We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fabulous accommodation”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cottage ground floor Cottage kitchen out to east facing rear dining terrace and private courtyard
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
9 reviews
Cottage ground floor
Cottage kitchen out to east facing rear dining terrace and private courtyard
The Cottage to the left with the School Master's House
Cocklawburn Beach within walking distance or a short cycle ride or drive by car
Luxury sitting room in the Retreat
Coast and Cadtle cycle route close by. Bike storage provided at the Retreat
Open plan bedroom and dressing room
Light and airy Dressing room on balcony
King size bed with Egyptian cotton linen
Bamburgh beach 15 minute drive form the Retreat
En suite bathroom with rain shower over bath
Full length bath in the ensuite
Holy Island of Lindisfarne 10 minute drive from the Retreat
Terrace to rear of Cottage
Breakfast on the Cottage terrace
Farne Islands boat trips 20 minute drive from the Retreat
Alnwick Castle 30 minute drive from the Retreat
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Berwick upon Tweed, Northumberland, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
snowtoes2...
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Fabulous accommodation”
Reviewed February 14, 2017 for a stay in February 2017
1
person found this review helpful

The accommodation decor has been done tastefully and to a high spec
Clean warm and inviting
We needed for nothing during our stay
Rosalinda and David were very helpful
Will def recommend

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily H
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lovely peaceful cottage”
Reviewed December 20, 2016 for a stay in December 2016

This cottage was beautiful, clean and peaceful. We had a lovely weekend visiting Berwick Upon Tweed, Holy Island, Bamburgh & Seahouses. I wish we had booked for longer to explore more of Northumberland's amazing coastline. The loacation of this cottage is perfect if you want a peaceful holiday and are happy to drive to various places (the nearest beach was a 5 min drive) however if you want somewhere a big lively or even a pub near by within walking distance I wouldn't recommend. I would definitely recommend visiting Bamburgh and seahouses as they are picturesque villages, whereas Berwick upon tweed is very lively with lots of shops, and cafes. But overall We had a fabulous relaxing weekend away, just what we needed! Thankyou!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter1961...
Huddersfield
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“First Class Accomodation”
Reviewed September 30, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

I have to say this is top of my list of any self catering accommodation I have used. It is extremely well equipped with good quality furnishings , roomy and very comfortable. A credit to the very pleasant owners ,who made us feel very welcome on our arrival. I personally can't see what else could be achieved to grade it as 5 Star. Highly recommend

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geraldine...
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great accommodation in a beautiful area”
Reviewed September 1, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

This cottage is extremely clean and the decor is very tasteful,it also feels very private. Delightful retreat.
Ros is very attentive and helpful.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DRB1983
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Superb find for a lovely holiday.”
Reviewed July 30, 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

WOW! What a good find this property turned out to be. Although the property is attached to the owners house there is a real feeling of privacy and a sense of having your own space. The property is fully equipped with everything that a couple could want to make a holiday thoroughly enjoyable. The living/sleeping space is very comfortable and the kitchen is fully equipped, my personal favorite was the rain shower in the bathroom. Both wife and I had an amazing time here and really do hope that we can return again soon. There is so much to see and do in Northumberland and this property is an absolutely perfect base from which to explore the county and beyond.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing