We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent holiday”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Belford
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Outchester and Ross Cottages
Reviewed April 19, 2014

Amazing location, fantastic cottage. Facilities very good. Great lay out and lovely having a garden. No complaints. Know the area very well and have stayed in numerous locations but really hope to be able to return to Ross. The kids loved it too

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KGS313, Public Relations Manager at Outchester and Ross Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2014

Dear Elizabeth
Many thanks for your review. We're delighted you found the cottage fantastic, enjoyed the garden and the kids loved it too. We hope you can return too and look forward to seeing you again. Enjoy the rest of the year! Kind regards Kate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (141)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

81 - 87 of 141 reviews

Reviewed April 18, 2014

We stayed in Oystershell Cottage.
Lovely and clean, cosy yet spacious and well equipped.
Just 2 mins from the A1 but quiet and secluded. Brilliantly placed for visiting anywhere north of Newcastle easily.
We will return!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrisC082
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KGS313, Public Relations Manager at Outchester and Ross Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2014

Dear Chris - many thanks for taking the time to review your visit to Oystershell Cottage. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay. Kind regards Kate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2014

Just back from a relaxing week's break in Northumberland, staying at the Puffin Cottage at Outchester.

Staying in privately owned cottages is new for us - we've always stayed in National Trust properties - and we were pleased we tried something different.

The accommodation was very comfortable, spacious, very well maintained and equipped and had all the little touches which make the difference between good and excellent. In short, care and attention.

We hope to be able to return to Outchester in future, and can definitely recommend them to anyone planning a visit to the area.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KGS313, Public Relations Manager at Outchester and Ross Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2014

Dear Ian
Many thanks for taking the time to write us a great review. We're pleased you found Puffin Cottage comfortable, spacious and well maintained and enjoyed a relaxing break - which is what we always intend for our guests. We'd be delighted to welcome you back at any time. Thank you again and if we don't see you again in 2014, do enjoy the rest of the year - and the summer!
Kind regards
Kate



Just back from a relaxing week's break in Northumberland, staying at the Puffin Cottage at Outchester.

Staying in privately owned cottages is new for us - we've always stayed in National Trust properties - and we were pleased we tried something different.

The accommodation was very comfortable, spacious, very well maintained and equipped and had all the little touches which make the difference between good and excellent. In short, care and attention.

We hope to be able to return to Outchester in future, and can definitely recommend them to anyone planning a visit to the area.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2014

We have stayed at the lovely Ross cottages many times before but booked Outchester Manor this time and we are so glad that we did.

On arrival, we especially liked the electric gated entrance, and the warm welcome from David who miraculously appeared shortly after we did.
Shepherd's cottage was immaculate, cosy, wonderfully warm and had everything that we needed and more-including a lovely welcome bottle of wine, coffee, tea and biscuits.

As well as the cottage, the highlight of this year's visit was the seal cruise around the Farne Islands; there were thousands of them, as well as porpoise who swam close to the boat. But as ever, we found it hard to let a day go buy without playing football on one of the stunning beaches - Bamburgh being our favourite.

Thankyou once again for a fantastic week and I'm already wondering if I can squeeze a week in during the summer holidays. :)

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jb123leyland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KGS313, Public Relations Manager at Outchester and Ross Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2014

Dear JB123Leyand
Thank you for posting such a glowing report of your stay at Shepherds Cottage at Outchester Cottages. We're delighted that you found the cottage so pleasant and David very welcoming. It's also great that you had such a magical trip to the Farnes and enjoyed Bamburgh Beach. We hope very much that you can find the time to return again this year. Skylark and Wagtail Cottages at Ross have been upgraded this year and are looking very smart! Thank you again. Kind regards, Kate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2014

We had a great week at Shepherd's Cottage, Outchester and amidst all the awful weather Britain experienced this winter Christmas Day and Boxing Day were gorgeous and we were able to go for long walks from the door. Shepherd's Cottage was spacious, attractively furnished and very warm. When we arrived there was no Christmas tree and when we sort-of jokingly moaned to David, the caretaker, that there was nowhere to put the Christmas presents he went above and beyond the call of duty and fetched one for us complete with baubles. David was extremely helpful and friendly and always went out of his way to sort out any problems. Thanks David. What amazes us is that we were the only occupants that week in the Outchester complex. Why don't other people stay here for Christmas?

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelKings49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KGS313, Public Relations Manager at Outchester and Ross Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2014

Dear Travelkings49
Thank you for posting a review for us and we're very happy to hear that you had a great time in Shepherd's Cottage. Hope you managed to see lots of castles and took plenty of beach walks. That was so helpful of David to source you a xmas tree and baubles. We will pass on your thanks and will be reviewing the xmas tree situation for next year. Thank you again. Kind regards, Kate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2014

We can't recommend this highly enough. An 18th century converted windmill overlooking beautiful countryside, the sea and Holy Island. The owners have done an amazing job in restoring the windmill. This is like no where you will ever have been. I booked this for my husbands 50th and he has said it's a birthday he will never forget.

David the caretaker is one in a million, he sourced lobsters for me on the first night and then delivered my husbands birthday buffet in gale force winds. Nothing was too much trouble.

If you want to do something special for a loved one then this is the place to book. AMAZING !

Jacqui & Neil, York UK

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacqui F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KGS313, Public Relations Manager at Outchester and Ross Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2014

Dear Jacqui
What a lovely review you've given us. Thank you so much. We're so pleased you and your husband enjoyed The Ducket and that he had a memorable birthday. David will also be so chuffed to hear that he's been given 5 stars too so we will pass this on to him! Enjoy the rest of 2014 and many thanks again.
Kate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

What a super and unqiue place to stay!

We arrived on the 27th January to wild winds whistlening around the Ducket. Believe me we were blown away metaphorically by the fabulous accomodation and literally by the storm. Not to worry we were contacted by Dave the amazing caretaker to make sure we were ok and if things got too bad for us we were offered alternative accomodation. However we are both hardy types and enjoyed the adventure of the storms around the Ducket.

The Ducket did not disappoint. We had a truly fantastic holiday and of course our stay overlapped with New Year. Dave the amazing caretaker kindly drove us into Bamburgh where we enjoyed welcoming in the New Year at The Castle Inn, but this was not enough for Dave he also picked us back up at the end of the night and made sure we got back to our accomodation safe and sound.

Dave you are a legend!

I think I would like to spend every New Year in this part of the world.

Room Tip: The Ducket will not suit everyone's taste and if you have disabilities it is not for you. Also...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joanne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KGS313, Public Relations Manager at Outchester and Ross Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2014

Dear Joanne
Thank you so much for taking the time to review The Ducket. We're so pleased you loved it, managed to brave the storms that weekend and still had a great time. We are also delighted to hear David was so helpful. Many people remark on his cheerfulness and how nothing is too much trouble for him. We will certainly pass on your comments to him. Great to hear you want to spend New Year in this part of the world every year! We look forward to seeing you again.
Kind regards
Kate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Belford hotels
4.4 mi away
Purdy Lodge
Purdy Lodge
#1 of 1 in Belford
394 reviews
2.7 mi away
Well House
Well House
#8 of 13 in Belford
38 reviews
2.6 mi away
Market Cross Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
The Farmhouse Guest House
5.4 mi away
White Swan Inn
White Swan Inn
#7 of 13 in Belford
27 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Old Vicarage Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Outchester and Ross Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outchester and Ross Cottages

Address: c/o The Farmhouse | Outchester and Ross, Belford NE70 7EN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Belford
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Belford
Price Range: $55 - $194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Outchester and Ross Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Outchester and Ross Cottages are situated in two lovely coastal Northumberland locations between the historic island of Lindisfarne and majestic Bamburgh Castle. To make use of the superb night sky and star gazing opportunities in Northumberland, telescopes are available for guests to use at no extra charge. There are 16 well equipped cottages (sleeping 2 - 6), eight (including one 5* cottage) at Ross and eight at Outchester, each with parking and garden. You will also find a a beautifully romantic stone-built 18th century tower overlooking Lindisfarne which has been restored to 5 star standards Price per cottage, per week, depending on the cottage and the time of year, range from £300 - £1020 per week. Short breaks are also available, depending on the time of year. In three of the cottages - Wagtail, Curlew and Hedgehope, guests are allowed to bring one well-behaved dog at no extra charge. Five cottages at Ross are close to the family farm and three cottages are nearer the sea on a private road. All Ross properties are walking distance from beautiful Ross Sands and each cottage has its own private garden. At Outchester, the cottages are situated around attractive landscaped grounds, whilst each cottage also has its own private garden All cottages are extremely well equipped, with free wi-fi, ipod docks, freeview television, DVD player, dishwasher, microwave, deep-freeze and washer-drier. Each of the cottages has its own off road parking and every cottage has its own garden, complete with lovely views of the unspoilt surrounding countryside. A superb five star cottage, The Beacons, at Ross sleeps four and has two bedrooms and two bathrooms, a log burning stove, very smart kitchen, sitting room and large, private garden. One of the UK's most romantic retreats is the beautifully restored "Ducket" at Outchester. The Ducket is a fairytale 18th century stone tower overlooking the sea, with 21st century facilities over five floors connected with a hand-crafted spiral staircase. It sleeps two adults and is five star accredited. The Ducket is available from £670 to £990 per week depending on the time of year. Three night weekend and four night midweek stays are also possible. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Outchester And Ross Cottages Belford, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing