We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Paradise for train lovers”
other travelers have booked this property
Budle Bay
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Budle Bay
cottage kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
28 reviews
Budle Bay
cottage
kitchen
Rayburn
Front window
Sitting room
View to  bathroom
Front garden
Dog-friendly
Front bedroom
Rear bedroom
Rear garden
The local beach
Bamburgh Castle
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Belford, Northumberland, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Ieatrocke...
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Paradise for train lovers”
Reviewed September 11, 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We really enjoyed our stay here. We found the cottage well equipped and cosy with very comfy beds. The location is handy for all our favorite's places. We loved being this close to the railway, it is the first place we have stayed where we could actually watch trains from bed ! Sitting in the front garden in the morning or evening sun with a pot of tea watching the trains go by ... Bliss !

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ali H
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Cosy Cottage, homely feel.”
Reviewed September 4, 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Our second stay, which we enjoyed equally to the first. Cottage definately has friendly feel, but even though it was height of Summer it smelt damp. Cleanliness in the kitchen, utility, bathroom seems difficult because of nick-nacks and wood work. So felt necessary to wash quite a lot of stuff again as we chose to use kitchen. But outside of that the cottage is charming, the beds are suberbly comfortable and always beautifully dressed. The owner is always extremely helpful and accommodating. This is a brilliant centre for one of our best counties if you like to get away from things. We would go back again, its like a home from home.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Damp smell
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flowerfai...
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Rustic Railway Charm”
Reviewed June 9, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

I booked this long weekend away for my fathers birthday and we had a lovely time in Northumberland, the Cottage is a great base (if you have a car like we did) to explore the surrounding area. The noise from the railway goes without saying, however, there is triple glazing in the front which helps and it didn't impact me and I'm a light sleeper, the house is "rustic" and thats part of the charm. We would've liked to have sat in the garden and that end of the day but its very overgrown and like other reviewers have noted, the house has a dusty homely feel to it. Its fine for a weekend away though, we ate out all the time so can't comment on cooking on the range. The bed in the front of the house was super comfortable. For anyone going to Kielder Observatory, please note that it takes about 2hrs drive and is a long way to go for not much of an experience. Everywhere else was gorgeous. Bamburgh, Alnwick, Seahouses, Berwick-upon-Tweed, Cragside, Lindisfarne (Holy Island) and the beaches are beautiful. You will have to drive to a shop or pub unless you don't mind the mile or so walk. There's a good but expensive Farm Shop in Belford breakfast. Thanks Julia for renting us your home.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: Northumberland
Liked least: Cobwebs
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TB0604
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Quirky”
Reviewed April 22, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Quirky property. We had a lovely break but all the ornaments & rugs make cleaning difficult & got in the way of actually using the cottage. I would recommend but with a proviso

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location near the coast
Liked least: Very dirty bathroom curtain
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 23, 2015
Thanks for your feedback and I will definitely bear your comments in mind.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eclipse90
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Lovely cottage”
Reviewed January 6, 2015 for a stay in December 2014

Stayed at New Year for 3 nights with the children. We all thought it was a lovely, spacious, cosy cottage and thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2015 for a stay in December 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: Damp/ (but due to time of year)
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
tkcakefam...
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good value but ..........”
Reviewed November 1, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
4
people found this review helpful

We must begin by saying that we had a wonderful break away in a cottage that was very good value, had every cooking utensil you could ever need and some, had a lovely quirky appealing style and which was very comfortable and homely.
We did find that the accommodation could have done with a really good clean especially in the bathroom and kitchen. We didn't mind the cobwebs - completely understand - they happen and I've probably got just as many in my own house! It would have been a nice gesture to be provided with a small bag of wood just to get one fire going at least. Better instructions for operating the hot water would be beneficial - we were a family of 4 and had to have mega-quick showers before it turned freezing cold. Speaking personally, we would preferred if we could have vacated the cottage at 11am - getting teens out of bed, showered and fed during the holidays is an epic feat but that extra hour would have made all the difference to our stress levels.
I don't think a review can go without a mention of the trains. This cottage is right next to the East coast main line and we were fully aware of this before booking - I'm guessing this is why the price is so reasonable. We reckon another few nights we may have just got used to the sound through the night but we only stayed 3 nights and 2 of them we slept fitfully! I even dreamt that I was on a train but it was a hospital ward and I was waiting for an operation ha ha! I did try and keep off the red wine the following night.
We would still recommend this cottage but it would have to be given with a few friendly warnings.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Value for money and ability to book last minute to be nearby our friends
Liked least: The trains and the cleanliness of the bathroom
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 13, 2014
Thank you very much for the constructive criticism which I always appreciate. As a result of your comments I am working on more detailed instructions for getting the best out of the central heating and hot water supply, and considering changing the departure time to 10.30 for family groups as I agree it can be hard for a family to vacate earlier. My apologies for the absence of kindling, which should have been there.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing