We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb guest house, excellent staff, very welcoming.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Berwick upon Tweed
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Granary Guest House
Certificate of Excellence
Doncaster
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Superb guest house, excellent staff, very welcoming.”
Reviewed February 24, 2009

We recently stayed at the guest house due to a family wedding. The guest house is extremely clean & high spec.
The guest house feels very intimate, warm & extremely homely.
The owners collected us from the railway station & made us feel very much at home. The food & service provided was 1st class.
The rooms catered very well for all of our needs, complete with sky, tv, teasmaid, refrigerator & complimentary drinks etc, all finished to a very high standard.
The decor too, is excellent.
If you are staying in Berwick, you will find it difficult to get the same standard of guest house at such competitive prices too.
We found the place very good value. My wife & I are well travelled & can perhaps be a little critical, but the granary guest house deserves a compliment.
If we ever return to Berwick, I will look no further, & will repeat our stay.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank scarabesque58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

453 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    448
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
23
358
14
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 27, 2008

We agree with the other reviews - David and Pam have created something wonderful here. We also booked in for the pre-dinner massage. This was a great bonus and ensured that we had a very relaxing evening. Breakfast is one of the best.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Seaviewer20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anonymous
1 review
Reviewed October 26, 2008

We booked and stayed one night at the start of a long weekend off work and enjoyed it so much we went back 2 nights later. Pam and David are welcoming hosts and have an establishment to be proud of. The cleanliness was exceptional and the presentation very impressive. The breakfast was well presented and cooked to perfection. I would not hestitate in recommending this hotel.

  • Liked — The attention to detail
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank travellerAnonymous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2008

My husband and I stayed at the Granary for our honeymoon and it is quite simply the best guest house (or hotel) we have ever stayed in. Pam and David are lovely (attentive but not obtrusive), the rooms are sumptuous (fantastic linen, plump pillows), and the food is wonderful (vanilla porridge! smoked trout & delectable scrambled eggs!). The attention to detail is perfect and we can't recommend this place highly enough - you will not be disappointed!

  • Liked — Everything -- it was fantastic
  • Disliked — Nothing - it was perfect
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank MrsMJC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
1 review
Reviewed September 14, 2008

We stayed at the Granary House Hotel for three nights. We were with friends and we can't praise Pam and Dave enough. The hotel is beautiful and the attention to detail is second to none. The rooms are excellent, great showers, breakfast is wonderful. We would not hesitate to recommend this hotel. We didn't want to leave!

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — n
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BonvoyageEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2008

Not much can be added to what has already been said here really,The Granary Guest House is superb in every way.

For those people who can find guest houses a little bit too "intimate"
(like me),put your fears aside, the owners of The Granary are extremely friendly and helpful, but never to the point of being stifling.

Rooms are of the highest quality, tastefully decorated and furnished with great attention to detail. This is also one of the cleanest places I have ever stayed in.

Of particular note is breakfast,absolutely top quality, far better than most hotels you will stay in and a great deal more sophisticated than you might expect from a "mere" guest house.

Overall,I would recommend The Granary without hesitation.

  • Liked — Friendliness,Breakfast,Quality of room
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Byronscrote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle
2 reviews
Reviewed August 14, 2008

stayed there on the 7th & 8th of august and i must say the quality of the rooms and decor is second to none. The breakfast is lovely with a selection of cereals,beautifully presented fruit and a cooked breakfast witch was perfect. After arriving back in the evening from a funeral i was pleasantly supprised at the chocolates layed on the bed witch we did not expect. These little finishing touches were a nice surprise . I would recomend this beautiful b&b and give it 10 out of 10 . Hope to be back soon!

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank alimoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berwick upon Tweed hotels
0.0 mi away
Queens Head Hotel
Queens Head Hotel
#1 of 3 in Berwick upon Tweed
414 reviews
2.7 mi away
Marshall Meadows Country House Hotel
Marshall Meadows Country House H...
#2 of 3 in Berwick upon Tweed
472 reviews
1.0 mi away
Travelodge Berwick upon Tweed
Travelodge Berwick upon Tweed
#3 of 3 in Berwick upon Tweed
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Walls Bed and Breakfast
The Walls Bed and Breakfast
#2 of 46 in Berwick upon Tweed
577 reviews
3.5 mi away
West Longridge Manor
West Longridge Manor
#3 of 46 in Berwick upon Tweed
354 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kings Arms Hotel
Kings Arms Hotel
#27 of 46 in Berwick upon Tweed
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Granary Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Granary Guest House

Property: Granary Guest House
Address: 11 Bridge Street, Berwick upon Tweed TD15 1ES, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Berwick upon Tweed
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in Berwick upon Tweed
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautifully restored Georgian townhouse,centrally located in the historic Elizabethan town of Berwick upon Tweed. The Granary is a newly established 5 star Gold award winning stylish boutique and contemporary luxury bed and breakfast/guesthouse with free private parking in the courtyard garden.The Granary is dated as far back as Tudor times of the 1600's and is located in Bridge Street the oldest in town. In the 1850's a rather graceful Georgian cantilever staircase was added to her beautiful decor delivering relaxation to this lovely family townhouse from your footstep entry until your departure. The Granary Guest House aims are simple. We provide customer service of excellence while maintaining guest privacy. Provide a relaxed environment for all who stay. Serve the finest breakfast imaginable using locally sourced/organic ingredients. We are now listed in the Michelin Guide 2016. Altogether a truly memorable stay. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Granary Guest House Hotel Berwick Upon Tweed

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing