We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value and super convenient location”
Review of Purdy Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Purdy Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Belford
Reviewed November 2, 2013

This is a great value hotel. Rooms are spotlessly clean and beds are large and comfortable. Despite being off A1, there was no noise as rooms faced the other way. View over field and castle in the distance. The cafe was open 24/7 and served meals and snacks. Prices were very good value for food and drinks. Great location for Bamburgh and Seahouses.
Only suggestion for improvement would be that the lobby looks a little bit shabby and could do with brightening up. Bedrooms are lovely though.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank salsapixie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lodge28, Front Office Manager at Purdy Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2013

Thank you very much for your review; we are very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and found it to be good value for money. We will take your comments on board about the lobby and look to improve on this in the future. Thank you once again and we hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (392)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

213 - 219 of 392 reviews

Reviewed October 26, 2013

Great location, good sized room, fresh food with a well stocked bar - what more could anyone want! The only thing you have to do is make sure you book your room well in advance as it gets full quickly. We will be back again

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank j4ewe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lodge28, Front Office Manager at Purdy Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2013

Thank you very much for leaving us such a lovely review. We are all delighted that you are a returning customer and that you were happy with all aspects of your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Hotel very similar to Premier Inn type accom. Well placed for short break Northumberland Coast touring. Loads of free parking on site. 24hr Cafe attached in addition to hotel restaurant. Bar closes about 11pm, but petrol station next door open 24hrs and has off license. Handy if attending function at Doxford Hall which is about 5 miles away and about £15 one way in a taxi (after midnight. May be cheaper before midnight). Purdy do offer a package which includes minibus transport to and from Doxford if required (ask when booking). All in all a reasonable hotel for a reasonable cost.

Room Tip: Rooms closest to reception seem to have bigger bathrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Doug R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lodge28, Front Office Manager at Purdy Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2013

Thank you very much for leaving us a review following your stay. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and we hope that if you are in the area again the we get the chance to welcome you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

My partner, heavily pregnant daughter in law, grandaughter and I travelled to Belford for a family wedding in the area. We stayed at the Purdy Lodge after the wedding therefore we were not in the hotel very much. When we initially arrived I was concerned to see how close to the road we were and was thinking traffic noise might disturb my young grandaughter but our rooms faced onto rear of the hotel overlooking a field. We all had a very comfortable and peaceful night sleep. My partner and I slept with our window open and were not disturbed by traffic noise at all. The hotel itself was very basic but reasonably priced. Morning reception staff were pleasant.
Breakfast was tasty and we were able to have a lie in and eat breakfast a little later in attached cafe, this was super as we were all exhausted after all day wedding celebrations from the day before! I would be happy to return to this hotel if I was in the area again.

Traveller tip!
I feel I must mention that if you are relying on taxis in the area please ensure you make a definite booking as we were almost stranded with a two year old child at the wedding venue, in the middle of nowhere! We had been assured by taxi driver who dropped us off that we just needed to ring when we wanted to return to Purdy however this was not the case and we had great difficulty to get a return taxi.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lodge28, Front Office Manager at Purdy Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us a review. I am really pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you enjoyed your breakfast. We are all really happy to read that you would gladly stay again and we hope that we get to welcome you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights recently whilst on a short break with a friend. From stepping through the door to leaving all the staff were very friendly and helpful. Our room was very clean and comfortable and the furnishings were in good condition.The bathroom also was very clean and had good quality toiletries - the shower curtain was reaching the end of its life but I'm sure will be replaced soon?
We ate dinner in the restaurant both evenings and the meals were excellent, tasty and good sized portions. One breakfast was taken in the attached 24 hour cafe - bacon roll and coffee and the following day we had breakfast in the restaurant - I'm not a fan of sausages but the ones on the full English were delicious. Although directly off the A1 the rooms face fields to the rear so road noise is not a problem. Would definitely stay again as the Purdy Lodge is so well situated for Alnwick and the beautiful Northumbrian coast.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nosro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lodge28, Front Office Manager at Purdy Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us a lovely review. We really appreciate all of your feedback and are very glad that you enjoyed your meals whilst you were with us and your lovely comments about the staff. We lok forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

Family room was more like a box room, bathroom was disgusting, no air con in rooms, stifling hot, window barely opened to let in much needed fresh air. No fans were available. Hardly slept . Food terrible.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sjm-21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lodge28, Front Office Manager at Purdy Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2013

Thank you for your review. We are very disappointed to read that you did not enjoy your stay. All of our windows are fitted with locks for our guests safety but there is information in all that rooms that advise you on how to open the windows fully; i am sorry if you were not aware of this. I would just like to say to all reading this review that if you would please take a few minutes to have a look through our other reviews you will see that we usually have very good reviews regarding our food. We are sorry again that you did not enjoy your time with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

stayed here for one night while attending a wedding. despite being right on the motorway it was surprisingly quiet as all the rooms face the back of the hotel onto a lovely field, which u can spot lots of wildlife in, was lovely having breakfast watching about 20 finches eating the blackberries growing outside.

the food is all fresh and lovely, even if the breakfast service was a bit unorganized.
would stay again

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leeanne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lodge28, Front Office Manager at Purdy Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2013

Thank you very much for your review. We are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Belford
5.0 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
1,278 reviews
7.7 mi away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
19.0 mi away
Marshall Meadows Country House Hotel
Marshall Meadows Country House H...
#1 of 3 in Berwick upon Tweed
488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.2 mi away
The Hog's Head Inn
The Hog's Head Inn
#4 of 5 in Alnwick
532 reviews
2.7 mi away
Waren House Hotel
Waren House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Bamburgh
216 reviews
11.1 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#5 of 5 in Alnwick
1,076 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Purdy Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Purdy Lodge

Address: Adderstone Services | Warenford, Belford NE70 7JU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Belford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Belford
Price Range: $92 - $147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Purdy Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Purdy Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Purdy Hotel Belford
Purdy Lodge Belford, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing