We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent value in a handy location”
Review of Purdy Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Purdy Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Belford
Glasgow
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Decent value in a handy location”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

We stayed at Purdy Lodge while visiting family in nearby Bamburgh. The location was handy for s us as it's right on the A1 but I was pleasantly surprised by how quiet the hotel was during the night.

We checked in quite late and the process was very quick but didn't have the slick, professional feel you'd get in a branded hotel. We were too late to eat in but the bar/restaurant area looked nice and modern.

The bedrooms are clean and fresh but the corridors look pretty tired. Noise was minimal during the night but with such an early checkout time of 10am it seems that everyone gets up at the same time and noise from adjacent rooms and the corridor was quite loud. More annoying was the complete lack of water pressure in the shower - the water actually stopped entirely at one point and was a dribble for the rest of the time. Apparently this isn't the norm but was very disappointing.

There was a bit of a queue at checkout but the staff member was friendly and quick to deal with us once we got to the desk.

All in all, the hotel isn't perfect but it's quite modern and handily located and the price is a fair reflection of what you get so we would probably use it again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1979la
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lodge28, Front Office Manager at Purdy Lodge, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thank you very much for your review following your recent stay. We apologise for the problem that you had with the water pressure of your shower. We have recently had a problem with a burst water pipe on the premises which i'm not entirely sure if this was when you stayed; regardless we will get our maintenance staff to look into this matter. We are glad to read that you would return to the hotel and we hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    145
    66
    18
    20
See reviews for
99
183
12
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 14, 2013

The good


Location was handy for local attractions
Plenty of towels, tea and coffee

The bad
The food was really expensive. £7.50 for a Kids burger
Staff were not helpful
Windows didn't open which resulted in stuffy rooms with poor circulation, not good for small children
Cup was dirty in the room
Glasses weren't cleaned and replaced until prompted
No hot water for 2 mornings out of 3 - really poor

We definitely won't be back

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rooney369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lodge28, Front Office Manager at Purdy Lodge, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review following your stay. We are sorry that you did not enjoy all aspects of your stay. I would like to say that we do not actually have a childs burger on our childrens menu. We do have a home made Northumbrian beef burger on our main menu which is priced at £7.50 but this is a main meal.

All of our windows are actually fitted with safety locks for our guests own safety, we do have instructions on how to use these locks in the rooms but we are sorry if you didn't see that information.

In regards to there being no hot water we can only apologise for this as we had a burst water pipe which caused us to have no water on one of the morning and this then caused other problems within the system which resulted in there being no hot water on another of the mornings. We are very sorry for any trouble that this caused but have since resolved the issue.

We are sorry that you feel that you would not return but hope that this may help you to understand the situations behind the problems that you listed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013 via mobile

Well where do I start? I was a little worried that I had booked a truckers stop.As soon as we walked in the lodge I was pleasantly surprised.The room was lovely with a spectacular view.The food fit for a king.The staff work very hard and are friendly.The location was perfect for visiting all the places we wanted to visit.my 8 year old was more than happy with the swimming pool that was offered as an extra down the road.3 great nights here .we will return here again.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank catherine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lodge28, Front Office Manager at Purdy Lodge, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thank you for your positive comments! We love the views that you get out the bedroom windows toward the coast and are pleased that you agree! Thank you again and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Arriving from the south your first view is the petrol station and the truck stop at this point my stomach sank as I was ready for a meal and I thought that an all day breakfast would be the only option. I couldn't have been more wrong! I had prawns in filo pastry with cream & garlic sauce as my starter. I then had a beautifully cooked lamb shank for my main course. This is good quality restaurant food using all fresh ingredients.

Our room (no 16) was very clean and had a 6 foot double bed. The view from the window is fabulous, miles of rolling fields with distant views of Bamburgh Castle and the sea.

My only criticism is the plumbing. There are prominent warnings in the bathroom about the hot water being too hot and the're not wrong. If only they could find a plumber who was as skillful as their chef.

Would I stop here again. Without hesitation, yes I would it's excellent value for money.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HowardMiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lodge28, Front Office Manager at Purdy Lodge, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thank you for your lovely comments! All our food for our restaurant menu is home made and cooked fresh to order from local ingredients; so to read that you enjoyed it so much makes us very happy. We are glad to read that you would stay withus again and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
staffordshire
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Booking this hotel is great but when you get there staff need to put a bit of an effort in. We stayed 2 nights on bed and breakfast. When you have a phobia of something in your room you dont expect the hotel staff to laugh at you and make remarks. The bedding was dirtry, staff in the cafe bit especially the young lad needs manners the guy thats on late at night needs to put a bit more of a smile on his face instead of looking miserable

I used to stay here from when i was a child and with respects it has gone down hill.

Room Tip: im not sure because all rooms are roughly the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aliesha H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lodge28, Front Office Manager at Purdy Lodge, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Whilst we do appreciate all reviews that customers leave us following their stay we would always like these reviews to be acurate. We are very sorry that you did not enjoy your stay. If you would like to have a look at previous comments that we have had you will see that we have had a lot of reviews saying how friendly and helpful the staff are.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
County Durham
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

My wife and I stayed for one night while visiting our son and his family who live locally.
The staff were friendly and welcoming.
The room was large and clean with an enormous bed. The bathroom was spotlessly clean. But the best thing about the room was the view - across fields to the coast and Bamburgh Castle. There were plenty of teas, coffees, toiletries, etc. The only slight down was the shower - hot but not very powerful.
We had dinner in the small restaurant and the food was good. The only negative was the chips - overcooked and a bit soggy - Philip Madoc would not have been happy.
Overall a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Del2n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lodge28, Front Office Manager at Purdy Lodge, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
We were really pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for the lovely comments about the staff; we hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Staff were very welcoming, they really try to make an effort but we seen staff doing multiple tasks as they were understaffed.

WIFI speed is crippling, ended up using my own 3g connection. I staff were very apologetic.

Early 10am checkout was surprising. I'm used to 12pm checkouts.

Everything else was great, very clean, good location, friendly staff.

Get the wifi fixed, more staff and extend checkout for a top review.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelvin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lodge28, Front Office Manager at Purdy Lodge, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review for us. We appreciate your views and will get our maintenance team to look into the issues regarding the wifi. We hope that you will give us another chance in the future and would look forward to welcoming you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Belford
5.0 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
1,228 reviews
7.7 mi away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
0.0 mi away
Waren House Hotel
Waren House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Bamburgh
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#5 of 5 in Alnwick
1,025 reviews
20.6 mi away
Eshott Hall
Eshott Hall
#1 of 1 in Eshott
365 reviews
19.0 mi away
Marshall Meadows Country House Hotel
Marshall Meadows Country House H...
#2 of 3 in Berwick upon Tweed
462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Purdy Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Purdy Lodge

Property: Purdy Lodge
Address: Adderstone Services | Warenford, Belford NE70 7JU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Belford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Belford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Purdy Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Purdy Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Purdy Hotel Belford
Purdy Lodge Belford, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing