We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A perfect visit!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blue Bell Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Belford
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Blue Bell Hotel
Ranked #5 of 12 Belford B&B and Inns
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A perfect visit!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

This is absolutely our favourite kind of hotel, old, quirky, historic. It is comfortable rather than luxurious but I'll take comfort first every time! The location is perfect and it is a great example of an old coaching inn. Rooms were comfortable and we slept really well. We ate in the bar for dinner and the food was EXCEPTIONALLY GOOD, as was the service. In this kind of place it's always a good sign if the locals are eating and drinking there, and they were. Breakfast was delicious, the local kippers a huge treat. Can't get kippers where we come from :-( The garden was a delight. Please don't change, Blue Bell Hotel! Oh yes, and the staff were great. If you like super-fancy hotels you'll probably find something to nit-pick here. But if you value charm and real care for the customer then you will enjoy this hotel as much as we did.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Quakermum39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

471 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    196
    68
    49
    27
See reviews for
68
265
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Worksop, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
124 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

This hotel is located in the centre of the village. It has ample car parking and can best be described as old, tired, spotlessly clean, quirky and amazingly good value for money at £37.50 pn b&b!!!
In the bathroom is a laminated notice explaining why hot water cannot always be guaranteed to appear quickly. It begins: "this building is incredibly old and things don't always happen quickly!"
At my age I have some sympathy with this advice!
The staff are delightfully friendly and the food is good quality, served piping hot by waiters and waitresses who give you the impression they actually care about the customers comfort and satisfaction.
Located close to the coast, Bamburgh Castleand Seahouses this hotel is an excellent base from which to explore this beautiful geography.
Our daughter had a ground floor room which was quite small and a little dark overlooking the front car park.
Room 15 on the first floor by contrast was large and bright overlooking the gardens to the rear.
Full English breakfast is substantial and sets you up for the day watching the birds and the seals On the nearby islands just off the coast.
This is our first visit to Northumberland and we had no idea how beautiful it is or how friendly its people are.
We will certainly come again!
Peter M Richardson.

Room Tip: First floor gives unrestricted views of village without being obstructed by parked cars at front. F...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank richo02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bluebellbelf0rd, Public Relations Manager at Blue Bell Hotel, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Many thanks for your review, I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to welcome you back again in the future :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

We liked this hotel as it was a great base to explore Northumberland, the staff were friendly and the rooms were absolutely fine with a very comfortable bed. We booked through late rooms so we got the room slightly cheaper and it was great value. We shall stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marleyton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bluebellbelf0rd, Public Relations Manager at Blue Bell Hotel, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed a comfortable night with us and enjoyed the local scenery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

I read some reviews prior to booking and took their advice when booking a room. I booked room 14 but when we arrived were informed we would now have to have room 11 - needless to say we were KGB customers! Room 11 was one room we had been warned not to stay in and which we had deliberately tried to avoid by booking room 14.

The reception staff we spoke to needed to be taught customer service skills and we only managed to stay one night instead of three due to the appalling condition of the room, the bathroom and its proximity to the huge kitchen vent which ran past our window.

I hope I can put on several photos as it needs to be seen to be believed - really I am speaking truthfully.

Room Tip: Preferably do not visit this 'hotel' or if you must try and book room 14 or 16, Avoid room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Valerie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bluebellbelf0rd, Public Relations Manager at Blue Bell Hotel, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Thank you for review. We take your comments seriously and would like to assure all readers that we are under new management since February of this year and have refurbished all the rooms since your stay over 8 months ago.
room 14 is one of our superior rooms so unfortunately this would not have been available for you as a standard room is included in the deal you purchased.
I am sorry you didn't enjoy your stay, and I am saddened to hear you were not treat in a polite manner by the reception staff, something we believe in very strongly and are usually highly praised for our level of friendliness and customer service. Under our new management we have added extra reception staff to our team, and customer service is paramount.
thank you for taking the time to write your review, and on a light note - there are actually some very nice youth hostels out there these days :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

This is the second time in six months my wife and I have stayed at this hotel. Having arrived earlier than the booking in time we decided to have a drink in the bar, great beer and local hospitality started the break off to a great start. When we booked into the hotel the staff was very polite and courtious. The room was very clean and had tea service, large bathroom and flat screen tv. Breakfast was brilliant and the service from the staff was excellent. The price for the night including breakfast was very good. Would recommend this hotel to anyone who likes village life and is in a great locality for the surrounding history.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank garlicman2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bluebellbelf0rd, Public Relations Manager at Blue Bell Hotel, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Thank you for your review. we are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. it is always good to hear from previous guests who have rebooked to stay with us and we really hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorks
Level Contributor
44 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

Had two nights here on an incredible b&b deal, which included a bottle of wine if you had dinnerl! Nice clean accommodation, very friendly staff, excellent food and no charge for the dog! What more could one want!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ManorNorthYorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bluebellbelf0rd, Public Relations Manager at Blue Bell Hotel, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this wonderful review, it makes us happy when our guests are happy. we look forward to your next visit to the hotel :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

Spent three nights in a large comfy twin room with all amenities. The quirkiness of the hot water system added to the overall charm. Thoroughly enjoyed the cooked breakfasts and the one evening meal we had in the restaurant. I would definitely stay again particularly for its location and the extreme friendliness of everyone we spoke to. Really enjoyed our chats with the kind and informative gentleman in the craft/gift shop across the road from the Hotel. Altogether a very pleasant experience.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Lizzie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bluebellbelf0rd, Public Relations Manager at Blue Bell Hotel, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Thank you so much for your comments.....we pride ourselves on our customer service (if not our hot water system....!!) I am happy that you enjoyed the charm of our lovely old building, we are quite fond of it ourselves :)
we would love to welcome you back, and hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Belford
2.7 mi away
Purdy Lodge
Purdy Lodge
#1 of 1 in Belford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
7.7 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,144 reviews
0.0 mi away
Waren House Hotel
Waren House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Bamburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Old Vicarage Bed & Breakfast
0.1 mi away
The Farmhouse Guest House
0.0 mi away
Market Cross Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Bell Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Bell Hotel

Property: Blue Bell Hotel
Address: Market Place, Belford NE70 7NE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Belford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Belford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 28
Also Known As:
Blue Bell Hotel Belford, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing