We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (173)
Filter reviews
173 results
Traveler rating
162
10
1
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
162
10
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswarm welcomeattention to detailtea and cakeon arrivalexcellent hostslocal baconlovely bed and breakfastlovely hot showerholy island and bamburgh castledrinks providedcomfortable bedsthe bank holiday weekendbreakfast was excellenthome from homeroom was spotlessfresh fruitkippers
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 173 reviews
Reviewed June 4, 2018 via mobile

We were booked in only one night as we were walking St Oswald's Way. Valerie greeted us with tea and cake and we had a very comfortable ground floor large double ensuite room with a sofa, fridge with water and milk and even 2 towelling robes hanging up! The bed was comfortable and lovely hot shower. Dave suggested where we could go and eat dinner and next morning's breakfast was very good. Both Valerie and Dave were excellent hosts. Out of all the 8 hotels/guesthouses we stayed in during our 100 mile hike, yours marked the highest for us. Thank you.

Stayed: May 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank twiggyseymour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Val B, Owner at The Farmhouse Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2018

Thank you for all your positive comments both here and in our visitors book. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and are really flattered that you marked us the highest! We hope to see you again in the future.
Kind Regards
Val and Dave

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2018

Awesome experience. We are so happy we were booked at the Farmhouse Guest House. Hosts made us feel at home from the moment we walked in the door. Room was great, and breakfast was excellent with a nice variety of items to choose from. We would definitely stay here again and highly recommend.

Stayed: May 2018
Thank WARMSPRINGSROAD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Val B, Owner at The Farmhouse Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2018

Thank you for your lovely review. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Kind Regards
Val and Dave

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2018

We stayed for 2 nights in May. A warm welcome and a cup of tea and home made cake was a perfect start to our stay. Val and Dave could not have been more helpful and they have gone to enormous lengths to make this B&B as fine as possible. Our room on the first floor was large enough with good en-suite that all looked newly fitted and decorated. A comfortable bed and carefully cooked breakfast (excellent local bacon!) set us up for a great day out on the coast with a couple of hours in Alnwick castle garden. Nothing jarred in this B&B because of the care taken by the owners, and we hope to be back to Northumberland next year.

Room Tip: There is a room on the ground floor if mobility is an issue.
  • Stayed: May 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Trin314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Val B, Owner at The Farmhouse Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2018

Thank you so much for your lovely review..you have really made our day! The room you stayed in has been newly decorated and the en-suite was fitted before the start of the new season. We always try to make sure our guests feel comfortable and welcomed and it is so rewarding to see our efforts appreciated. It was a pleasure to meet you both and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Kind Regards
Val and Dave

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2018 via mobile

A warm welcome, lovely room and a great breakfast and a lot of lovely extras. The room was en suite with a small fridge and comfy sofa. The TV had a DVD player and there are lots of DVDs to borrow. We are quite likely to be back.

Stayed: April 2018, traveled with friends
Thank Jennie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Val B, Owner at The Farmhouse Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2018

Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Kind Regards
Val and Dave

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2018 via mobile

My girlfriend and I booked a room at this guesthouse for one night after a day trip to Holy Island and the Farne Islands and we couldn’t have been more impressed. The room we were given was beautifully decorated and we were provided with all of the amenities we needed plus much more. The room was spacious and the standard of cleanliness was second to none. We especially loved the little touches provided such as the books, games and DVD’s which we made good use of and we both thought the night cap offered was a lovely gesture.
We were asked to complete a menu on arrival for breakfast the next morning and there was definitely plenty to choose from. The breakfast was lovely and our hosts couldn’t have been more attentive, making sure we had enough to eat and reminding us to ask if there was anything else they could do for us. The guesthouse itself was perfectly situated for our trip as it wasn’t far from Holy Island or from Seahouses beach. There were two pubs a few minutes walk away, at one of which we had a lovely pub meal and a few drinks and there was a co-op practically on the doorstop.
Overall our stay was lovely and we left wishing we were there for another few nights.

Stayed: April 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank Rebecca D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Val B, Owner at The Farmhouse Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2018

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review and for your positive comments. It was a pleasure to meet such lovely people.We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Kind Regards
Val and Dave

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews