We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short Break”
Review of Blue Bell Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Blue Bell Hotel
Ranked #5 of 13 Belford B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 21, 2013

We had a three day B&B break here in Feb 2013 which was a birthday present from our son.Hotel was ideal for touring the area only 6 miles from Banburgh and 12 from Alnwick.The room was the warmest that we have ever had in any hotel and was appreciated due to the cold weather.This theme continued in the bar with a roaring fire and friendly locals which made it a very cosy place to have a drink.We had a nicely cooked 2 course meal in the bar with a bottle of wine free becuse of the deal we were on.Overall we had a very nice stay and would return again.

Room Tip: Our room at the front had a view of the main street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scotcampers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (533)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

401 - 407 of 533 reviews

Reviewed February 17, 2013

Excellent value for money on a Living Social deal , hotel very clean, cosy bar have stayed several times over the years. Food all fresh and home produce fantastic breakfasts sausage to die for.Yes it is a little tired but its a very old hotel excellent location for Bamburgh, farne islands and coastal heritage. Night we stayed Friday steak night two excellent meals with large glasses of wine for £20.00 staff and service excellent, room very warm and comfortable attention needs to be given to the bath panel in room 9 needs replacing apart from that would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KarensSeatonSluice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Using a Kgb deal we enjoyed our short break at The Blue Bell.The hotel and room were clean and comfortable.Breakfast was excellent and the evening meal was good.The complimentary bottle of wine was more than acceptable.Belford is a charming little village and a grand location if you enjoy walking( St.Cuthbert's cave from the hotel),golfing(9 hole at Belford - others nearby -try Bamburgh -what views and a lovely course) and testing the temperature of the north sea.(The beaches are outstanding though).
The new manager is looking at upgrading/improving some of the hotel facilities,but who cares if your room does not have the latest flat screen it's not what you come to Belford for.Having said that it does have a tv. in the room and may soon have the afore mentioned flat screen.
I looked at some of the other reviews and with the benefit of hindsight glad we ignored the negatives as we came away full of positives.
Wouldn't hesitate to go back again.

Room Tip: No.11 quiet(overlooking the back),good size,clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brianofponteland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2013

Spent 3 nights here to enable us to visit family and friends in the area. The food was delicious, we had 2 evening meals in the restaurant and both times the whole meal was yummy. Especially the salmon and dill fishcakes starter. We both had it at both meals. The rooms were comfortable, and lovely and warm for the time of year. Breakfasts were lovely as well. There was a good choice of beers in the bar. We had a super break there that I would recommend to anyone

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elsejon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2013

Great place to stay for a chill out. Staff couldnt be nicer. Booking the stay was great consideing I had purchased a year ago an forgot about the KGB voucher until the Thursday before it expired. Checked in early as we booked a Sunday lunch which was good.
Very good bar with friendly locals and staff.
Blford is nice with two other bars.
Comfy room, the bathroom was a little tired, but still very clean
Breakfast was fine and again the staff come into their own.
Best way to spend a Sunday and a hazy start to a Monday

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

This was KGB deal gift from our daughter who upgraded us to the honeymoon suite (room 1), which was a lovely size with four poster bed and all the extras you would expect. Booked into restaurant for evening meal and if you two courses you got a free bottle of wine which was not cheap n nasty. The meal was really lovely we both went for the homemade tomato soup for starters ( cant beat it) my husband had the fish pie ladled with lots of lovely seafood and I went for the chicken breast stuffed with haggis wrapped in bacon. Both beautiful dishes and plenty of vegetables . We decided to go for desert and having Choc fudge cake and profiteroles . All in all great staff who we found really welcoming upon arrival, in the bar and the restaurant. Only down side looking a bit tired but overall a lovely stay. Thank you.

Room Tip: Room 1 four poster bed if you like a bit of different and a good view up road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pearl O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

The hotel was in good order and clean and perfectly acceptable to the stage that I would definitely recommend it to others.
We had dinner on the evening and the food was cooked well and served piping hot by attentive and friendly staff who made you feel totally at home . There were good local ingredients used I would have preferred the lamb that I had without a 3 bean stew that did very little to enhance it , pudding was lush though mmmm.
The breakfast wasn't to bad but in a hotel of this class is there any need to deep fry sausages and mushrooms ?? But once again the food was nice and hot and the service excellent with Denise and her colleague providing an outstanding level of service throughout our stay .
The room was clean , well appointed and comfortable and we would definitely stay again . ( more pillows next time please ;)

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tynesider2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Belford
2.8 mi away
Purdy Lodge
Purdy Lodge
#1 of 1 in Belford
393 reviews
10.4 mi away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
2.5 mi away
Waren House Hotel
Waren House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Bamburgh
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
1,289 reviews
6.1 mi away
Eat & Sleep Lindisfarne
6.7 mi away
Brock Mill Farmhouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Bell Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Bell Hotel

Address: Market Place, Belford NE70 7NE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Belford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Belford
Price Range: $27 - $100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Blue Bell Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Bell Hotel Belford, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing