We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One night stay !”
Review of Purdy Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Purdy Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Belford
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“One night stay !”
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Stopped for one night as at a wedding nearby . Very clean and tidy hotel with excellent staff. Very close to all Northumberland has to offer. Room had modern ensuite and flat screen tv with excellent views out towards Bamburgh Castle. Hotel has bar /diner and restaurant . Thing that impressed me most in this hotel was the staff. All friendly and nothing was to much trouble. Would use hotel again.

Room Tip: Ground floor room was very quiet .
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jasoer123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lodge28, Front Office Manager at Purdy Lodge, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind words about our staff. We take pride in our customer service and are always pleased to read that a customer has enjoyed themselves. We are really happy that you enjoyed your stay and would stay with us again in the future; we look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    145
    66
    18
    20
See reviews for
99
183
12
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Co-Durham
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

We used this hotel as an over night stay, as we were going on a ghost tour at Chillingham castle.Staff friendly and welcoming. Rooms comfy and clean. All linen and towels were fresh and clean. Would happily stay here again, if I needed an over night stop.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hinny4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lodge28, Front Office Manager at Purdy Lodge, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
We are really pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you very much for your kind comments about our staff members. We are glad that you would stay again and hope to see you once again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2013

After a long trip, to do 2no site inspections, in Edinburgh. I had pre-booked a room at The Purdy Lodge, as it was a handy place to stay, approximately 1/3rd of the way home. I was welcomed by a lovely, bubbly Geordie lass, who, as it turns up was receptionist, waitress and bartender, all rolled into one. A role which she seemed really to enjoy. Check in was quick and professional, I was give my key and directions to my room. The room was spotlessly clean, so too the bathroom, plenty of tea and coffee materials, and the bathroom also had a good stock of shampoo and shower gel.
I had my evening meal in the restaurant, this consisted of a large bowl of home made mushroom soup, followed by a delicious lamb shank, with all the trimmings, alas this did not leave any room for a pudding. The only slight snag was with breakfast, The Full English, looked great, but everything was tepid, and served on a cold plate.
Such a shame, to spoil a very pleasant stay, with such a small detail.

Room Tip: All rooms are at the rear of the block, away from the A1, so no need to worry about traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lodge28, Front Office Manager at Purdy Lodge, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. We are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay and will take on board your comment about the breakfast plates not being hot enough to try and stop this from happening again. We hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Just enjoyed a 2 night break at Purdy Lodge Hotel. The hotel is situated right at the side of the A1, beside a garage. It looks nothing from the outside but the rooms and the dining area are nice enough. We had 2 rooms and both were well furnished with good quality fittings and bedding, also nice and clean. We had dinner one night which was average, the breakfasts were ok.

The hotel is very conveniently placed for nipping up and down the A1 to Alnwick, Seahouses etc. It is not convenient if you wish to walk to a restaurant or a pub, there is nothing round it.

Room Tip: Rooms on the ground floor were nice and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Faith4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lodge28, Front Office Manager at Purdy Lodge, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Thank you for leaving us a review following your stay at the hotel. We appreciate all reviews that our guests leave us and hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here through work for 3 days very clean good food available 24/7 good location for lindersfarne pleasant sea views from bedroom windows.would recomend this hotel a great stopoff hotel or short stay in a lovely part of country

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lodge28, Front Office Manager at Purdy Lodge, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and the food that you had whilst you were here. We hope that we will see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Decided to stop at this hotel after the original one we wanted to stay in didn't take children under ten years old and as I have a 14 week old son, myself and my family wanted to stay somewhere near our favourite spot of Seahouses!

The hotel despite looking like a Travel Inn is so much more than that, the staff were very friendly, the rooms were ideal (with views of Bamburgh Castle!) and the food was outstanding.

I would thoroughly recommend staying here and will be planning to do so again when I travel up north.

Room Tip: All rooms were good as they weren't on the road and were very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alison G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lodge28, Front Office Manager at Purdy Lodge, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
The title to your review "Just Perfect" has made us all smile here!! We are really happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you very much for the kind comments that you made about the food and the staff. We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

Just returned from a weekend stay at Purdy Lodge and really can't fault it.Stayed in a Family room which was ideal for the price(£55).Room was really clean and had everything we needed.We have stayed in all types of hotel from budget to boutique and would place this one as better than budget.Lovely views from hotel and well situated for all of Northumberland and Scottish Borders.Will stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sontex12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lodge28, Front Office Manager at Purdy Lodge, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
We are really happy to read that you enjoyed your time with us and would come again. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Belford
5.0 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
1,228 reviews
7.7 mi away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
0.0 mi away
Waren House Hotel
Waren House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Bamburgh
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#5 of 5 in Alnwick
1,025 reviews
20.6 mi away
Eshott Hall
Eshott Hall
#1 of 1 in Eshott
365 reviews
19.0 mi away
Marshall Meadows Country House Hotel
Marshall Meadows Country House H...
#2 of 3 in Berwick upon Tweed
462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Purdy Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Purdy Lodge

Property: Purdy Lodge
Address: Adderstone Services | Warenford, Belford NE70 7JU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Belford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Belford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Purdy Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Purdy Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Purdy Hotel Belford
Purdy Lodge Belford, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing