweed
8.8 mi away
Purdy Lodge
Purdy Lodge
#1 of 1 in Belford
372 reviews
10.1 mi away
Marshall Meadows Country House Hotel
Marshall Meadows Country House H...
#2 of 3 in Berwick upon Tweed
455 reviews
20.9 mi away
The Hog's Head Inn
The Hog's Head Inn
#4 of 5 in Alnwick
508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.4 mi away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
8.4 mi away
Travelodge Berwick upon Tweed
Travelodge Berwick upon Tweed
#3 of 3 in Berwick upon Tweed
290 reviews
13.8 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
1,203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lindisfarne Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lindisfarne Inn

Property: The Lindisfarne Inn
Address: Beal | Berwickshire, Berwick upon Tweed TD15 2PD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Berwick upon Tweed
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Berwick upon Tweed
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lindisfarne Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcoming, great value three-star inn with accommodation in Northumberland. 22 en-suite rooms, free WiFi, complimentary Northumberland breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Lindisfarne Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lindisfarne Hotel Berwick Upon Tweed

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing