We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant”
Review of Craster Arms

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Craster Arms
Ranked #1 of 8 Beadnell B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 29, 2014

We spent a lovely Saturday night at the craster arms this weekend. My family and I spend every weekend in the summer time at Beadnell and we love it. Over the winter we miss Beadnell so my husband and I decided to treat ourselves to a night away.

We stayed in one of their family rooms which was excellent. Our little dog was with us too. The room is massive and is more like a suite. It is very well equipped with ample coffee, tea facilities. There is a fridge and even chocolate in the room to purchase. There is a table and chairs and also a sofa in the living area and a lovely en suite bathroom.

The room is of a very high standard, towels and linen are pristine. We felt really relaxed and at home.

Breakfast was also very nice and really set us up for the day.

We will certainly return next winter and have recommended it to our friends for their visits during the year.
Many thanks for a lovely break.

Room Tip: Ask for the family room as there is so much space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (382)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

280 - 286 of 382 reviews

Reviewed January 1, 2014

we booked the hotel using expedia, we were staying the night as we were at a wedding in the area. the rooms are attatched to a nice county pub.
we didnt really stay in our room much, it really was a place to get our heads down, but in the time we were there, the staff were really friendly and helpful, our room (number 1) was great, very clean, and a great size, with a really good size bathroom and shower area, the location is good, and the breakfast we had in the morning was faultless. we loved the area and will be coming back spending more time checking out the area, and would definitley stay here again. its real value for money as well, not overpriced at all!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1978manc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2013 via mobile

Not cheap, but quality often comes at a price. Recently refurbished and looking all the better for it, the pub now has a bistro feel about it. Crab in all varieties always a favourite and even the sandwiches well presented and tasty. A family favourite after a walk to Dunstanburgh Castle. Get there early to get a seat or book in advance!

Stayed: December 2013
1  Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Came here for lunch. Sandwiches for 2 plus 2 puds and 2 coffees set us back just short of £30. Seemed expensive for what we got! Nice surroundings, but the state of the loos and the lack of loo paper (both female cubicles) was disappointing.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank Jen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

I am just back from a couple of days in Northumberland and have to say that The Craster arms is a Gem.
The rooms are very spacious and the decor is lovely.
The staff were all very welcoming and friendly, the food in the bar is first class and the full English really sets you up for the day,
All in all if you are looking for a place for a short break look no further The Craster arms will take some beating!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Crieffsaintee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Stayed for two nights, and could not fault the service, friendly staff, comfortable bed and room.
The breakfast was excellent, and the coffee was good strong and fresh.

Very quiet and relaxing, would stay again.

Good value, many thanks.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank weekender54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Selected this property for an overnight stay on a September trip to the Northumberland coast. The hotel is located in Bednell about 7 miles from Craster so that was somewhat confusing but not a big deal. The room was well maintained, nicely furnished, and very large as far as B&B rooms come. We were on bicycles and there was adequate security for an outdoor lock up. If you are wanting to use the Craster Arms as a base for exploring the last route, there is a bus stop right at the inn. Bus service is available to most of the castle towns and Berwick. The food at the pub was ordinary pub fare. Good but not remarkable. It was served promptly by friendly staff. All in all, this was a good choice for a father and son pair traveling the coast route by bicycle.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fdchief100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beadnell
4.1 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
1,288 reviews
4.1 mi away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
6.0 mi away
Purdy Lodge
Purdy Lodge
#1 of 1 in Belford
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.6 mi away
Eshott Hall
Eshott Hall
#1 of 1 in Eshott
396 reviews
5.9 mi away
Waren House Hotel
Waren House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Bamburgh
221 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beadnell Towers
Beadnell Towers
#3 of 8 in Beadnell
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Craster Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Craster Arms

Address: 2-4 The Wynding | Beadnell, Beadnell NE67 5AX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Beadnell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Beadnell
Price Range: $88 - $130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Craster Arms 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Craster Arms has been serving locals and tourists alike since 1818 offering a true Northumbrian welcome to all its guests. Providing free wi-fi in public areas and serving food all day from breakfast to late evening snacks with local produce including seafood landed at nearby Seahouses featuring heavily on the menu. Our rooms are large, two of which feature seperate lounge areas ideal for families. We are a dog friendly establishment with designated dog friendly areas located throught the hotel and public bar. The Craster Arms is great for entertainment, playing host to local bands at weekends throughout the year from traditional folk to contemporary and tribute acts. In July our fantastic beer garden is the venu for our annual beer festival where ales from our many local micro breweries can be sampled along with great produce and entertainment. The Craster Arms is in an ideal location for touring northumberland with Holy Island (lindisfarne) and Bamburgh castles to the north and Dunstunburgh and Walkworth to the south. Inland 15 miles is the market town of Alnwick with its majestic castle (featured as hogwarts in the harry potter films) and the famous Alnwick gardens and treehouse. Three miles off the coast is the world famous nature reserve of the farne islands, nesting site to over 300,000 seabirds including puffins and razorbills and permanant home to a grey seal colony numbering 2000. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Craster Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Craster Arms Beadnell, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing