We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant stay at the Blue Bell”
Review of Blue Bell Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Blue Bell Hotel
Ranked #5 of 12 Belford B&B and Inns
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Brilliant stay at the Blue Bell”
Reviewed March 1, 2012

we loved our stay at the blue bell, staff were really friendly and very accommodating. Bedroom was done out lovely.

We were allowed to take our dog Paddy which was even better as took him to holy island for the day.

Sunday carvery was awesome, we will def be back

Thanks again helen and simon from newcastle

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bucko122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

492 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    206
    70
    52
    27
See reviews for
74
277
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Lancs
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2012

I went here on an offer from Groupon and it was more than worth the money. The staff were super friendly and incredibly helpful. Upon checking into our room we found the TV wasn't working and within a matter of minutes the engineer was there to install a new TV whilst we were taken down to the bar for drinks (on the house) whilst we waited.
We were made to feel very welcome at this hotel and were even invited to join in their pub quiz that they hold in aid of charity every monday.
The only thing we would say about this hotel is that it is literally in the middle of nowhere with the neareat place being 16 miles away so it was a bit of a trek but it was the right location for a romantic getaway.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarlyJS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northumberland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2012

Made the trip to the area to meet family staying in the nearby touring caravan site. Stayed Fri/Sat nights. Friday night being a Steak night! We all enjoyed a very good steak. We were lucky, apparently, (so the rumour goes) they ran out of steak! Shows how good the food is. Had a slight problem with breakfast- the smoked haddock and poached egg. Chef forgot the poached egg.......forgiven. Our room (15) was clean, comfortable and airy. It looked onto the gardens and Church Spire. Really enjoyed our stay, grub and service. Would we stay again? Oh yes!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paulxpc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2012

On a visit to Northumberland we stayed at the Blue Bell in Belford for one night. I hadn't heard of Belford before but it was ideally placed for al the tourist attractions in the area. Upon arrival we settled in then made for the restaurant. The staff were excellent, making us very welcome as well as being informative and having a great sense of humour. The evening meal was cracking with very generous portions, me and my wife were very impressed. After a good nights rest before the day ahead, we enjoyed a super full 'Northumberland' breakfast which set us up for our sight seeing, a thoroughly enjoyable stay, thankyou Blue Bell

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gary j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2012

Having just arrived back from a two night stay at the Blue Bell I wish to say a big thanks to all the staff who made our stay very pleasant indeed, the customer service was second to none - something which my partner and i did nt receive from a larger chain of hotels recently !! Everything from checking in to leaving was spot on, the only minor downside - if there was one was the room was nt as large as some establishments, which was nt that much of an issue as we did nt upgrade !!. The cost was £55 for 2 nights B&B and a free bottle of wine if you dine - total bargain and would thoroughly recommend this Hotel to others. The surrounding area and the locals are also very pleasant, however you do need to travel further afield to take advantage of the many beauty spots which Northumberland has to offer.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank clairb917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2012

We arrived at the hotel after a refreshing walk along the gorgeous beach at Bamburgh and were greeted with the warmest of welcomes by staff. We happily settled by the roaring open fire for pre-dinner drinks. The restaurant served tasty, good quality, fresh food served by friendly, attentive staff. The quality continued at breakfast with a hearty Northumberland "full English" (or continental option), which we almost missed as we slept so soundly. The rooms were spacious and had a well balanced mix of original features and modern ammenities. The bed was particularly comfortable with high cotton count sheets.
We'll be back again for fresh air, a lovely dinner and an overall great escape. All for a thoroughly reasonable price.

Room Tip: The manager Gemma is more then happy to help with any part of your visit
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Sally O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2011

We stopped at a local camp site and was recommended to eat at this pub. However on ordering a steak with a sauce and no onion rings, The steak came with onions and no sauce. The chips were like the ones you get from a chineese and the steak wasn't good medium and was covered in oil. Poor value for £13.95. My partner ordered the curry which should have come with a naam bread but it didn't. I did say I hadn't enjoyed mine and left most of it but we were still charged full and then after realised we were charged for the sauce that I hadn't had.
I wouldn't recommend this hotel for meals at all.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarah s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Belford
2.7 mi away
Purdy Lodge
Purdy Lodge
#1 of 1 in Belford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
7.8 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,185 reviews
0.0 mi away
Waren House Hotel
Waren House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Bamburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Farmhouse Guest House
0.0 mi away
Market Cross Guest House
0.1 mi away
The Old Vicarage Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Bell Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Bell Hotel

Property: Blue Bell Hotel
Address: Market Place, Belford NE70 7NE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Belford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Belford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Blue Bell Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Bell Hotel Belford, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing