We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like home”
Review of Purdy Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Purdy Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Belford
Reviewed October 22, 2008

we stayed at the purdy lodge northumberland for two nights, and found the staff most welcoming and helpful. The rooms were comfortable and very clean, with a lovely view over open countryside. We ate in the homely comfortable bar, and found the food to be tasty and well presented. We also ate in the hotel restaurant for our evening meals, and found both meals to be lovely and plentiful. The selection of wines were good and the drinks were priced very reasonable and with a good selection.The lodge is situated within easy reach of the beautiful Bamburgh, Lindisfarne and many other places of interest. I would have no problem in recommending Purdy lodge to anyone, we shall certainly be back soon.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank helnb112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (392)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

379 - 385 of 392 reviews

Reviewed May 12, 2008

This really is a great place for either a one night stop over, or as a base to sight-see the area.

Easy to find directly on the A1. Don't be put off by the exterior which doesn't do it justice.

The room was very clean & quite spaceous. The bed was one of the most comfortable we have ever slept in. We were at the back on the ground floor, looking out over fields & we could just see the sea. The rooms must be well sound proofed as there was no noise at all from the road or from other residents.

The food in the lodge is good with a full menu available which covers bar snacks through to a 3 course dinner. Food can be eaten either in the bar or in the restuarant & both are very pleasant, light & airey.

There is a cafe on site which serves breakfast & also is used by passing motorists. There are petrol pumps & also a small shop.

Have recommended to our friends & will certainly have no hesitation in returning.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Redclose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2008

Having decided on our location my wife researched what self catering cottages were in the neighbourhood of Bamburgh. It became a toss-up between this group of cottages and a cottage in Swinhoe.

What clinched it for us was the photos of the pool and some of the interiors so we booked by credit card over the phone and were sent directions and a receipt a day later.

If anything the photos don't do the development justice. The owners also own the Purdy Lodge motel and cafe/restaurant/bar a mile away, as well as the petrol station/shop at the services there. They have been in business in the area for forty years and seem to be well known locally. They have obviously been happy to invest serious money converting and fitting out these cottages to a high standard.

The owners live on site in the main house and have converted all five of the surrounding solid stone dairy buildings into self catering cottages. We stayed in the Ferguson, which is detached, as are the Fordson and the Mill House. "Warren View" and the "Granary" are actually in the same building and are effectively semi-detached. The photos on the website show the back and front of the same building but make it sound as if it is two buildings. Don't hold this against them.

Our cottage was the most recently converted, but from what we could see, all are to the same high standard.
Interior was modern but very well designed and laid out -some architect has done a good job indeed. What they ARE NOT is olde worldie cottages with any period features inside. The exteriors are lovely stone with some new windows and doors sympathetically inserted. While the interior doors are pine and the kitchen is solid oak, they are all modern and one family were a bit unhappy that they weren't staying in a chocolate box cottage with exposed beams etc. However, these buildings were probably never occupied by anyone but cows.

The interiors may be modern but that means that they are well insulated, downstairs rooms have underfloor heating with separate thermostats, upstairs has radiators. All windows are double glazed and the bathrooms are modern and spotless with great power showers. We had bad weather in April, but I would be happy to stay here in a blizzard for new year knowing how cosy the house was. In fact we would be happy to live there!

The furnishings and decorations were perfectly tasteful without making any design statements. All the furniture and beds are new, with no cheap shortcuts - no second-hand shop tat here!

Ferguson cottage had an en-suite and telly in every bedroom! The kitchen had a freezer, microwave, washing machine/tumble dryer, dish washer, coffee maker, four ring hob with split fan assisted oven and another telly with built in DVD player! Our neighbours complained that the washing machine leaked and it was replaced next day.

Spacious living room had three new sofas and a telly with freeview, a video and a DVD recorder.

Everything that I could think of had been provided. After years of staying in all sorts of self catering places in the UK and abroad it was great to find that things like tea-towels, washing up liquid, dishwasher tablets and bin liners had all been provided. There were even little bin liners for the upstairs bathroom bins. Basically, the owners provide you with the standard they would expect to find.

Piece de resistance is the the indoor swimming pool. I hate tiny pools but this is big enough (15m?), 1.3m deep and is always warm. Lovely poolside sauna and excellent changing area with lockers, shower and toilet. The owners use the pool themselves and it was always heated. They close it for a few hours over lunch, then it re-opens until early evening. Our kids loved it and would have spent all day there, complaining when we headed of to see the sights! It's a great resource if the weather is rotten: we spent our first morning watching an inch of snow fall outside, not caring at all.

The location is perfect: a few hundred yards off the A1, but with little or no noise. All major attractions easily accesible. For eating out we couldn't find a bad pub or restaurant anywhere, apart from possibly the White Swan across the road, which was just pretentious and overpriced with disappointing food. The dining facilities at Purdy Lodge itself are good value and decent quality without trying to be anything over fancy - and residents get 10% off.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Slippery-Jim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2007

We've stayed here a number of times recently whilst having a house built locally. Great, well appointed rooms and bathrooms. Friendly, efficient staff always willing to help and give us a smile. The restaurant serves fantastically good meals at very sensible prices. Looking forward to our next visit in October. Give it a try.

Stayed: September 2007
1  Thank stevedoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2007

Visited this hotel weekend of June 9th/10th June staying for 1 night while we visited Bamburgh, Berwick and Holy Island.

The hotel reminded me of an american motel. It was situated directly on the A1 which is great if using it as an overnight "pitstop" when travelling to or from Scotland. However not great if wanting a scenic setting!

The room was ok, it was clean and the bathroom facilities were ok. However had the worst night sleep ever! Bed was really uncomfortable and when I investigated it was 2 bases together and the top one was actually broken hence why the top of the bed appeared to be on a slope!

Check in was 2pm and check out was 10am which was a little early for a weekend. We got to the counter to check out at 10:05 and had to wait for someone to come and they had the cheek to query because we were late cheking out whether we would have to pay a 2nd night!!!!! I wasn't happy with this suggestion.

The restaurant looked ok we didnt actually eat there, breakfast was extra. The 24 hour canteen part of the lodge was like a services stop and sold drinks, crisps, sandwiches and magazines etc. Seemed a little expensive.

Dont think I would opt to stay here again but was great if wanting a room only which is cheap and cheerful!

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Midgetgem74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2007

Very nice motel everything we needed was at hand. good central location for getting about.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank missmarple51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2006

There's little choice with motel-style accomodation in the UK, other than the usual 'chains', so this was a great find.

Situated ideally for exploring the Northumberland National Park, Northumbrian Coast, as well as being a good 'stop off' when travelling up the A1, this family run business ticked all of the right boxes.

Our room was spotless, nicely furnished, and had a surprisingly nice view across fields towards the coast.

We chose to eat in the restaurant area, and the food was superb. The bar area was friendly, and food could also be eaten there.

An excellent stay, and we will return again I'm sure when we choose to drive up to Edinburgh from the South.

It took some searching to find accommodation in this area, so I hope it is okay to include their website:

[---------------]

1  Thank CumbrianUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Belford
5.0 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
1,278 reviews
7.7 mi away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
19.0 mi away
Marshall Meadows Country House Hotel
Marshall Meadows Country House H...
#1 of 3 in Berwick upon Tweed
488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.2 mi away
The Hog's Head Inn
The Hog's Head Inn
#4 of 5 in Alnwick
532 reviews
2.7 mi away
Waren House Hotel
Waren House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Bamburgh
216 reviews
11.1 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#5 of 5 in Alnwick
1,076 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Purdy Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Purdy Lodge

Address: Adderstone Services | Warenford, Belford NE70 7JU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Belford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Belford
Price Range: $92 - $147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Purdy Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Purdy Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Purdy Hotel Belford
Purdy Lodge Belford, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing