We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truck stop hell”
Review of Purdy Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Purdy Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Belford
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Truck stop hell”
Reviewed August 28, 2012

We traveled the 3 hour trip to what we thought was our romantic, dog friendly, country hotel. It was a 2 night B & B KGB deal that was pictured as a lovely old manor house in the countryside. We could not believe our eyes when we arrived. We thought there must be a mistake or 2 Purdy Lodges in the area. When I queried this the staff told me they had nothing to do with the picture! I felt completely conned. The building was nice enough but it was actually a truck stop / petrol station / services on the A1. And I do mean ON the A1. There was a hedge seperating the carpark from the A1. We have a 2 year old German Shepherd (still young and silly) that we had taken with us as we were told dogs were welcome. When we got there dogs were welcome in the room, that was all. not in the bar, cafe or restaurant. I would say Dogs were tolorated but certainly not welcome. It is surrounded by farmers feilds, so absolutely nowhere for her to walk or do her business. We would have to get in the car and drive along the A1 to find a layby so she could releive herself!! My husband took a look at the room (two single beds - we had asked for a double) and said it was the very basic. We felt it was completely unsafe for our dog and there was no way we could relax here even if it had been like the Ritz! so we about turned and came home. What a waste of petrol!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
Helpful?
2 Thank Wdevine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lodge28, Manager at Purdy Lodge, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
I would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review of the hotel. We are sorry to hear that you were not happy with the deal that you bought from KGB Deals. The picture that was on the offer voucher is actually of Bamburgh Castle; this is the view that you can see from the bedroom windows.

We are sorry that you felt that your dog was not welcome but unfortunately we can not allow dogs into the bar and restaurant or the café as we serve food in all these areas. There is actually an area around the hotel and to the side of the building that you would have been welcome to take your dog as well as a quiet country road that runs down from the hotel towards the coast.

With the hotel being situated on the site that it is, we welcome all manners of travellers into the establishment and we are sorry you felt that by being dog owners you were not welcome.

We are sorry that you did not feel that you would be able to stay and give the hotel a chance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    140
    66
    17
    19
See reviews for
95
179
11
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Fenwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2012

Stopped off with wife, sister-in-law and two children for a late lunch/early dinner. Food was excellent. Sister in law had slow braised pork belly, which she claims was best meal out she has had in ages. I had the smoked haddock with a cheese sauce and creamed leeks. Excellent. Accompanying vegetables were crisp and delicious. Eldest daughters fish and chips exceeded her expectations. The lodge also provides specials which the staff said the chef would prepare even though we had arrived before the official time so wife chose the chicken breast in bacon . Once again beautifully cooked with a rich tomato sauce. Youngest daughters cheesy pasta was also very creamy and tasty. Staff were friendly and helpful. At 12 pounds per head including drinks and a side of onion rings I feel this was very good value indeed. Will probably visit again before end of holiday.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Piers W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Level Contributor
193 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2012

Pleasant rooms with comfortable beds. The hotel is ideally located for traveling north from Newcastle. We wanted to see Bamburg Castle and this made for a good overnight stop at a reasonable price. What lets the hotel down is that it is simply not clean enough. There were lots of drip marks on the bathroom tiles. We had dinner in the café on site, and all the crockery pretty much stuck to the table surface. It felt very sticky and dirty. If we were to travel that way again we would probably look for alternative accommodation.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scandilove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington England
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Stayed at Purdy lodge for 1 night whilst visiting area, Pleasant visit, staff freindly and helpful. Clean rooms and breakfast good although service was very slow. Paid bill at check out with bank card and when I checked my bank statement 3 days later noticed they had taken x2 payments out of my bank account for more than double the amount I paid. Neither payment was the amount I was quoted. Informed the manager who said would amend this and refund payments. That was 4 days a go and I am still waiting for it to be put back in account !!!! Warning check your bank staement after staying here !!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank broseh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012

What a gem this hotel is......in an area of expensive bed and breakfast accommodation I found this lovely hotel. Exceptional value, very friendly and obliging staff, beautiful breakfast and comfortable quiet room. Stunning views from the bedroom across open fields to the sea.
Thanks for a relaxing weekend.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pacmanfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowestoft
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 4, 2012

Just back from a 3-day whirlwind visit to Northumberland and wanted good but economical accommodation. Our expectations of Purdy Lodge weren't high, as it was cheap, but we were very pleasantly surprised: we had a lovely quiet, clean comfortable room overlooking beautiful unspoilt landscape towards the coast and it was a perfect base from which to visit Banburgh, Holy Island and the coastal route. For £3.50 each (!) we had a freshly cooked and ample breakfast. The staff were friendly, polite and efficient. We'll stay longer next time!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dorothy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redcar, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2012

OK this is a travel lodge ,but superior in every way.Great staff very pleasant all the time,good food in the dining room and a wonderful breakfast.Very clean room quite with a wonderful view of the castle in the distance.All in all great value for money.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hilary723
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Belford
5.0 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
1,203 reviews
7.7 mi away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
0.0 mi away
Waren House Hotel
Waren House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Bamburgh
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#5 of 5 in Alnwick
1,006 reviews
20.6 mi away
Eshott Hall
Eshott Hall
#1 of 1 in Eshott
357 reviews
16.6 mi away
Warkworth House Hotel
Warkworth House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Warkworth
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Purdy Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Purdy Lodge

Property: Purdy Lodge
Address: Adderstone Services | Warenford, Belford NE70 7JU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Belford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Belford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Purdy Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Purdy Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Purdy Hotel Belford
Purdy Lodge Belford, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing