We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Best!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Market Cross Guest House
Ranked #1 of 12 Belford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
East Yorkshire, U.K.
Level Contributor
107 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“The Best!”
Reviewed July 16, 2012

We stayed in the Red Room for two nights. All the facilities you could expect were on hand and the whole Guest House was spotlessly clean. Amanda and Steve had only been "Mine Hosts" for five weeks but they certainly know how to make you welcome; right down to the compimentary Sherry and local Mead. They are extremely attentive but not pushy.
Amanda's breakfasts were better than most of the five star hotels I have stayed in and we will definitely return.

Room Tip: They all look good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Utnapishtim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    268
    12
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
30
198
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2012

Me and my husband just retuned from a 2 night stay in the Red Room. It was perfect in every way and Amanda even arranged for us a chilled bottle of Prosecco in the room for our wedding anniversary, complimentary.

The room was stunning and had a large at screen tv on the wall, mini fridge, sofa and a coffee machine (the latter was a lovely touch). There was sherry and Lindisfarne Mead on the stairs for a night cap and tooth brushes in case you forgot (like me!).

The bed was really comfy! I could have slept in that forever and the bathroom was small but adequate with lots of sweet smelling toiletries on offer. The sink was outside the bathroom near the bed which was a little strange but not a problem.

The location is perfect for all the attractions in the area and the village itself is really pretty.

Breakfast was gorgeous! Amanda has a number of homemade foods on offer as well as the obligatory cooked breakfasts.

We would recommend The Blue Bell for Steak Night and The Salmon down the road was great for banter and a curry.

We would definitely return again - a great weekend, shame about the weather being so wet and windy!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheldrake79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Market Cross Guest House, responded to this review, June 29, 2012
Firstly I apologise for not being able to meet you but I just couldn't risk any guests catching the bug I had so missed you for your whole stay. But thank for this lovely review. It once again tells us we are doing it right. As regards the breakfast, next time you come Amanda will be baking her own bread and she is already putting home baked treats in the rooms instead of the usual packet biscuits. Glad you liked the coffee machine, just a bit extra we thought would be nice. We look forward to seeing you both again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2012

When we arrived at Market Cross we were immediately greeted by the new owners Steve and Amanda. We were amazed that they had only taken over 3 days previously. They were really friendly and welcoming from the moment we arrived. The attention to detail was second to none and nothing was too much trouble to ensure we had a really enjoyable and relaxing stay. We stayed in the red room which was beautiful and comfortable and the added touch of a new Nespresso machine was fantastic (in fact we have bought one ourselves since coming home brilliant coffee). Another lovely touch was the complimentary sherry and Lindisfarne mead available to all guests. The breakfast options available were second to none from home made grenola and jams and locally sourced produce from bacon, sausage and kippers. I don't think we'll eat for a week!! One of the best full english breakfast's we've had. Amanda and Steve were full of helpful suggestions on places to go and also to eat and were more than happy to arrange reservations for us for our evening meals. We will definitely go back for another visit in the not too distant future. Finally we would just like to say that Steve and Amanda are one of the warmest genuine couples that we could wish to meet. Good luck to them in their new venture.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Market Cross Guest House, responded to this review, June 26, 2012
Thank you so much for this review. Even though we have been here only a few weeks we have had so many lovely comments in our book and online that we are sure we are doing it right. Our standards are very high and we mean to keep them there. We are sure any returning guests will find many things different but that will not change. Good luck to you both and we'd love to see you in the future.

Steve and Amanda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
Level Contributor
210 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2012

(This review may be of less relevance as the B&B has changed hands since our visit.)

We stayed in the Tartan Room of Market Cross having staying in other 5 star B&Bs in Northumberland earlier in the week. For us the attractive feature of the Tartan Room was the roll top bath.

One could not doubt the intent or hospitality of Jill. The room had tea & coffee, chairs, complimentary sherry (or Mead), cushions galore and a large en-suite bathroom. All ticks in the 5 star B&B checklist. All as advertised.

That said, the overall effect didn’t work (for us). The many cushions needed moving from the bed, filling the chairs - so that one or the other was unusable. The twin beds pushed together didn’t make for comfortable sleeping and the roll top bath came without bath foam. Altogether, the impression was that the room was filled with LOTS of stuff that might have been mentioned by every visitor over time but lacked any sense of identity or purpose about what was being provided. Less is more.

The food was cooked carefully and competently, but the ingredients didn’t warrant the effort. Variously, the sausages and the kippers tasted mass produced, not locally sourced as we'd understood.

The other 5 star B&Bs we stayed in had been prepared with thought and care for the visitor, Market Cross felt like it had been prepared to tick all the required boxes for the inspector.

We wouldn’t stay again. You could get this experience for less money.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maud180291
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here for my birthday weekend. Owners were lovely and friendly. They were very helpful. Stayed in the Red room, which was fantastic. Enjoyed the night cap and breakfast was delicious. Would highly recommend to stay.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2012 via mobile

Amazing..need a new stomach because of the out of this world breakfast. Food locally sourced, highest quality and cooked to perfection.
Room immaculately clean, free upgrade to tartan room as it was free, lovely touch and wow what a bath!! would fit four people in that tub I think. Perfect base to explore nearby bamBurgh, Alnwick and so on.will return! A touch more expensive than other bed and breakfasta but worth every single penny and more

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank icantspell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2012

My mother and I stayed in Belford for only one evening while travelling between York and Edinburgh and booked Market Cross based on these reviews. We were not disappointed. Jill was very friendly and the yellow room was very comfortable. It had lots of nice little touches. We were the only guests for the evening and Jill suggested a good restaurant though it was a bit of a drive away. Jill cooked us a good breakfast too. We recommend this to anyone who is traveling and doesn't want to stay right next to the noisy motorway or in a busy city (like us).

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Figgy69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Belford
7.7 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,185 reviews
2.7 mi away
Purdy Lodge
Purdy Lodge
#1 of 1 in Belford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
0.0 mi away
Waren House Hotel
Waren House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Bamburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Farmhouse Guest House
0.1 mi away
Well House
Well House
#7 of 12 in Belford
5.0 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
6.1 mi away
Eat & Sleep Lindisfarne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Market Cross Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Market Cross Guest House

Property: Market Cross Guest House
Address: 1 Church Street, Belford NE70 7LS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Belford
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Belford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Market Cross Guest House 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5 star accommodation and hospitality second to none await you at Market Cross Guest House with elegantly decorated en-suite rooms and secluded courtyard and garden. Excellent breakfast menu. Situated in Belford village, Market Cross is an ideal base for exploring Northumberland's beautiful countryside and coast. Close to the Holy Island of Lindisfarne, Bamburgh Castle, Alnwick Castle and Gardens and historic Berwick upon Tweed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Market Cross Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Market Cross Guest House Belford, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing