We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (128)
Filter reviews
128 results
Traveler rating
120
5
2
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
120
5
2
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslovely homewarm welcomeb and bcomplimentary sherrylook forward to a return visitbeautiful propertycoffee and tea facilitieslovely hostslittle touchesfriendly ownerslight sleeperholy islandonly stayed one nightfabulous staybase for exploringgarden roomsun trap
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 128 reviews
Reviewed August 4, 2018

Shared the twin en route to catch our ferry. Just a lovely spot. Every wee touch thought of. Very comfortable beds. Excellent breakfast menu catering for all tastes. Charming garden. Lovely hosts. Wee sherry before dinner. Lovely house with antiques and squishy sofas. Fab. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2018, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 831sasha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2018

Rolled up to the old rectory for a wedding in Bamburgh. Super hosts Annette and Keith provided all we could have asked for....fabulous house, super cool interior with some great features and best of all, super breakfast to ward off the night before. Many thanks to you both...kindest regards the Sunderland Folk.....x

Room Tip: Twin room has cool bathroom!
Stayed: July 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank 341roda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monn53, Owner at The Old Vicarage Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2018

Thank you, Rod and Katya. You were a delight to look after and we hope you come back and visit us again sometime in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2018

We loved our stay at the Old Vicarage. It's an absolutely beautiful renovation and the rooms are incredible. The hosts were extremely welcoming and laid on a magnificent breakfast in the morning. We felt like royalty! Also, we had a view of the graveyard next door and I swear I saw a ghost around midnight. What more could you ask for?

  • Stayed: June 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Barney J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monn53, Owner at The Old Vicarage Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2018

Ha ha! A ghost? Now that would be something to talk about! Unfortunately we have not been blessed with any sightings so far!
Thank you for your lovely comments - it is very much appreciated, and we are delighted you enjoyed your breakfast.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2018 via mobile

We stayed one night at The Old Vicarage in Belford whilst doing a road trip of NE England. We received a warm welcome from Keith and Annette and were shown to our room (Armourer’s). It was a very cosy twin-bedded room with an adjoining private bathroom. Plenty of tea, coffee and biscuits, with a mini fridge containing a small jug of milk which I thought was a nice touch. The bath was Victorian with a rolltop and claw feet. Once I had mastered the taps and plug I had a relaxing bath, a rare treat for me as I just have a shower at home.

Our room looked out on to the churchyard. We had a walk round and went into the church. It was sad to see so many headstones commemorating young children, a stark reminder of the high infant mortality rates of the past. We had a tasty evening meal at the Black Swan, just a few yards away from the guest house.

We slept quite well but be aware, the church bell rings on the hour. It was not particularly bothersome unless you are a light sleeper.

Breakfast was very special with lots of choice. Breakfast pots of various types were on the menu but we stuck to the good old English selection.

Our hosts were very friendly, welcoming and informative. We would definitely stay at The Old Vicarage if we visit the area again.

Stayed: June 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank Rosamund M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monn53, Owner at The Old Vicarage Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2018

A very comprehensive review, Rosamund, thank you! We are very pleased you enjoyed the bath and breakfast as well as the village facilities.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2018 via mobile

Although we only stayed one night we know a great place to stay when we see one! We enjoyed chatting to Keith and Annette who were very friendly and welcoming. The breakfast was very good and has some interesting options you won’t see anywhere else! The location of the Old Vicarage is about 1 minute walk from the local pub for an evening meal and drink. Close to Lindesfarne and Seahouses it’s a good base for exploring the area.

Stayed: May 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank cdalziel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monn53, Owner at The Old Vicarage Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2018

Thank you for taking the time to post a review! We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews