We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Purdy Lodge
Nearby Hotels
$170
$136
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Victoria Hotel(Bamburgh)
$111
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
St Aidan Hotel(Seahouses)
$105
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$140
$132
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$123
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$111
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Queens Head Hotel(Berwick upon Tweed)
$127
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Berwick upon Tweed(Berwick upon Tweed)(Great Value!)
$65
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Free Parking
$116
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (396)
Filter reviews
396 results
Traveler rating
136
152
68
18
22
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
136
152
68
18
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbamburgh castlehour cafepetrol stationlovely viewlooked nicefull englishcafe next doorbusy roadgreat place to stayone night stayshort staytea and coffeecouple of nightscomfortable roombreakfast was includedgenerous portionsevening meal
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
206 - 211 of 396 reviews
Reviewed March 26, 2014

Ive passed Purdy Lodge dozens of times while going up and down the A1 and thought it was just a truck stop with rooms. However this is far from the truth, it is a little gem if you are prepared to drive to the abundant tourist spots which are all within twenty minutes from the Purdy. You can eat in the bar but I would recommend you walk through the door from the bar to the 24hr café which is more like a cafeteria in a garden centre and cheaper than the Purdys restaurant. I would recommend the Northumbrian stew. The portions are generous and the menu is extensive. You would think by being by the A1 it would be noisy but not at all and the views from the back stretches out onto Bamborough Castle. The only fault with the room (No 5) was a crack in the sink, which apparently is on the repair list. If you need to get a taxi, no problem but expect to pay about £8 to Bamborough and £14 to Seahouses. All in all a good budget hotel where the food excels its budget status.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SeenandDone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lodge28, Front Office Manager at Purdy Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2014

Thank you very much for your review. We are all pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and are especially pleased that you enjoyed your meals! We hope that we get to welcome you back again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2014

Stayed for two nights over the weekend, wasn't expecting much but we were pleasantly suprised! The rooms were simple but clean and had everything we needed( little personal touches were lovely) breakfast was plentiful and nothing was too much trouble for the attentive and friendly staff although rushed off their feet it was hard to notice as everybody was well looked after very excited to return in the summer! Thank you for our lovely stay to all at the purdy lodge!!!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lovethenort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lodge28, Front Office Manager at Purdy Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us a review following your stay. We are all delighted to read that you enjoyed your time with us and we very much look forward to meeting you again in the summer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2014

lovely welcoming room nice, bed very comfy, glad we took some alcohol for our room instead of drinking in the bar as we were the only ones there so not a very good atmosphere,and there was nowhere walkable nearby we dined in the restaurant and the food was delicious but we were unimpressed with the breakfast to me an all day breakfast should include beans have to the say the sausages were lovely though and made up for it.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lorna m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lodge28, Front Office Manager at Purdy Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. I am very glad to read that you enjoyed your meal that you had with us in the restaurant on the evening, I am sorry that you did not enjoy your breakfast. Please accept our apologies as we should have explained what was on the breakfast for you as we do serve beans and would have been more than happy to provide you with some. We are very glad that you enjoyed the sausages though! We hope that we get the chance to welcome you back again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2014

we stayed here last month so we didn't have to drive back to teesside after visiting bamburgh castle. we only paid £40 or £50 with a living social voucher but I really wasn't that impressed. the sheets were a bit starchy and the kettle was filthy. basic accommodation.
atmosphere in restaurant terrible as we were the only ones dining there in the evening. sample menu was 10x better than what was actually presented. my vegetarian option was Mediterranean vegetables and salad with a poncy name which made it sound much more exciting. essentially veg+veg+veg. Needless to say, I didn't finish it. Breakfast the next morning was somewhat better but, again we were the only ones there, despite there being other guests staying in the hotel. we both opted for full english but seemed to get totally different components, despite not having specified anything other than for me to have veggie sausages.

overall I wouldn't really recommend it. it was okay but was located on A1 and I think that a hotel in Bamburgh would have been nicer.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CharliMarsh93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lodge28, Front Office Manager at Purdy Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review following your time with us. I am sorry that you were not impressed with your stay. We were very sorry to read that you did not enjoy your food that you had with us; the vegetarian option of field mushrooms with Mediterranean vegetables is one that we usually get very good feedback about so we were disappointed to see that you hadn't enjoyed it. It is unfortunate that you were the only ones dining in the restaurant, it is a quiet time of the year and I can only hope that you may come back to us again some time in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2014

This was a late last minute booking for us, we wanted a place to rest our heads while on a long drive the length of the A1, was wasn't expecting luxury for what we paid.

We were presently surprised, we had a quick swift checking, was told the procedures for ordering dinner in the evening, and told about checkout.

The public areas of the lodge (dining room, bar, cafe, reception) are immaculate, clean and fresh looking, the rooms on the other hand are very dated, but this didn't put us off.

We will be returning here again in the summer to explore the Northumbria coastline for sure. :)

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Deanoboy84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lodge28, Front Office Manager at Purdy Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We appreciate your comments and are very pleased to hear that you will be staying with us again in the summer; if you keep an eye out on our website we will have some special offers that will be running that may be of interest to you. We look forward to seeing you then!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews