We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Very well equipped accommodation”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Beach Retreat

A comfortable modern holiday home a short walk from the sandy beach
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
A comfortable modern holiday home a short walk from the sandy beach
Large enclosed gardens With an open fireplace and comfy sofas a wonderful place to relax.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
19 reviews
A comfortable modern holiday home a short walk from the sandy beach
Large enclosed gardens
With an open fireplace and comfy sofas a wonderful place to relax.
The kitchen is the heart of most homes and this is no exception
Perfect for family meals a large oak dining table.
Large fully enclosed garden
Picnic tables for BBQs and and al fresco dining (weather permitting!)
Master bedroom with en suite bathroom
Master bedroom with en suite bathroom
The master bedroom has an suite bathroom
Large double bedroom with views of the dunes.
Family Bathroom
Twin bedroom with views of the garden
Bunk beds are always popular
Downstairs Shower room and WC perfect when coming back from the beach
The beach is a short walk
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Beadnell, Northumberland, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
lollo2505
Northampton
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Ms”
Reviewed April 29, 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This is a lovely house and has a lot of facilities but we have stayed in 6 other properties using this site over the last 10 years for this area of beautiful North East England and I'm saddened to say this was the worse.
The house is a little tired and furniture very worn it just needs a bit of TLC.
A few examples are the fridge doesn't shut properly, the shower screen in the en suit is worn and doesn't open or close without coming off its runners.
There is a open fire but who knows when this was last swept and in front of it was a fire effect electric fire. When I looked behind the open fire was full of cobwebs and a think layer of dust and you can tell it's been that way for some time.
The cooker extracted fan kept popping open and wouldn't shut again when cooking, it's certainly gives you a fright whilst steaming our Kippers from Craster.
The main bedroom smelt damp on arrival and all the windows were open so this had obviously been picked up by the housekeeper.
All in all we did have a good holiday and the house was clean and we enjoyed our stay, but there are far better holiday lets in the area for the same money.
Sorry

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 30, 2016
Thank you for taking the time to write a review . I'm sorry that you found a few 'niggles' at the property. We welcome all feedback from guests as this is often the only way we can find out if there are maintenance issues. There were guests staying in the property the week before you for Easter and they hadn't brought this to our attention and it's a shame that you didn't bring the shower, extractor fan or fridge to our attention. (Or contact the maintenance number in the file and it could have been fixed in your stay). For safety reasons the open fire is not to be used and the electric effect fire is there for effect, the house is cleaned from top to bottom between each guest but I will admit that the fire place is not pulled out and cleaned behind behind.
I am pleased that overall you enjoyed your stay and only wish that you had broughtbthisnto our attention whilst you were staying so we could have fixed it for you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G
France
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very well equipped accommodation”
Reviewed January 12, 2016 for a stay in December 2015
1
person found this review helpful

If you realise you've forgotten something on the way to Beach Retreat, fear not - it'll probably be provided!
Very well equipped accommodation in a lovely part of the world, just 2 minutes' walk from the beach.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 25, 2016
Hi David,
Thanks for taking the time to write a lovely review. We are pleased that you found everything you needed and look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.
Best wishes
Caroline
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mavismars...
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Fab week in a great location”
Reviewed November 1, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Fab week in a great location. House well furnished with plenty of space. Close to beach which the kids enjoyed - Flying kites and chasing waves.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Oven not working properly, TV in bedroom not working
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 6, 2015
Hi Mavis,
So pleased you and your family had a great holiday. Look forward to welcoming you back again next year.
Best wishes
Caroline
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George477...
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Miss ”
Reviewed July 28, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We visited this beautiful part of the northumberland coast Beadnell and stayed in this splendid house. It surely was a 'Beach Retreat'
We couldn't of asked for anything more.

The living area is open plan and very welcoming with a large dining area to accommodate all the hungry mouths we had to feed after a full on day of outdoor activities. Wind surfing, body boarding, walks up the coast to sea houses & Bamburgh to name a few.
The bedrooms are spacious with very comfy beds with amazing duvets!
All linen & towels were lovely, soft and fresh.
The downstairs shower room is great as you can access through the garage to shower off from the sea & beach if need be, and also an outside tap that came in very handy getting the sand out of little people's toes.

The location of this house is perfect too, it's a lovely clean street & only a 10min walk to the local shop (which is always well stocked), & the 2 pubs and restaurants. Also a children play area.
It's even closer to the beach literally 2min walk and your on Beadnell's beautiful sandy beach.

All in all a great holiday home.
Thank you Caroline we look forward to visiting again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 29, 2015
Thanks for the great review Georgina, so pleased you and your family enjoyed Beach Retreat and look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leightate...
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic house we loved it . 2 min walk to beach kids loved it 😀”
Reviewed May 29, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Lovely holiday home so close to beach. Fantastic garden where we enjoyed a family bbq.
House had everything and the children loved the bunk beds.
We had good weather spent most days on beach and also day trip to craster and bamburgh. Would recommend this house and would love to go back . Loved our long walks and visits to local pubs.
Park in beadnell also good and pool in seahouses was fantastic.
Thanks Caroline

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Garden
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 15, 2015
So pleased you enjoyed your stay, look forward to welcoming you back next year. Best wishes Caroline
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing