We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Ducket ... Pure Delight”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Belford
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Outchester and Ross Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Kibworth Beauchamp, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“The Ducket ... Pure Delight”
Reviewed May 7, 2014

The Ducket is perfect for any length of stay as it has all the facilities you could possibly want. The bathroom is spacious and delightful, the bedroom comfortable and luxurious, the kitchen superbly equipped and the lounge and library cosy and such a pleasure to be in.
Even self catering you feel pampered in this haven of peace and tranquility.
There are plenty of activities available in the vicinity ... or you can stay at The Ducket in bliss.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HelenFrench_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KGS313, Public Relations Manager at Outchester and Ross Cottages, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Dear Helen
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of the Ducket. Much appreciated. We're so pleased you found everything to your liking, discovered lots to do in the area - and felt pampered and relaxed. Kind regards Kate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    8
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
42
76
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2014

Booked a week at The Ducket to celebrate a 25th wedding anniversary and a 50th birthday! Can't wait to book again. What a wonderful building to stay in, superb in every way. A special place for a special week.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alicolli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KGS313, Public Relations Manager at Outchester and Ross Cottages, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to post your review of The Ducket here. We really appreciate your views and are so pleased you had a lovely time. Congratulations on both your anniversary and the big birthday! We're hoping to get the whole of 2015 up on our website bookings very soon - so everyone can book way in advance for special occasions. Look forward to seeing you again soon. Kind regards Kate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2014

A thoroughly enjoyable, relaxing week in the beautiful Beacons Cottage. A true 'get a way from it all' escape. Places to go, and things to do, but nothing more stunning than the beach 3/4 mile away from the cottage. Miles of empty sandy beach at Ross Sands. Absolutely idyllic. Perfect for week for kite flying and cricket. Our days away from the cottage, which weren't too many as the kids were just happy to stay around, included, Lindesfarne and Holy Isla
nd, Bamburgh castle and beach, The Farne Islands boat trip - enjoying the seals and beautiful puffins, Alnwick castle and tree house restaurant, and a highlight was also a trip to view the surface of the moon, with the telescope that Ross Cottages lent us. All fabulous, and the cottage was perfect. Thank you xx

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hayley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KGS313, Public Relations Manager at Outchester and Ross Cottages, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear Hayley - we're delighted you had such a great week with your children at Beacons Cottage and also used our telescope to see the surface of the moon! Lovely that you managed kite flying and cricket on Ross Beach and saw the seals and puffins at the Farnes. Many thanks for posting your review and we hope enjoy the rest of the year and the summer. Kind regards Kate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed April 21, 2014

Coastguard lodge is just a ten minute walk across sanddunes to a beautiful beach and it was comfortable and well equipped, A week wasn't long enough as there's lots to see in the area and we would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank camilbu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KGS313, Public Relations Manager at Outchester and Ross Cottages, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to post a review. We really appreciate it. So pleased you enjoyed your stay at Coastguard Lodge and found it comfortable and well equipped. Nice that you appreciated beautiful Ross Sands too and liked the walk over the sand dunes. We hope you enjoy the rest of 2014 and look forward to seeing you again sometime soon. Kind regards Kate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2014

A fabulously special place to stay in a beautiful part of the country. The Ducket was everything we could have hoped for, 5 floors of clever design to show some stunning views of Northumberland. A gorgeous retreat for our honeymoon.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank pika32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KGS313, Public Relations Manager at Outchester and Ross Cottages, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Dear Pika
We're so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay in the Ducket and congratulations on your marriage. We wish you every happiness. Many thanks for taking the time to post your review and we hope you both return to Northumberland soon. Kind regards Kate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed April 19, 2014

Amazing location, fantastic cottage. Facilities very good. Great lay out and lovely having a garden. No complaints. Know the area very well and have stayed in numerous locations but really hope to be able to return to Ross. The kids loved it too

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KGS313, Public Relations Manager at Outchester and Ross Cottages, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Dear Elizabeth
Many thanks for your review. We're delighted you found the cottage fantastic, enjoyed the garden and the kids loved it too. We hope you can return too and look forward to seeing you again. Enjoy the rest of the year! Kind regards Kate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2014

We stayed in Oystershell Cottage.
Lovely and clean, cosy yet spacious and well equipped.
Just 2 mins from the A1 but quiet and secluded. Brilliantly placed for visiting anywhere north of Newcastle easily.
We will return!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisC082
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KGS313, Public Relations Manager at Outchester and Ross Cottages, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Dear Chris - many thanks for taking the time to review your visit to Oystershell Cottage. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay. Kind regards Kate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Belford
9.3 mi away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
7.1 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,185 reviews
0.0 mi away
Waren House Hotel
Waren House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Bamburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.1 mi away
Eshott Hall
Eshott Hall
#1 of 1 in Eshott
4.5 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
8.3 mi away
Newton Hall
Newton Hall
#1 of 1 in Newton by the Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Sunningdale Hotel
The Sunningdale Hotel
#1 of 8 in Bamburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Outchester and Ross Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outchester and Ross Cottages

Property: Outchester and Ross Cottages
Address: c/o The Farmhouse | Outchester and Ross, Belford NE70 7EN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Belford
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Belford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Outchester and Ross Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Outchester and Ross Cottages are situated in two lovely coastal Northumberland locations between the historic island of Lindisfarne and majestic Bamburgh Castle. To make use of the superb night sky and star gazing opportunities in Northumberland, telescopes are available for guests to use at no extra charge. There are 16 well equipped cottages (sleeping 2 - 6), eight (including one 5* cottage) at Ross and eight at Outchester, each with parking and garden. You will also find a a beautifully romantic stone-built 18th century tower overlooking Lindisfarne which has been restored to 5 star standards Price per cottage, per week, depending on the cottage and the time of year, range from £300 - £1020 per week. Short breaks are also available, depending on the time of year. In three of the cottages - Wagtail, Curlew and Hedgehope, guests are allowed to bring one well-behaved dog at no extra charge. Five cottages at Ross are close to the family farm and three cottages are nearer the sea on a private road. All Ross properties are walking distance from beautiful Ross Sands and each cottage has its own private garden. At Outchester, the cottages are situated around attractive landscaped grounds, whilst each cottage also has its own private garden All cottages are extremely well equipped, with free wi-fi, ipod docks, freeview television, DVD player, dishwasher, microwave, deep-freeze and washer-drier. Each of the cottages has its own off road parking and every cottage has its own garden, complete with lovely views of the unspoilt surrounding countryside. A superb five star cottage, The Beacons, at Ross sleeps four and has two bedrooms and two bathrooms, a log burning stove, very smart kitchen, sitting room and large, private garden. One of the UK's most romantic retreats is the beautifully restored "Ducket" at Outchester. The Ducket is a fairytale 18th century stone tower overlooking the sea, with 21st century facilities over five floors connected with a hand-crafted spiral staircase. It sleeps two adults and is five star accredited. The Ducket is available from £670 to £990 per week depending on the time of year. Three night weekend and four night midweek stays are also possible. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Outchester And Ross Cottages Belford, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing