We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Berwick upon Tweed
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Granary Guest House
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 30, 2013

My booking at the Granary Guest House was based on a friends excellent recommendation. The service was incredible the entire stay. David was kind enough to provide a lift to and from the train station. Pam and David certainly take a tremendous amount of pride in the guest house and it shows in their service, outstanding food, and the condition of the accommodations. The breakfast consisted of the freshest ingredients from the region and cooked wonderfully. In a charming town this place is a real gem.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scott T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (464)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

264 - 270 of 464 reviews

Reviewed March 25, 2013

After much research we booked and visited the granary as a treat for our wedding anniversary. Arriving in freezing cold weather - we can only say the very warm welcome we received from Pam more than made up for the Arctic conditions. We were shown to the Dream suite - after Pam very kindly carried our luggage up the stairs - a very rare service these days! Absolutely spotless!! complimentary wine chilling in the fridge - and other lovely extra touches that made the treat even more special. We indulged in a 90 minute hot stone massage from David and Dawn - wonderful!! fully recommend this to anyone who stays. We booked into the Magna Indian restaurant for an evening meal- good food and only a few steps away from the Granary. Returning to the Granary we were asleep within minutes of our heads hitting the pillow. Breakfast was fantastic - beautiful food beautifully cooked and served. Only criticism, the weather- snow and freezing winds - but we could not expect Pam or David to work that miracle! Worthy of all the wonderful reviews - thank you - We will be back....... soon!!

Room Tip: I have no doubt that the standard of all rooms are all first class! My husband has mobility problems...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank E_IUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

My wife and I revisited the Granary and were delighted that the high standard that we had enjoyed was maintained. Pam & David are excellent hosts and did everything to ensure we had an enjoyable stay. If you are visiting Berwick you would be foolish to stay anywhere else!!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank grunty_david
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

I simply can not say enough about this B&B. It is a real gem! It isn't the cheapest of B&Bs... but my goodness, you get value for money. We were met from the train station; greeted with freshly brewed coffee, homemade cake and chocolates; and then the mini fridge had complimentary chocolates, wine, mineral water and fresh milk.... along with the usual hospitality tray. The bed was gorgeous, shower beautiful and there were lovely smelly organic toiletries (including perfume) to make use of. The only thing better than all of this was the warmth of welcome and great cooking. Book your trip now!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Louise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed in the Dream Suite on a long weekend.

It’s difficult to add what has already been said in their excellent reviews so far. The suite, with its palatial bathroom is excellent. The breakfasts, from the artistic fruit platters to the organic local produce in the hot options that followed (we tried the Full Scottish Breakfasts and the Eggs Benedict with Trout during our stay), were delicious and enough to keep you going until the evening. When the breakfast starts to ‘wear off’, The Granary is situated in the area of Berwick that has many good evening meal options within five minutes walk, as is the Maltings Theatre.

Being people that usually have stays in self catering apartments or more impersonal large hotels, the number of reviews that referred to how helpful and friendly Pam and Dave were began to worry us in a strange “are we going to be left alone?” type of way. We can confirm that we needn’t have worried and that Pam and Dave are a lovely couple, who will give you recommendations on the area if you ask for them and find out anything that they cannot answer. They will speak to you as friends rather than clients and certainly won’t ‘overpower’ your stay. We were sorry to leave at the end of our break and should we return to the Borders, we know where to contact.

Finally, unlike the other rare occasions that we have stayed in Bed & Breakfasts, we were not ‘lobbied’ into writing a review for Tripadvisor. Perhaps the greatest compliment that we can give is that, after years of using T/A for hotel and restaurant recommendations, this stay has prompted us to register and write our first review.

Thanks again Pam and Dave and all the best for the future.
Paul & Sharron

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tipper1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

My partner and I spent a long weekend at the Granary. It was excellent.
The breakfasts were wonderful and the service was fantastic. The owners are friendly and VERY helpful. It was a joy to stay there.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travellerfortwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

From the first email enquiry through to check out-the hospitality was first class. Lovely decor throughout and great attention to detail covering everything you could possibly wish for when away from home. Breakfast was first class, we had both Eggs benedict and Full Organic Scottish and both were superb. We will definitely be returning for another visit and highly recommend The Granary to anyone who wants high quality, great service and spoiled from start to finish at reasonable prices

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berwick upon Tweed hotels
1.2 mi away
Travelodge Berwick upon Tweed
Travelodge Berwick upon Tweed
#3 of 3 in Berwick upon Tweed
319 reviews
2.7 mi away
Marshall Meadows Country House Hotel
Marshall Meadows Country House H...
#2 of 3 in Berwick upon Tweed
493 reviews
0.0 mi away
Queens Head Hotel
Queens Head Hotel
#1 of 3 in Berwick upon Tweed
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Walls Bed and Breakfast
The Walls Bed and Breakfast
#2 of 45 in Berwick upon Tweed
618 reviews
3.2 mi away
West Longridge Manor
West Longridge Manor
#3 of 45 in Berwick upon Tweed
364 reviews
0.3 mi away
No 11B Boutique
No 11B Boutique
#7 of 45 in Berwick upon Tweed
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Granary Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Granary Guest House

Address: 11 Bridge Street, Berwick upon Tweed TD15 1ES, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Berwick upon Tweed
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Berwick upon Tweed
Price Range: $119 - $158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautifully restored Georgian townhouse,centrally located in the historic Elizabethan town of Berwick upon Tweed. The Granary is a newly established 5 star Gold award winning stylish boutique and contemporary luxury bed and breakfast/guesthouse with free private parking in the courtyard garden.The Granary is dated as far back as Tudor times of the 1600's and is located in Bridge Street the oldest in town. In the 1850's a rather graceful Georgian cantilever staircase was added to her beautiful decor delivering relaxation to this lovely family townhouse from your footstep entry until your departure. The Granary Guest House aims are simple. We provide customer service of excellence while maintaining guest privacy. Provide a relaxed environment for all who stay. Serve the finest breakfast imaginable using locally sourced/organic ingredients. We are now listed in the Michelin Guide 2016. Altogether a truly memorable stay. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Granary Guest House Hotel Berwick Upon Tweed

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing