We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great price,good location and good hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Purdy Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Purdy Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Belford
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great price,good location and good hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

Just returned from a weekend stay at Purdy Lodge and really can't fault it.Stayed in a Family room which was ideal for the price(£55).Room was really clean and had everything we needed.We have stayed in all types of hotel from budget to boutique and would place this one as better than budget.Lovely views from hotel and well situated for all of Northumberland and Scottish Borders.Will stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sontex12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lodge28, Front Office Manager at Purdy Lodge, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
We are really happy to read that you enjoyed your time with us and would come again. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    132
    63
    17
    19
See reviews for
91
169
11
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
90 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

If you are traveling to Scotland or just want a weekend away look no further.
A litho ugh it is on the A1 this is no motorway service motel.
Very clean, excellent sized rooms, friendly efficient staff and service freshly prepared local ingredients - plus not just the usual run of the mill dishes.
Popular itch couples and families - and most important takes dogs!
Last orders for food is 9.30 so even if you arrive late there is still time to sample the food with a Well stocked bar too and a freshly cooked breakfast starts the day right!
What more could you want.
All bedrooms face open fields before the see so you do not get disturbed by traffic.
We will be back for a weekend stay as there is so much to see in the area.
Well done, and do not change.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank j4ewe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lodge28, Front Office Manager at Purdy Lodge, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review! We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and your meals with us and really look forward to seeing you again in the future. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
333 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

We stopped off here for a coffee break on route too Alnwick, we didn't stay in the lodge but the cafe was modern,clean ,pleasant staff and very nice drinks/food ,also not overpriced. Well worth a visit

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ablb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lodge28, Front Office Manager at Purdy Lodge, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind comments about the cafe. We are glad that you enjoyed your time with us and hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

This is a value for money lodge in a great location. The views from the rooms are panoramic and the isolated location made it a haven for star watching at night.

We only stayed one night whilst visiting a friend in Alnwick but plan to stay again next time. We didn't use the restaurant so can't comment on the food. The rooms were clean enough and the beds comfy - the early check out did make it a rush for us the following morning - a bit more leeway there would have been preferable but overall a good experience and for the money we would recommend.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank netsyp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lodge28, Front Office Manager at Purdy Lodge, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us a review following your stay. We are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and are thrilled that you will be returning to stay with us again. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria,Scotland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

Just returned from a two night stay with my husband and aunt and uncle .Excellent little hotel located on the A1. Ideal for exploring the local area. A wee bit isolated in the fact that it is not within walking distance of the nearest village but more than makes up for this by the friendly and helpful staff, clean and comfortable rooms and first class restaurant with an extensive and we'll priced menu. Would certainly recommend this little gem of a hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank weegem59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lodge28, Front Office Manager at Purdy Lodge, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind comments. We love reading that a customer has enjoyed their stay and receiving such lovely words about the staff and restaurant makes us really happy. Thank you very much again and we are very pleased to hear that you would be happy to recommend us. We hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

We stayed at Purdy Lodge while visiting family in nearby Bamburgh. The location was handy for s us as it's right on the A1 but I was pleasantly surprised by how quiet the hotel was during the night.

We checked in quite late and the process was very quick but didn't have the slick, professional feel you'd get in a branded hotel. We were too late to eat in but the bar/restaurant area looked nice and modern.

The bedrooms are clean and fresh but the corridors look pretty tired. Noise was minimal during the night but with such an early checkout time of 10am it seems that everyone gets up at the same time and noise from adjacent rooms and the corridor was quite loud. More annoying was the complete lack of water pressure in the shower - the water actually stopped entirely at one point and was a dribble for the rest of the time. Apparently this isn't the norm but was very disappointing.

There was a bit of a queue at checkout but the staff member was friendly and quick to deal with us once we got to the desk.

All in all, the hotel isn't perfect but it's quite modern and handily located and the price is a fair reflection of what you get so we would probably use it again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 1979la
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lodge28, Front Office Manager at Purdy Lodge, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thank you very much for your review following your recent stay. We apologise for the problem that you had with the water pressure of your shower. We have recently had a problem with a burst water pipe on the premises which i'm not entirely sure if this was when you stayed; regardless we will get our maintenance staff to look into this matter. We are glad to read that you would return to the hotel and we hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

The good


Location was handy for local attractions
Plenty of towels, tea and coffee

The bad
The food was really expensive. £7.50 for a Kids burger
Staff were not helpful
Windows didn't open which resulted in stuffy rooms with poor circulation, not good for small children
Cup was dirty in the room
Glasses weren't cleaned and replaced until prompted
No hot water for 2 mornings out of 3 - really poor

We definitely won't be back

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rooney369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lodge28, Front Office Manager at Purdy Lodge, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review following your stay. We are sorry that you did not enjoy all aspects of your stay. I would like to say that we do not actually have a childs burger on our childrens menu. We do have a home made Northumbrian beef burger on our main menu which is priced at £7.50 but this is a main meal.

All of our windows are actually fitted with safety locks for our guests own safety, we do have instructions on how to use these locks in the rooms but we are sorry if you didn't see that information.

In regards to there being no hot water we can only apologise for this as we had a burst water pipe which caused us to have no water on one of the morning and this then caused other problems within the system which resulted in there being no hot water on another of the mornings. We are very sorry for any trouble that this caused but have since resolved the issue.

We are sorry that you feel that you would not return but hope that this may help you to understand the situations behind the problems that you listed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Belford
5.0 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,144 reviews
11.1 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#5 of 5 in Alnwick
3.5 of 5 bubbles 964 reviews
7.7 mi away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.6 mi away
Eshott Hall
Eshott Hall
#1 of 1 in Eshott
4.5 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
0.0 mi away
Waren House Hotel
Waren House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Bamburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
20.9 mi away
Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Purdy Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Purdy Lodge

Property: Purdy Lodge
Address: Adderstone Services | Warenford, Belford NE70 7JU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Belford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Belford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Purdy Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your Purdy Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Purdy Hotel Belford
Purdy Lodge Belford, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing