We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dovecot Cottage” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Outchester and Ross Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Belford
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Outchester and Ross Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Wigan, United Kingdom
1 review
“Dovecot Cottage”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

It was our first time in Northumberland and although we had heard many good things about it, were still surprised by its beauty, its relaxed atmosphere and its friendly people. Our holiday was made perfect by the pretty cottage we stayed in at Outchester and Ross. Dovecot cottage was well presented throughout, clean, tidy and had all the amenities we could have required. The exterior spaces were equally as apealing with large well kept gardens, which were secure so and ideal for our two young children - the play area was also well kept and our children played happily there each evening with other children staying in the cottages. The rear patio was perfect for outdoor dining and for watching the beautiful sunsets with a glass of wine. With only a few miles to the beach at Bamburgh and equidistant between Alnwick in the South or Berwick to the North, the location was perfect. We will most definitely return to Northumberland and 'Outchester and Ross cottages' will be where we shall stay. Perfect!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma1230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KGS313, Public Relations Manager at Outchester and Ross Cottages, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Emma
We appreciate the time taken to send us your lovely review. Thank you so much! That's fantastic that it was your first time in Northumberland and that you enjoyed it so much. It's also great that you stayed with your children, they enjoyed the open spaces to play at Outchester and you found so much to do in the area. We look forward to welcoming you back next year and thank you again.
Kate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    8
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
42
74
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

We stayed in the most perfect weather - which we were not expecting at all, so were really pleased to find we had booked the cottage with the best garden for the sun as it was on the corner with a south facing garden and then wrapped round to a west facing garden to soak up the evening sun, watching all the house martins busily catching their dinner.
The cottages are very tranquil, set back from the road with the gardens of the cottages and then another strip of land for all to use - great for ball games and running around. On the other side was another stretch of land and a small play area for children. David looks after the gardens and was really helpful and friendly.
There are two parking spaces allocated for each cottage and the cottage was well equipped. The beds were comfy and the kitchen had everything you needed. The only minor complaint I could make is that the bathrooms would ideally be updated as they are beginning to show their age, although everything worked so no real problems.
For us they were ideally located to visit all the places we wanted to but were away from the busier places and gave us the peace and tranquility that we wanted on our holiday.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Isabel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KGS313, Public Relations Manager at Outchester and Ross Cottages, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Isabel
Thank you for taking the time to review Dovecote Cottage. We're so pleased you had such good weather and were able to take advantage of the corner garden to get the sun from all angles! We will also pass your comments on to David who I'm sure will be delighted as he is very conscientious and enjoys meeting all our guests. All bathrooms at Outchester and Ross are being upgraded on a rolling programme over the next few months so you will find improvements here if you wish to return. We're happy you found Outchester so tranquil and peaceful - we try to provide this for all our guests so it's so nice that you mentioned it. Enjoy the rest of 2013 and thank you again.
Kate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
68 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

We have visited Outchester for many years now and have always been very impressed with the quality and comfort in the cottages. We have stayed in 4 of the cottages and, while each has its own special characteristics, all are of a very high standard. The gardens are very well maintained and the handyman/gardener, who is regularly on site, is very friendly and helpful. There is a small play area for children but no swimming pool or similar facilities. Therefore, the cottages are a haven of peace and quiet. We have also stayed in October and the cottages provide the darkness to see the stars and planets in all their glory!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RodneyMBamburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KGS313, Public Relations Manager at Outchester and Ross Cottages, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Rodney M
Many thanks for posting your review of Outchester Cottages. We appreciate the time that you've taken to do so. Delighted that you find them all of a high standard and enjoy the peace and quiet. Our cottage gardens have all had a spruce-up this year by David so that's great that you've noticed too. David will be very pleased! Thank you again for your comments and we hope you enjoy the remainder of the summer.
Kind regards
Kate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

We have just returned from our first visit to Northumberland and a two week stay in the Beacons Cottage. Northumberland was stunning - and so was our weather - we will certainly return and there are so many more places to visit. Beacons Cottage was the perfect holiday accommodation - we chose it because we wanted quality accommodation in a quiet location and we were not disappointed. The accommodation was very comfortable and well appointed and the location was perfect. We will certainly recommend the accommodation to friends visiting the area and hope to return in the future.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MandY565
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KGS313, Public Relations Manager at Outchester and Ross Cottages, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Kath B
We're so pleased you enjoyed your stay in The Beacons Cottage and found your first visit to Northumberland so much fun. Many thanks for posting your review. We appreciate that you took the time to send us your comments. Hope you return to Northumberland again soon!
Kind regards
Kate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loughborough
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

Our first visit to Northumberland - why have we not been before? The Beacons Cottage was perfect - very well equipped, comfortable, well maintained, a beautiful garden and a good location and perfect peace. The scenery around the area is stunning and plenty of wildlife to be seen. All in all a perfect holiday and the weather was good too.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JohnHLoughborough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KGS313, Public Relations Manager at Outchester and Ross Cottages, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to review your holiday at The Beacons. We're so pleased you enjoyed visiting Northumberland and found our cottage perfect. Great that you liked the garden too! Do make a return visit any time and we hope you enjoy the rest of the summer. Best wishes Kate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
didcot
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

Wonderful, relaxing and a very warm and homely cottage, with all the necessary facilities that you require for a tranquil stress-free retreat. Extremely prompt service if anything is required from Mr & Mrs Sullivan and their staff. If you want a break away from the stresses and strains of everyday life, go to West Coastguard Cottage, for a break in a million. Expect varied weather but wonderful wildlife and magnificent views / beaches and countryside retreats. Fabulous food in a variety of local venues. Just chill out for a week or two and you will definitely feel the benefits.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank suzieDidcot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KGS313, Public Relations Manager at Outchester and Ross Cottages, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear Suzie
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of West Coastguard Cottage and we're pleased to hear you enjoyed a thoroughly relaxing, stress-free and chilled-out week - wonderful! Also good to know that local food is tasty. The coastline is looking beautiful here today. Many thanks again, enjoy the summer and come back again for chill-out time anytime you fancy!
Kind regards
Kate
Outchester and Ross Cottages
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saltburn-by-the-Sea, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

We have stayed at the cottages at Ross Farm every year for nearly a decade and we are never disappointed. This year, we really needed the break and found all the improvements in the cottage a wonderful surprise. The location is perfect for people who enjoy breathtaking scenery, watching wildlife and complete peace and quiet. Our son loves the walk to and from the beach, so much easier now he's 7 and can do it easily. We made it to the beach virtually every day finding the evenings particularly lovely. The farm owners have always helped us when any problems have arisen but this stay was completely trouble free. Thank you so much for being such a big part of our family lives, we can't imagine a year without a visit.

Room Tip: The Coastguard Lodge and cottages are closer to the beach, particularly handy when you're coming...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KGS313, Public Relations Manager at Outchester and Ross Cottages, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear Christine
We're so pleased you had a relaxing peaceful break at Coastguard Lodge and also that you liked all the refurbishments. Lovely to hear that you made it to the beach nearly every day with your little boy. We are particularly fond of Coastguard Lodge so it's nice to hear that you find it special too. Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review.
Kind regards
Kate
Outchester and Ross Cottages
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Belford
7.0 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,144 reviews
9.3 mi away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
0.0 mi away
Waren House Hotel
Waren House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Bamburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Newton Hall
Newton Hall
#1 of 1 in Newton by the Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
2.7 mi away
Purdy Lodge
Purdy Lodge
#1 of 1 in Belford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Sunningdale Hotel
The Sunningdale Hotel
#2 of 9 in Bamburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Outchester and Ross Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outchester and Ross Cottages

Property: Outchester and Ross Cottages
Address: c/o The Farmhouse | Outchester and Ross, Belford NE70 7EN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Belford
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Belford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Outchester and Ross Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Outchester and Ross Cottages are situated in two lovely coastal Northumberland locations between the historic island of Lindisfarne and majestic Bamburgh Castle. To make use of the superb night sky and star gazing opportunities in Northumberland, telescopes are available for guests to use at no extra charge. There are 16 well equipped cottages (sleeping 2 - 6), eight (including one 5* cottage) at Ross and eight at Outchester, each with parking and garden. You will also find a a beautifully romantic stone-built 18th century tower overlooking Lindisfarne which has been restored to 5 star standards Price per cottage, per week, depending on the cottage and the time of year, range from £300 - £1020 per week. Short breaks are also available, depending on the time of year. In three of the cottages - Wagtail, Curlew and Hedgehope, guests are allowed to bring one well-behaved dog at no extra charge. Five cottages at Ross are close to the family farm and three cottages are nearer the sea on a private road. All Ross properties are walking distance from beautiful Ross Sands and each cottage has its own private garden. At Outchester, the cottages are situated around attractive landscaped grounds, whilst each cottage also has its own private garden All cottages are extremely well equipped, with free wi-fi, ipod docks, freeview television, DVD player, dishwasher, microwave, deep-freeze and washer-drier. Each of the cottages has its own off road parking and every cottage has its own garden, complete with lovely views of the unspoilt surrounding countryside. A superb five star cottage, The Beacons, at Ross sleeps four and has two bedrooms and two bathrooms, a log burning stove, very smart kitchen, sitting room and large, private garden. One of the UK's most romantic retreats is the beautifully restored "Ducket" at Outchester. The Ducket is a fairytale 18th century stone tower overlooking the sea, with 21st century facilities over five floors connected with a hand-crafted spiral staircase. It sleeps two adults and is five star accredited. The Ducket is available from £670 to £990 per week depending on the time of year. Three night weekend and four night midweek stays are also possible. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Outchester And Ross Cottages Belford, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing