We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A very homely cottage”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of 2 Church Row

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
22 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Beadnell, Northumberland, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Alan W
1 review
“A very homely cottage”
Reviewed November 2, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

My wife, I and our five year old son had a delightful stay at this cottage during the October half term.

The efficiency and ease with making and organising the booking with the owner was so prompt and easy. In addition, the owner was so helpful with providing useful information, directions and suggestions.

We travelled up from Oxford on the Friday night and arrived very early Saturday morning. the cottage is very easy to find, even in the darkness! The owner had very kindly arranged to have the heating and lights on for our arrival, which was so welcoming and very kind to organise.

The cottage felt more spacious than we expected from the photographs. What isn't clear is there is also a large utility/boot room and downstairs toilet.

The whole cottage felt very homely, warm and so comfortable. The owner left some lovely treats for us and even some kindling and logs for the log burner. The cottage is very clean and furnished beautifully. We wish we had the time to do the treasure hunt that had been prepared...perhaps next time.

The surrounding area is very quiet and has stunning views across rolling fields. I thoroughly enjoyed my morning runs around the country lanes.

I can not recommend this cottage and the owner highly enough. We all had a thoroughly perfect and enjoyable holiday staying at this cottage, and would love to return.

Date of stay: October 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Going home!
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 3, 2015
Thanks for the review and we hope to welcome you back very soon. Lynn - owner 2 Church Row
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline0...
Manchester
2 reviews
“Great for families, or indeed anyone who likes a nice cottage!”
Reviewed September 19, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We stayed here with our 3 young children - all under 4 years old. What a lovely holiday - the cottage is super, very spacious, lots of toys and stuff for kids. Fab, very safe and sunny front garden. lots of outdoor toys - a great bonus. We didn't discover the files with all the DVDs in (including one just for kids telly/films) until the end of the week - but it would have been a godsend if the weather had been bad. Great location - quick to all the major destinations, beaches, castles etc.

The cottage comes with loads of kids stuff - travel cot, high chair, toddler chair - all v useful. There is also a stairgate. But if I was to make one small recommendation it might be to suggest the owners consider fixing a permanent stair gate (these can be easily taken off at the hinge if the people renting don't have small kids). But the stairgate at the cottage was a bit of a fiddle fixing into place every evening. I wouldn't let this put you off if you do have young kids. The one provided is fine - just a bit of a fiddle. A permanent one would have made the cottage 10 out of 10 for families with young children. As it is, it is a very solid 9.5!!

Date of stay: July 2015
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny G
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great Cottage in countryside near fantastic Northumberland Coast”
Reviewed September 18, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Very comfortable, well equipped cottage. Had plenty of space for 6 adults. Owners very helpful. Sheep in adjacent field were very friendly. Great location for exploring Northumberland Coast and Lindisfarne.

Date of stay: August 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melchett
Skipton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Lovely Easter holiday”
Reviewed May 3, 2015 for a stay in April 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Stayed here with our children (aged 3 and 5) and their grandparents for the week. The house is really well laid out so we all felt we had plenty of space. The television is in the lounge with plenty of DVD's and books for grown ups and kids, and there is a separate snug with a toy box. The front garden is enclosed and the road in front is quiet, only the odd tractor rolling past, so we felt the kids were nice and safe. We sat in the sunshine with a cup of tea watching them play with the outdoor toys, the lambs in the field opposite also kept us entertained. There is a travel cot, stair gate and even a monitor if you need one. The stairs were not too steep or narrow for the kids or my mum, who has mobility issues. If you don't have children it is still perfect, so quiet and relaxing. It is a nice distance by car to the attractions, in a lovely rural location so I felt we had the best of both worlds. The beaches and castles are utterly breathtaking. We can't wait to go back.

Date of stay: April 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rainm8
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
“So relaxing and comfortable”
Reviewed December 7, 2014 for a stay in November 2014

Spent weekend with girlfriends here in November.
The house is beautiful and well equipped.
All furniture was of high quality and beds soooooo comfortable.
Log burner in lounge was very inviting after a day walking the beach.
Lovely quiet and peaceful location.
Cant wait to return.

Date of stay: November 2014
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorna J
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic stay in this beautifully renovated cottage”
Reviewed September 30, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Fantastic stay in this beautifully renovated cottage. Lots of space, which was just as well with our toddler running round! Really geared up for families with kids toys at the ready - all neatly stored in stylish furniture.

Some complimentary treats were waiting for us on arrival - crisps, tea, hot choc, and biscuits. Nice touch.

Would def recommend this cottage as a perfect place for a relaxing getaway.

Date of stay: September 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: 2 lounge areas. Loved the family room.
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donal M
Parbold, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Excellently Equipped, Beatifully Kept, Spacious Cottage”
Reviewed September 11, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

From being greeted by the sheep in the adjacent field to admiring the enormous bulls in the (fortunately well fenced) area just up the road, this cottage is in a delightfully quiet, rural area, but near to beaches and attractions.
All you would expect from a cottage is provided,mostly brand new.(games,outside BBQ, picnic set and much else besides, (I'll not spoil the surprise.) The information file is comprehensive, accurate and very useful. (If you need Wi-Fi check before you go as this was not available during our stay) . VERY HIGHLY RECOMMENDED.

Date of stay: August 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cleanliness, spaciousness and comfort
Liked least: no wi-fi
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 30, 2014
Thanks for the great review, after your feedback we are getting Wi-Fi installed in mid October.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.